TOP

E6-B Aluminum Flight Computer

  • 49 Customer Reviews

Reviews for E6-B Aluminum Flight Computer

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

This Backs-up the GPS

  • By Gerry from Meadowlakes TX USA on Tuesday, August 26, 2014
  • Pros: It is what it is!
  • Cons: It is also ballbark, won't give you seconds.
  • Review: If you can do this on a note pad and in your head, you're my kind of aviator. I bought this to keep in touch. As an enlisted flight crew member on the B-52, I used to plot positions along the route, at mach .8.+ it was fun to keep up with the avionics.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this product.

  • By Carole from Port Charlotte FL USA on Saturday, November 26, 2016
  • Review: I purchased my first E6-B when a student pilot 40 years ago (but have since lost it), so I was expecting this latest version to be more cheaply made than the old one. Surprise! This new one is of the same high quality.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Duane from Glendale AZ USA on Monday, September 26, 2011
  • Pros: very sturdy and has lots of pertinent info on the slider
  • Cons: hard to mark on the wind side plastic
  • Review: The only thing that I find annoying is that the plastic sheet on the wind side does not take pencil or dry erase marker very well, making it hard to see the wind correction line.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very useful, has served me well in my classes.

  • By Roberto from Lincolnton NC USA on Tuesday, February 07, 2012
  • Pros: It makes navigation calculations, speed and direction of the wind, etc. are very easy.
  • Cons: For me, the manual is somewhat complicated at first.
  • Review: It has served me well, for the calculations of wind direction, flight speed, etc, to satisfy what I wanted, and is great for those who study aviation.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Highly Recommend

  • By Robert from Muldraugh KY USA on Friday, March 23, 2012
  • Review: Because of my age primarily, I'm a "Charts n Darts" man. Old military will know what that means. Technology is great but Murphy is still running strong. I want to be able to navigate using charts n darts so whatever goes south, it wont matter to me because I'll still be able to navigate. There is absolutely no comparison to this vs the cardboard version. And I use a thin tipped erasable marker on the wind side. Much easier to see and wipes right off.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A link to the past

  • By Christopher from San Diego CA USA on Wednesday, September 02, 2015
  • Pros: Fits well in my flight bag, no need for batteries, dependable.
  • Cons: Cant think of a single one.
  • Review: I really enjoy using this E6B. The numbers and marks are clearly visible, and the accuracy is amazing. The instruction book is very well thought out, and includes numerous problems to solve that help you become accurate with the equations. Pretty cool to also be holding a device that has aided aviators for so many decades. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this model.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Thomas from Cheyenne WY USA on Tuesday, October 16, 2012
  • Pros: metal, sturdy
  • Cons: TAS range is limited for computing wind correction due to the computer's compact size but it works for most GA applications.
  • Review: I was a KC-135 navigator for 21 years (1979-2000) and used my E6-B daily. I bought this one to replace the one I used in the USAF. This one is high quality and very useful. Don't bother with the cheap plastic models that melt and warp in the heat. This is great for general aviation (GA) use. I'm a CFI and would buy this product again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Product. Recommend.

  • By Miguel from Campo Largo Paran Brazil on Tuesday, October 23, 2012
  • Pros: Overall Quality and Practicity
  • Cons: Crosswind Table goes up only to 260 kt.
  • Review: The quality is amazing; it is very precise and useful, comes with instructions manual and a nice cover. Totally worth it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

No batteries, no chargers, E6B

  • By Randy from Ponte Vedra FL USA on Tuesday, November 30, 2010
  • Pros: Easy to read, easy to use, no batteries. Fits in my briefcase.
  • Cons: Requires both hands to operate
  • Review: The ASA E6B flight computer comes in a nice vinyl case with instruction booklet. It never needs batteries and never needs charging. It works no matter what as long as you put in the right information. Its easy to read and easy to use. You just have to remember a few formulas. I've never used all of its functions but I know they are there if I need them and want to learn how to get answers.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Rick from New Fairfield CT USA on Tuesday, February 01, 2011
  • Pros: Duriable, easy to rwad/use, handy case
  • Cons: not a great instruction manual
  • Review: So far, the Flight Computer has been great. Very duriable and easy to use. The instruction manual could be a little more comprehensive, but since there are many instructional options available for the E-6B its not a big deal.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Lakewood PA USA on Wednesday, May 08, 2013
  • Pros: Sturdiness
  • Cons:
  • Review: As expected a sturdy product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Confirming WWII Navigation/Bombing

  • By THOMAS from DENTON TX USA on Tuesday, March 01, 2011
  • Review: I'm using this product to do research into WWII navigational/bombing techniques and to confirm navigation decisions and judgments made under those conditions. I use it to confirm results and so far, right on the money. It's been particularly useful for computing drifts fed into the Norden bombsight during bomb runs ....
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Gary from Richboro PA USA on Tuesday, February 15, 2011
  • Review: Easy to read , sturdy enough to take abuse
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By alysson from maringa PR Brazil on Friday, December 16, 2011
  • Review: Great computer. I recommend
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Simple and Easy

  • By Daniel from IL USA on Saturday, January 19, 2013
  • Review: Easy to use and durable
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

really nice.

