TOP

Reviews for Smith & Wesson Galaxy 13 LED Flashlight

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Best Flashlight Available

  • By Ronald from Woodside NY USA on Wednesday, June 08, 2011
  • Pros: The best torch I have ever owned.
  • Cons:
  • Review: This Smith & Wesson Galaxy 13 LED Flashlight is the best torch I have owned. I should know ... I am a collector of flashlights---have bought all available in mypilotstore.com, as well as many others from different suppliers.
    The S & W is simply superb! Versatile in the cockpit, easy to handle, solid construction, and extremely dependable. It does the job you need done while night flying. Obviously, I can't recommend it high enough. It is well worth every cent paid.You shouldn't miss this one.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Ronald from Enumclaw WA USA on Thursday, January 26, 2012
  • Pros: Rugged design, two switches one for white and the other for red.
  • Cons: The case could be a little larger as the light fits very tight.
  • Review: This light is built like a tank. This light is very robust and it will take lots of abuse ( not stating you should abuse it) before it would break. Having two separate switches is a must for a light that is used in aviation, as you don't want to cycle through different modes to get the lighting you want. The white light is bright enough for any task you would need a flashlight for. The red lighting is much dimmer which is nice as you do not want a bright light for cockpit use. The batteries are easy to change and because it's an LED lamp you will not need to carry a spare bulb as this type of light lasts much longer then the bulbs used in most flashlights. I am not sorry at all for buying this light and it's worth the money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Kevin from Canton MI USA on Tuesday, May 31, 2011
  • Review: Solid construction, dependable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

S&W finally solved the battery jam problem

  • By FGOS from Groveland FL USA on Tuesday, October 11, 2016
  • Pros: Functions as advertised.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Actually went beyond my expectation with the battery holder upgrade.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best Flashlight for the cockpit

  • By Mark from IA USA on Monday, January 19, 2015
  • Pros: Very bold bright white light and just perfect red light.
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Exceeded my expectation so I now have three of them. Fits great in flight bag and in airplane side pockets for ready access.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Now I can retire my Grandad's torch.

  • By Johnny from Hopewell NJ USA on Tuesday, February 03, 2015
  • Pros: Fine and all-purpose.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Well constructed, plentiful red light, strong white.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A Bright Idea For Airmen

  • By David Wayne from Pewaukee WI USA on Friday, December 27, 2013
  • Pros: Durable flashlight body appropriate size and reasonably price.
  • Cons: None determined
  • Review: Perfect white light for inspection or pre-flight and I imagine for signaling. Red light feature excellent for cockpit or other dark environments.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great value good quality

  • By joseph from Manasquan NJ USA on Thursday, October 08, 2015
  • Review: For the price it's a great flash light. Perfect for a night pre flight as well as cockpit usage. Well made.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product

  • By Scott from Vancouver WA USA on Friday, February 19, 2016
  • Pros: light weight..but quality
  • Cons: none
  • Review: easy to use...solid construction...lightweight
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

superior product

  • By Dave from Saint Louis MO USA on Wednesday, February 24, 2016
  • Review: Built good, has exceptional bright LEDs, has extra storage battery compartment on the belt loop holder.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great pilot product

  • By William from Willmar MN USA on Tuesday, September 13, 2016
  • Pros:
  • Cons: A little bright on red.
  • Review: Just what I wanted and needed. Separate button for red and white light. Nice carrying case, feels and looks rugged.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A Bright Spot in a Dark Cockpit or Confined Space

  • By David Wayne from Pewaukee WI USA on Wednesday, November 02, 2016
  • Pros: Pocket size and battery life
  • Cons: Lanyard hole could be a tad larger
  • Review: Experience with six S&W Galaxy 13 LED flashlights has proven that the perfect pocket size and long battery life with extended usage makes for excellent value and utility for home, auto or ramp.

    You can read with the red light and see etched mouse print on a dirty, corroded manufacturers machinery tag.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Let there be light !

  • By Pilot from Fayetteville TN USA on Tuesday, June 09, 2015
  • Pros: The price was great, 30% cheaper than some suppliers.
  • Cons: There are no negatives
  • Review: This is a great light. Gives plenty of light for pre-flight inspection at night and the light from the red lense is soft enough for working inside the cockpit without being blinded by a glare from the instrument panel.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Dale from Grand Junction CO USA on Tuesday, June 21, 2011
  • Pros: quality
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Excellent quality, should last for many years.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Why didn't I think of this!

