TOP

Reviews for Blockalls IFR View Limiting Device

Sort By:
Filter By:

Way better than Foggles!

  • By Bryan from Fayetteville, AR on Thursday, February 08, 2018
  • Pros: Blocks the sun when it is low in the sky. Comfortable.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I've been doing Most of my IFR training early in the morning and late evening. Turned into the sun, foggles would blind me. These not only block the outside view, the do a great job keeping the sun out too. Wearing them with a Bose A20 headset with no issues.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great!

  • By A Customer from Calabasas CA USA on Thursday, July 07, 2016
  • Pros: Blocks the sun out better than other goggles. Limits view more realistically.
  • Cons: Relatively Expensive
  • Review: These glasses are comfortable and they truly limit your ability to see anything but the instruments. Unlike other goggles, this one is all black so it blocks the sun out on those sunny days. It comes with a nice carrying pouch as well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice pair of foggles

  • By Francisco Fernandez from LOS ANGELES CA USA on Wednesday, May 18, 2016
  • Pros: good fit and field of vision
  • Cons:
  • Review: This glasses fit well and are comfortable.
    They give you a good view of the instruments.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

well made and comfortable

  • By Emily from stationed overseas on Friday, September 02, 2016
  • Pros: good quality
  • Cons:
  • Review: I would buy this again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Loved it

  • By Harrison from Broken Arrow OK USA on Tuesday, December 12, 2017
  • Pros: Not bulky. Doesn't affect sound quality of headset
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This is perfect. Not to bulky. It fits perfectly under any headset and doesn?t feel uncomfortable and also doesn't allow any extra noice slip into the headset
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Brad from Poway, CA on Saturday, May 21, 2011
  • Review: I am an IFR student. I have time under the hood, foggles, and jeppshades but these are BY FAR the most comfortable and realistic. All of the instructors at my school love these as much as I do. Nearly impossible to cheat. This vendor advertises that the Blockalls were made by pilots for pilots. They were not lying.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Andrew from Pittsburgh, PA on Tuesday, October 26, 2010
  • Review: I only used them myself briefly one time, but my students liked these much better then the "other brand". They said the Blockalls were more comfortable and much better in dealing with the sun. Easier fit with headsets too.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Mike from Westmoreland TN USA on Monday, August 24, 2015
  • Pros: good fit for men and women, and they have a modern look and feel
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I bought these for my daughter, they seem to be a good fit for females, and they work great!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I love them.

  • By A Customer from Media PA USA on Friday, November 20, 2015
  • Pros: goo sight limiting glasses
  • Cons: Need adaptable band for the back of the head and tightness
  • Review: I love them. Wish they came with an adaptable cord for the back of the head.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

At Last

  • By Jane from Fort Myers FL USA on Tuesday, February 16, 2016
  • Pros: Does the job right
  • Cons:
  • Review: A view-limiting device that is comfortable under a headset, lightweight, and most of all really blocks the outside world. No distracting side glimpses at the corners.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Lightweight and Effective!

  • By Larry from KCHS, SC on Saturday, January 29, 2011
  • Pros: Light, Easy to put on, strong
  • Cons: Not crazy about the carry case
  • Review: Very difficult to cheat with! They really make you stay focused. Super lightweight and seem to be really good quality.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product

  • By A Customer from Dripping Springs TX USA on Monday, March 02, 2009
  • Review: These glasses are extremely comfortable and seem to be of very high quality.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Effective, Stylish, and Lightweight

  • By Windtee from New York on Tuesday, April 29, 2014
  • Pros: Comfortable, Fits under Headset, Lightweight
  • Cons: None for me
  • Review: As an instrument pilot of 20 years, I finally found a view-limiting device (I like). It's a product I wear in analog and digital instrument-equipped airplanes.

    I flew with at least a half-dozen devices with different results, some more effective than the other. I even created a DIY version, which was very effective.

    I bought the Black Bloackalls two years ago and currently carry it in my flightbag. Recently, I flew holds while wearing my Blockalls in a glass-equipped airplane in order to maintain currency... in bright sunshine.

    This works well for me, for my face and head. I don't use corrective lenses. It's lightweight, comfortable, and comes with a protective pouch. Device compromises the seals of my DC passive headset a little but, it's not a big deal which doesn't bother me.