  • By Johnny from Oceanside CA USA on Monday, April 02, 2018
  • Review: Well made and durable. Should last a lifetime if you don't run over it with the airplane. Even then, you could probably get away with it once.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Miami FL USA on Tuesday, July 09, 2013
  • Review: Great buy
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Way to go for the last 38 years..

  • By Scott from Sydney Australia on Wednesday, November 04, 2009
  • Pros: Ease of use if in regular use, same as the Brain I guess
  • Cons: NONE
  • Review: I've been using one since 1971. I've NEVER had any dramas with it. Its my second best friend when I am flying. Wouldnt give it up for an electronic one! The batteries cant go flat.... (yeah I know, it doesnt have any ....) Why fix something if its not broken ... Some people are just geting away from the basics of flying, try it out people! IT DOES WORK and always will! Sometimes, the old ways are better and more reliable ways. I know this product is!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Easier to work than the electronic E6B

  • By Donald from North Richland Hills TX USA on Wednesday, September 26, 2007
  • Review: I'm extremely pleased with this product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Joseph from Ruston LA USA on Tuesday, July 17, 2012
  • Review: Gets the job done
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Battery free computer

  • By A Customer from Sewell NJ USA on Wednesday, January 28, 2009
  • Pros: readability, ease of use
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Easy to use. Better to read than the small version.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

There whenI needed it.

  • By Maurice from Nazareth, PA on Thursday, March 19, 2009
  • Pros: Reliable, accurate enough.
  • Cons: more complex, slower.
  • Review: It was a bright day and I couldn't read my electronic flight computer. The batteries were going, so I grabbed my E6-B. I had to think for a minute, but all I needed was time and fuel burn to an alternate airport. It got me there. A+ for my E6-B. I think I'll practice with it more often.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Product

  • By Shaun from Vero Beach FL USA on Wednesday, July 01, 2009
  • Review: This product is made of good quality metal, so it is durable. All of the slides and turns work great and I havent had any problems with any jamming. The font is large enough to read very easily. Over all I think it is a great product. I almost bought the cheaper plastic one, but I am glad I decided to spend the extra ten bucks. I feel that I will still have this computer several years from now, and it will still be just as good then.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Liked it!

  • By Charles from State College PA USA on Tuesday, July 28, 2009
  • Review: Great product!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Staten Island NY USA on Tuesday, October 13, 2009
  • Pros: Sturdy and easy to use
  • Cons:
  • Review: Just what I was looking for.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works well without batteries

  • By George from Applegate MI USA on Wednesday, September 03, 2008
  • Pros: Well built, reliable, easy to use.
  • Cons: Maybe, not as accurate
  • Review: I bought this to throw in my flight bag in the event my electronic flight computer dies. It looks to me like the results are very close between the two but I have to give an extra point or two for accuracy to the electronic version. All in all, a well built tool and worth the price even if you have an electronic E6B as I do.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Gerald from Salinas CA USA on Thursday, July 08, 2010
  • Review: I would buy this product again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Safety backup when electrons fail

  • By Ray from New Orleans LA USA on Monday, July 19, 2010
  • Pros: Solid, quality construction, clear markings
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I had long ago given away my original metal E6B to an aspiring student pilot. With online and electronic handheld flight calculators, I hadn't used an analog E6B in years. Even so, I carried a cardboard E6B in my flight bag just in case the electronic gadgets failed me. I bought the aluminum E6B mainly out of tradition...somehow using a cardboard one just didn't seem like the authentic "real pilot" thing to do. This unit is well-constructed, has a solid quality feel, clear markings, and a decent instruction manual (good thing, too, because I had to re-learn how to use the dang thing!).
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great

  • By JeffK from Denver CO USA on Wednesday, May 07, 2008
  • Review: Very sturdy and more accurate than I thought it would be.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

cool awesome i would recommend to anyone getting started

  • By william from Elmore OH USA on Monday, February 15, 2010
  • Pros: wont melt if it gets wet
  • Cons: none
  • Review: More precise than paper or cardboard, more durable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A very good product, highly recommended

  • By Steve from Stevensville MT USA on Sunday, March 28, 2010
  • Pros: Good solid product
  • Cons:
  • Review: It more than met my expectations.  Very easy to use in close quarters.  The wheel moves freely for excellent one hand operation.   Easy to read, especially at night with limited lighting.  Is a very good solid product and will last for many years.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Reasonably priced, works well.

  • By Gyro pilot from Belleville IL USA on Monday, April 26, 2010
  • Pros: Durable, easy to use.
  • Cons: Might be hard for some to see w/o reading glasses.
  • Review: I used one of these years ago. It seems just as well made and is simple to (re-learn) to use. No problems.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The only device to use.