  • By Larry from Alta Loma CA USA on Monday, May 02, 2011
  • Pros: Compact with thought out lens design.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Looked at many other flashlights....I must have the red lens feature and this one has it built in, not some lens contraption that is added or a bulky flip-up design. Perfect design. Glad I continued to shop.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Outstanding quality

  • By Walter Davis from Jacksonville Florida on Monday, July 05, 2010
  • Pros: Bright. The on/off switches are positioned so the right switch (white or red) can be turned on without much fumbling.
  • Cons: Would like to see it come with a wrist lanyard, although th cordoba carrying case is great.
  • Review: Light weight yet sturdy aluminum. Bright in both the white led and red led modes. Not to small or large. Overall just the right size for the flight bag.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Heck yeah!

  • By Jakeinator from Mesa, AZ on Thursday, August 05, 2010
  • Pros: Super Bright, Lightweight, Cool Holster
  • Cons:
  • Review: Definitely exceeded expectations - it is like a football stadium light in the day! The red LED's are cool too - they make the night stuff a breeze. Liked the holster it came with too!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product

  • By Wayne from Galesville MD USA on Tuesday, January 18, 2011
  • Review: This flashlight met my expectations.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Keith from Madison, AL on Wednesday, January 19, 2011
  • Review: Very durable construction.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Flashlight for the Money

  • By Brian - Aviatorman79 from Lawrenceville GA USA on Thursday, January 27, 2011
  • Pros: Dual mode White/Red LED lights
  • Cons: Uses AAA batteries.
  • Review: I wanted an inexpensive flashlight with both white and red light and the Smith & Wesson fills the bill perfectly. The red light is perfect for viewing charts at night without disturbing night vision. White perfect for the night toime preflight. The only caveat is the flashlight uses AAA batteries and all my other gear uses AA, so I have to carry another type of battery in my flight bag. Other than that it's a great product and I highly recommend for the $$.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best flash lite I have ever used

  • By Gayle from Prescott AZ USA on Monday, January 25, 2010
  • Pros: great light
  • Cons: none
  • Review: It is small with a great light system.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great light - I would buy it again.

  • By A Customer from Coventry RI USA on Monday, May 05, 2008
  • Pros: Red light saves your night vision
  • Cons: It could use a lanyard
  • Review: The red light doesn't hurt your night vision and the white light is bright enough to see where you're going. It could use a lanyard.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Mark from Highland, IN on Monday, March 08, 2010
  • Review: If you need a flashlight quit looking and just buy this one. Very bright on white and bright enough on the red light setting to see what you need, but not to ruin your night vision either. Strong belt holster is great and has a spot to carry spare batteries.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I Would recommended to everyone...

  • By AHMED from Kuwait on Tuesday, March 09, 2010
  • Pros: Excellent
  • Cons:
  • Review: This product is a life saving item it helped me alot while I was flying and I wanted to check my kneeboard and I have to admit it help me alot...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Flashlight

  • By Marc from Alpharetta GA USA on Monday, March 29, 2010
  • Pros: Size, ease of use
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Convenient size, very durable and well made. Very simple to use, red or white light available very easily.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Love this product

  • By Sean from Litchfield Park AZ USA on Monday, April 26, 2010
  • Pros: The light puts out just the right amount of light at night in the cockpit.
  • Cons: needs to be more compact
  • Review: The light is great in the cockpit.  It is just a little bulky.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice utility light