    Decide for yourself if Blackalls works for you. It works for me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product

  • By Patrick from Stafford VA USA on Monday, July 07, 2014
  • Pros: do the jog well
  • Cons:
  • Review: They do a great job. I've only worn them for a couple hours but they are far better than an old hood that has been worn by many students. They easy to transport and should last beyond my flight training. You can probably do the same thing with lab glasses and tape but they wouldn't look nearly as good.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Robert from West Palm Beach FL USA on Monday, October 21, 2013
  • Review: Works even in bright sun.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By A Customer from Fort Leavenworth KS USA on Monday, October 28, 2013
  • Review: Product certainly met expectations - comfortable for the student during long IFR training flights.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I really like these glasses

  • By Matthew from Sidney OH USA on Tuesday, September 16, 2014
  • Pros: The size and limited view.
  • Cons: The pouch is very tight which makes the glasses hard to put away.
  • Review: I really like these glasses. I hope to use them often as I start my IFR training.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By William from Portsmouth RI USA on Thursday, November 27, 2014
  • Review: work well, comfortable
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

lightweight and handy / not bulky like the hoods

  • By david from Austin TX USA on Thursday, November 20, 2014
  • Review: Easy to don and easy to remove. not lacking in any way except perhaps if one requires glasses for close up instrument viewing.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

These work!

  • By Keith from KJYO on Wednesday, January 07, 2015
  • Pros: Block out everything except the instruments
  • Cons: none for me
  • Review: My instructor has a set of classic Foggles, and they are opaque, so they still let light through. So we're practicing, and he gives me a heading that turns me right into the sun. Because I'm wearing opaque foggles, I am blinded by that brightness. With these, all you see is the instruments, and the smaller left opening makes sure I can't cheat by seeing out the window. Good product!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great foggles

  • By Francisco from LOS ANGELES CA USA on Thursday, February 12, 2015
  • Pros: comfortable, stylish, great view
  • Cons: none
  • Review: These foggles are comfortable to wear. They are not bulky and provide a good view of the instruments
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great IFR practice goggles!

  • By Kevin from New Haven CT USA on Monday, February 16, 2015
  • Pros: Fit well, made well, light and compact.
  • Cons: Will not fit over eyeglasses.
  • Review: I bought these goggles before starting the instrument portion of my private pilot training, and I love them. They look and feel just like sunglasses, and are much easier to use than the awkward hood that some instructors make students use. They are sturdy and well made, and they should last a pretty long time. If you wear glasses, these will likely not work for you since they fit snuggly and probably could not fit over a pair of glasses. But if you wear contacts or don't need prescription lenses, these are the ones to use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Inexpensive and effective

  • By Benjamin from Waco TX USA on Friday, September 29, 2017
  • Pros: Compact, easy to see instruments, not easy to see out the window.
  • Cons: You might be accused of cheating if you stare at the standby compass for too long.
  • Review: They're not uncomfortable to wear with a headset, they're compact, and they do what they say on the tin.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Aaron from PLANTATION FL USA on Monday, August 16, 2010
  • Review: Very comfortable, not too bulky.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Product!

  • By David from Cedar City UT USA on Monday, December 21, 2015
  • Pros: VERY limiting, you WILL be flying solely by instruments
  • Cons: Carry case tight fit(not a huge issue but it's something)
  • Review: This is a great price for a quality product. Just passed my Instrument checkride. Great vision limitation to only the instrument panel (for Robinson R44 and Bell 206). Only improvement I can think of is to maybe make the carry case a tiny bit bigger. It fits very snugly in there and it may damage the arms from the pressure of insertion and removal over time.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works as advertised

  • By John from Eau Claire WI USA on Thursday, April 26, 2012
  • Pros: Fits comfortably under my headset; feels like wearing sunglasses - very comfortable.
  • Cons: Cannot use them to fly instruments from the right seat.
  • Review: I like that this feels more like a pair of sunglasses, then safety goggles. It does well in restricting a majority of the exterior... of course if you're scanning the edges of the visual field, you can get a glimpse of the ground (or a lake, or something else more interesting than the instruments).

    I found out fast that it doesn't work well for switching between safety pilot and instruments in-air (when you're flying right seat). It's meant only for left seat view of the instruments.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Used for Airplane IFR Practice

  • By A Customer from Baton Rouge LA USA on Monday, March 21, 2011
  • Pros: Lightweight, comfortable
  • Cons: Protective pouch needs to be hard and rigid
  • Review: Lightweight, comfortable and really accomplishes the job of limiting your view. Protective pouch it come with is too weak to protect the glasses; they can get crushed in your flight bag. It does keep them clean.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great foggles!