  • By Jerry from Fremont OH USA on Thursday, April 29, 2010
  • Review: This product is easy to use and does not require batteries.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Better than it looked online

  • By Michael from Portland OR USA on Tuesday, April 20, 2010
  • Pros: Fit and finish
  • Cons:
  • Review: Really nice quality. Much better than I expected from what I could see online. A much nicer E6B than anything I've seen around my flight school.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Definitely I would buy this product again

  • By MOS from Denmark on Wednesday, June 09, 2010
  • Review: Great product
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good but not great

  • By Hap Mills from Jensen Beach FL USA on Tuesday, August 09, 2011
  • Pros: Well made
  • Cons: Al. slide will take a set when bent. Hard to make a fine pencil X on the wind face
  • Review: First am I qualified to comment: After 1,000 hrs as a B-52 navigator using the AF E6b version, I would say I am. This is a good product that could be great. Two deficiencies: The slide should be plastic. More flexible and cheaper. The wind face needs to be a different surface. it does not take a pencil mark very well. Could it be fixed. Of course 50 yurs ago the USAF issued E6Bs that had both of these improvments;. Hap Mills Ret. USAF 1525B (B-52 Navigator)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Beats the Flight Calculator

  • By Leland from Montclair NJ USA on Tuesday, October 10, 2017
  • Pros: Clear path to solving problems
  • Cons: Small print
  • Review: Helps you know your inputs/avoid input error, and demonstrates the logic behind the formulas. Great tool, way better than cardboard!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

What can I say, it's well made, and useable.

  • By Ron from Scroggins TX USA on Tuesday, September 05, 2017
  • Pros: Moving parts do in fact move.
  • Cons:
  • Review: It's an E6B. Usually they work or don't. This one seems to work fine.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Janelle from Miami FL USA on Monday, July 01, 2013
  • Review: Met expectations
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

E6B

  • By Ben from Anchorage, Alaska on Friday, May 18, 2007
  • Pros: Reliable, multi tool
  • Cons: Complex
  • Review: The E6B is probably the best out there. True it has a lot of moveable parts, but if you sit down and spend a few minutes learning its functions, it can be much faster than a computer. Also it has no batteries to die making it completly reliable. A truely good product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Second Time around it was perfect

  • By Virginia from Bolingbrook IL USA on Wednesday, September 02, 2009
  • Review: The first one they sent me was damaged on the edges but they quickly sent me a replacement. Does exactly what it is designed for and should last longer.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It's sturdy, it works.

  • By Suzanne from Virginia Beach VA USA on Friday, September 25, 2009
  • Pros: Durable, can take a beating
  • Cons: Ohter than the WAC plotter on the outer scale, not much to complain about
  • Review: Product meets expectations. Definitely more durable than the cardboard/plastic version. One minor hangup is the plotter scales. I don't need statute miles as much as nautical. Best utility would be to have the SECTional plotter on the outer scale as opposed to WAC which I don't thik is used as often. Other than that, everything else works as expected.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Joshua from Greenville SC USA on Sunday, April 05, 2009
  • Pros: It cannot be bent as easily as the cardboard versions, and the computer portion has a liner on the inside that keeps the it from sliding on the computer, making it very nice for computing compass heading and wind correction angle
  • Cons: It could do everything I was hoping it could do, so I really can't say anything bad about it
  • Review: One of the things I liked about this flight computer is the wind side of the computer. Most of it is scaled in increments of one, instead of in two like my old one, making this a lot easier to read than my old one.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Mahmoud from Montrose CA USA on Tuesday, May 31, 2011
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Sturdy and easy to use

  • By Robert from Birmingham AL USA on Tuesday, August 24, 2010
  • Pros: Construction, readability
  • Cons: None
  • Review: The aluminum E6-B flight computer is sturdy, warp resistant, easy to read, and easy to use. For students it comes with a good instruction manual, not lengthy but easy to understand. For the pros this device provides the ability to perform the quick calculations vital to safe flight.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Adrian from South Gate CA USA on Wednesday, November 03, 2010
  • Pros:
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I would buy this product again
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Reliable

  • By Federico from Los Angeles CA USA on Monday, January 07, 2008
  • Pros: Reliable, always work
  • Cons: get scratch very easy
  • Review: Great tool for calculations on board. I prefer this to the new electronic computers, although it requires a lot of practice.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Pleasanton, CA on Wednesday, May 16, 2007
  • Review: Probably the best E6-B out there, but I don't like it. I'm a software developer, a geek. I just can't adjust to all the weird things you have to do to use this thing when the same manufacturer makes the CX-2 Pathfinder Flight Computer. I guess I'm just not a traditionalist.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

My new computer does not work

  • By James from Severna Park, MD on Thursday, April 12, 2012
  • Review: This computer came with the kneeboard. Since day one its rotation has been catchy, and now it will not rotate through about 200 degrees. Very frustrating when one is doing calculations to prepairs for an FAA test.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.