  • By Andrew from Secuacus, NJ USA on Tuesday, June 01, 2010
  • Pros: High quality, Relatively inexpensive, Bright even light, Dual push-button switches, Red and white light
  • Cons: Red too bright for cockpit use, NO LANYARD LOOP (come on S&W!!!)
  • Review: I like this light a lot. I bought it because I just can't find that magic pilot flashlight that does everything I need. That is, a cockpit-friendly light that I can also preflight with (red and white capable). I've been preflighting my plane at night using a mini mag light with a red lens. It is great in the cockpit but not bright enough to look across the top of a wing or any reasonable distance. But that makes it just right for the cockpit. I can see everything without it being overpowering. Unfortunately, that will likely make the S&W too bright for the cockpit. One other drawback of the mini mag is that you need two hands to twist it on and off. The S&W push button switches solve this problem nicely. I haven't tested this light in the plane yet but around my apartment, the 3 red LED's are bright enough to see across the room. They seem to be way too bright if I look at something in the area the panel or a kneeboard would be. Blindingly so. So I have nice bright red light for outside the plane (if you want that), but I think I will have to stick with my mini mag for the cockpit. I bought a small CRE flashlight a while back and it is amazing to me how bright a single small bulb can be. The white portion of the S&W is not very far behind in total light. And unlike the mag lights, the CRE light and the S&W cast an even patch of light. This is very nice. The two-switch feature is very nice too. Super simple and no scrolling through multiple functions on a single switch. I rated the flashlight a 5 because I think it is a very nice piece of equipment at a reasonable price, and seems to be rugged. It is not, however, likely to be my one and only night-flight light tool. The search continues. PS. I gave the flashlight a CON for no lanyard loop. But I guess if I wasn't flying with this thing (and trying to hang it around my neck), I wouldn't care about the lanyard. So I guess I can understand why S&W didn't include one.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again.

  • By joel from Marblehead MA USA on Tuesday, November 01, 2016
  • Pros: Precise
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Just what I needed and at best price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Preston from Virginia Beach VA USA on Wednesday, January 02, 2008
  • Pros: Small and efficient, low power conserves battery, Has red lens to save nite vision
  • Cons:
  • Review: Good flashlight. Easy to use; small and the LEDs allow the batteries to last a long time.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

a must have

  • By Thomas from FRESNO CA USA on Wednesday, August 19, 2009
  • Pros: red or white light or both!
  • Cons: a bit more expensive than a led maglite
  • Review: Excellent construction. The red lights are a must inside the cockpit during night operations.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A great flashlight that I would purchase again

  • By Brandon from Gilmer TX USA on Thursday, January 12, 2017
  • Pros: Very well made, the red LEDs are not too bright and are perfect for the cockpit at night
  • Cons: The flashlight is a little bigger than I expected
  • Review: This flashlight is made well and is very durable, there is no chance of breaking the flashlight if dropped. The white light LED is very bright and the red LEDs are great for using inside a vehicle or cockpit at night. If you do any flying at night, this is a great flashlight to keep in the glove box or flight bag.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Martinsburg WV USA on Wednesday, January 28, 2009
  • Review: This was a gift to our son. He is in the Army and asked for this specific flashlight. Think he liked it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Fits in the palm of your hand and light up your world like sunshine.

  • By Paul from Jamestown NC USA on Thursday, June 18, 2009
  • Pros: Small enough to store anywhere plus the case works great on the belt and fits nicely in the palm of the hand or held in the fingers. The lights, both red and white, are amazing and will with clear sharpness illuminate whatever you point it at.
  • Cons: I just don't have enough of them yet, at less one more!
  • Review: What a surprise after using it several times. I have not seen a bright light from 10 LED's like this. If you could say the focus was sharp, that what this light is like. The three red LED's make working in the dark as if I was in a football stadium with the light on, only in red. It's that bright and that clear. I have used the S&W Galaxy on my helicopter for inspections and reading maps and used it at home on a regular bases. It has replaced all my other flashlights including a big 9 volt one. I am thinking about buying one or two more for my cars and my house.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Solid, Bright, Excellent

  • By ROBERT on Wednesday, June 24, 2009
  • Pros: Bright, well made
  • Cons: None
  • Review: With both red and white lights, the whites being very, very bright, it is a well made product, which comes in a quality case. Well worth the money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product!

  • By Matthew from Palmdale CA USA on Monday, March 23, 2009
  • Pros: Right size, bright lights
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This product is very useful for night flight operations. The white LED portion is great for pre-flight, and the red LED's are more than sufficient for seeing in the cockpit. The LED's are bright, and they will last for many years, with low power consumption.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Wonderful!

  • By STG2 from FPO AA USA on Monday, May 18, 2009
  • Review: I sent this to my husband who is deployed and he has done nothing but brag about his super cool flashlight!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product

  • By Justin from Muscatine IA USA on Tuesday, August 18, 2009
  • Pros: Durable, bright, low energy use.
  • Cons: Beam not as focused, more of a lantern/lamp than a beam of light.
  • Review: A solid, well-made product. A trusted brand, and the price on my pilot store was 40% lower than on the manufacturer's website. Very easy to use and durable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.