  • By A Customer from Cheyenne WY USA on Tuesday, November 29, 2011
  • Pros: work very well
  • Cons:
  • Review: I recently had PRK eye surgery and these worked great both for hood work and keeping the sun out.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

blockalls

  • By Christopher from NY USA on Thursday, June 30, 2011
  • Pros: worth the money
  • Cons: breaks headset noise seal, case is cheap
  • Review: the best view limiting device i have ever used, comfortable fit. i have not tried to wear them over my sunglasses while flying yet. they feel the same as wearing sunglasses while flying, and do break the sound seal of my headset. take the time to adjust your seat properly before the flight so you don't have to strain your neck in different ways to see the instruments
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Nailed it

  • By Mike from Manhattan, KS on Thursday, July 21, 2011
  • Pros: Blocks the view better than any other, feels like im not wearing them.
  • Cons: Pouch could have been better and smells like plastic
  • Review: Wish I had of purchased these earlier in my IFR training.
    I used other view limiting devices and truly found them as advertised.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very cool

  • By A Customer from Seattle WA USA on Thursday, July 28, 2011
  • Pros: Comfortable stylish and work
  • Cons: Just a slight bit of peripheral vision is noticable
  • Review: This product is excellent and even my check ride examiner was impressed. They are comfortable and do a pretty good job of blocking the outside. You still have some peripheral vision but not much. I would buy again and definatly recommend
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Best View limiting

  • By Lonnie A. from Lawrenceville, GA on Monday, February 06, 2012
  • Pros: Easy to put on while flying
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Blockalls made the remaining part of my IFR training experience so much easier. Easy to put on and take off while flying and blocked out the annoying sunlight. Great product!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

THE BEST IFR GLASSES OUT THERE

  • By C172 from Los Angeles CA USA on Saturday, November 17, 2012
  • Pros: Colors, Comfortability and blocks the sun
  • Cons: None at this time
  • Review: These cool glasses work great for IFR practice. The syle is similiar to my sunglasses and they block out the sun. The glasses fit great under my headset and I have no complaints for them. THE BEST IFR GLASSES OUT THERE!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Well worth it

  • By A Customer from Salt Lake City UT USA on Wednesday, November 28, 2012
  • Pros: Comfortable, look better than traditional foggles, sturdy
  • Cons: None yet
  • Review: I'm very happy with my decision to purchase these for instrument training. They're very comfortable and are holding up well (they live in my backpack and take a bit of a beating on a regular basis). I got them in black, and when I pulled them out of my bag to do instrument training for the first time, my instructor hasn't seen any "foggles" like these before and thought they were "cool" then once he put them on he was really impressed with them as well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best foggles i've used

  • By Brett from Tempe AZ USA on Monday, January 14, 2013
  • Pros: comfortable, carry bag, blocks everything but instruments
  • Cons: have to tilt my head back a little to see the top row of instruments
  • Review: These are just like normal sunglasses, more comfortable than my aviators. They are super dark though, much like flying in compete darkness, not fog/etc
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Tim from Mandeville LA USA on Tuesday, July 16, 2013
  • Pros: Fit and view
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Very comfortable. I can clearly see the instruments without seeing anything else.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product

  • By James from Mukwonago WI USA on Tuesday, October 15, 2013
  • Pros: Blocks the sunlight, easy to put on with headset
  • Cons:
  • Review: This product met my expectations as a CFI. I previously bought Jepp shades, but those broke after a lot of use. This product is much simpler and will probably last forever.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best on the market!

  • By A Customer from Windsor CO USA on Monday, December 09, 2013
  • Review: After buying am borrowing several other view limiting devices, this is by far the best one you can buy. Comfortable and perfect view limiting.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Simple the best!

  • By David - CFI from Seattle WA USA on Thursday, August 06, 2009
  • Pros: Comfort & fit.
  • Cons: You can't see out side the plane. ;-)
  • Review: The most comfortable view limiting device I have ever used. Does exactly what it's suppose to do. The only downside is they do not work if you require glasses.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Great Product

  • By A Customer from Jacksonville, FL on Saturday, March 19, 2016
  • Pros: Real instrument training glasses. Actually make you focus on the instruments.
  • Cons:
  • Review: I used them for all my instrument training and now with my students. They allow the student to focus solely on the instruments and not rely on looking out the sides as some other products allow.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Mark from Pinehurst NC USA on Tuesday, May 17, 2016
  • Pros: Restricts vision appropriately
  • Cons: does not work well with glasses and requires the user to hold his head in an unrelaxed position.
  • Review: Works perfectly.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product

  • By benjamin from Waco TX USA on Tuesday, February 21, 2017
  • Pros: Perfect for IFR training
  • Cons: Pricey
  • Review: Works great for helicopters. Gets the job done. My only complaint is the price could be cheaper but most aviation things are costly anyway.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect

  • By andrew from Eagan MN USA on Thursday, July 30, 2015
  • Pros: Light weight, no light passes through.
  • Cons: I haven't found any yet.
  • Review: If you want something that is light, will not get into the way of your flying and completely block everything else out. This will do the trick
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This is the one to get

  • By Edward from Piney Flats TN USA on Thursday, March 02, 2017
  • Pros: comfortable, effective, good quality, look good
  • Cons: they are designed for use in the left seat, when using from the right seat you can view out the right window easily and have to move your head around more to view the center and left side of the instrament panel. They should have a right seat model
  • Review: I own, or have used most of the hood devices thru my many years of flying and have hundreds of hours wearing these things. After spending a few hours with a hood device on, if something isn't really good they become Very annoying...of which all will to different degrees. These "Blockalls" are light, slide under the headset fairly comfortably..( more so the any of the others) when its bright outside these keep things dark and cool under the device and you can easily and comfortabley view the instruments ... Foggles are so bright and I would be squinting the whole time. they come with a nice pouch, seem well built. The left eye is blocked out a little more on the left side to keep from viewng out the window and the right side is a little more open on the right side to allow a more natural view of the cockpit. It works best if you use this from the left seat for this reason. They should make a right seat version. Oh..and actually look cool. These are the best I've used by a good measure. Get these, you won't regret it
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Most pleased!

  • By GEORGE from Frankfort IL USA on Thursday, June 29, 2017
  • Pros: Great for limiting view
  • Cons: Wish it came with a stronger shell type case and neck strap
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Thursday, June 20, 2019
  • Review: Very good, does the job nicely.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best option out there.

  • By Christopher from Clackamas OR USA on Thursday, September 17, 2009
  • Pros: Comfortable, durable, block almost entire view
  • Cons: They do break the seal on the ANR, but not more than a normal pair of sunglasses
  • Review: Great product. They are quite durable and comfortable. I can still "cheat" a little bit out the sides, but immensely less than the foggles that I was borrowing from my instructor before these.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best Foggles I've used.

  • By Mitchell the IFR student from Nashville TN USA on Saturday, February 09, 2019
  • Review: Fit better than regular foggles. Limits visibility better than traditional foggles. If you wear glasses you probably won't be able to make these work for you. Fit at the temple and heads cushion is better than traditional foggles.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Easy On & Off With Headset

  • By VorGuy from Elk Grove CA USA on Sunday, November 15, 2009
  • Pros: Easy On & Off With Headset
  • Cons: Minor - I could see a small portion of the left window
  • Review: The limitations are good. I put a chart next to the left window to block the little area that I could see. I like how easy it is to take off then put the glasses on easily without taking my headset off. Good device!!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

They block

  • By corey from la center KY USA on Monday, February 15, 2010
  • Review: The ones that I was using at the airport were hard to see out of and with the sun it wasn't any fun.  But with the blockall it was so much better.  The sun didn't bother me and they're really clear to look out of them
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Comfortable & Functional

  • By Ted from Eugene, Oregon USA on Tuesday, June 01, 2010
  • Pros: Comfortable, functional, reasonably priced
  • Cons: The plastic bag/case that comes with them stinks to high heaven (like plastic)
  • Review: I like the Blockalls very much. They are asymmetric--they block out more of the left eye than the right eye to restrict your vision out the left window, and that takes a little getting used to, but all in all this is a really good product. Easy on, easy off, they work fine with my headset and they work as well as a hood.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not bad

  • By Stu from Fredericksburg TX USA on Tuesday, January 05, 2016
  • Pros: They fit and don't hurt
  • Cons: Nothing I can think of.
  • Review: I hate flying with these on, but they do the job. Not much on IFR. Not priced to high.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

By far the best I've tried.

  • By Vic Scott from Dallas, TX on Thursday, November 04, 2010
  • Pros: Comfortable and easy to put on
  • Cons: Could see a little above panel, adjusted seat height and worked
  • Review: They fit real well. I love how well they block out the sunlight.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

These work

  • By Dicky from Cheyenne WY USA on Monday, April 10, 2017
  • Pros: Great product
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Better than any hood or other fogged glasses for Instrument work
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

must-have!

  • By Derek from Tomball TX USA on Tuesday, March 24, 2009
  • Pros: comfortable and good sunlight blocking while allowing unrestricted view of instruments
  • Cons: need to be flip-ups...
  • Review: Brilliant! I received a pair of the old "square" type foggles when I started my IFR. I hated them. Uncomfortable and let in too much sunlight during the daytime: blindingly too much! I made myself 2 other pairs during my training to correct these faults. I developed this design (almost exactly!) and then researched for something similar on the net (prior to patenting my design). I found these blockall and knew that they were the perfect view limiting device for me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Love them!

  • By Derek from Crystal City MO USA on Friday, May 08, 2009
  • Pros: Nothing
  • Cons: Can see =)
  • Review: Worth every penny! Stop thinking about buying them and just do it!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Highly recommended!

  • By Chris from Vernon CT USA on Monday, April 18, 2011
  • Review: Excellent for helicopters! Using the standard foggles for a fixed wing in helicopter simulated IFR is just cheating. These give the perfect view of the instrument panel.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product!!!

  • By Jacob from Hartford AR USA on Tuesday, February 02, 2016
  • Review: Great IFR hood glasses. I'd buy them over and over again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.