TOP

Reviews for The Cockpit Antique Lambskin A-2 Leather Jacket (Dark Brown)

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE MY JACKET!! HOWEVER :(

  • By BRADLEY from SPRINGFIELD IL USA on Thursday, February 23, 2012
  • Pros: FITS GREAT!!! LOOKS GREAT!!! VERY PLEASED
  • Cons: HAVE A HOLE IN THE LEFT POCKET AND HAVE ONLY WORN THE JACKET 4 TIMES!!!
  • Review: I ABSOLUTELY LOVE MY JACKET!!! HOWEVER, I HAVE ONLY WORN IT FOUR TIMES AND I HAVE A HOLE IN MY LEFT POCKET LINING ALREADY!! THAT IS A LITTLE DISAPPOINTING.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.

After The 1st Year Of Wear

  • By Dwight Danna on Sunday, December 15, 2013
  • Pros: Great jacket
  • Cons: Distress to soon
  • Review: After wearing the jacket for 1year I have to say its a nice jacket I have no complaints well maybe one the distress look came sooner than thought but I guess it all depends on how much you wear it other than that it's holding up very well it can get a bit hot when you enter a building it's still holding its original shape and easy to clean
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Pandora OH USA on Friday, February 14, 2014
  • Pros: Nice looking jacket
  • Cons: Too stiff
  • Review: I was expecting a lambskin leather jacket to be soft and flexible.

    Unable to soften it up even using different softners.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Sturdy Construction

  • By Felix from Morristown NJ USA on Monday, March 03, 2014
  • Pros: Tough, Durable Construction
  • Cons: Some of the leather feels brittle
  • Review: I was a little disappointed at first that the jacket's grain was irregular and not consistent but then decided that it made the jacket look distinctive. Of a little more concern was that one of the sleeves had leather that felt stiff and brittle. I have been treating the entire jacket with mink oil in an effort to get the leather to soften and become more pliable. I feel that the bands at the ends of the sleeves and around the waist should be made of a better more durable quality, since my sleeve ends are already showing signs of wear, i.e. little cotton balls forming.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very warm, not too flexible

  • By Richard from Peoria IL USA on Wednesday, March 16, 2016
  • Pros: Very warm
  • Cons: Stiff and thick
  • Review: Needs a lot of break in to be comfortable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Lotta Jacket

  • By Thomas from Kemah TX USA on Friday, March 06, 2015
  • Pros: Lambskin
  • Cons: Overall weight
  • Review: Love the lamb skin feel. Would have liked a bit less lining/padding. If it's very cold you're good to go. A little heavy for my particular geography. Lining prints are a bit much too; it's just a jacket.  It's a keeper though.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Hampton Falls NH USA on Wednesday, February 01, 2012
  • Pros: He likes the warmth and the creative lining in the jacket.
  • Cons: This jacket is quite heavy, but I'm sure the weight is related to the warmth.
  • Review: I purchased this jacket for my husband (as a surprise) and he was very pleased with the product. After reading other reviews, I decided to go down a size to a 'medium' from his usual 'large' and I'm glad I did.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Pilot Jacket

  • By Dean from Maryland, USA on Friday, August 23, 2013
  • Pros: quality of leather, look
  • Cons: side pockets too far back
  • Review: Just received my jacket yesterday. This is my second order for the same jacket. I follow the size chart and order the first one medium, has to return and reorder for small which fits me very well, I like the leather very much although brand new it was soft, smell wonderful, large size zipper works fine, this jacket doesn't need "break in". The only minor disappointments is the knit cuffs and waist band thinner than they should be and the side pockets too far back to slip your hands in comfortably (I has other pilot leather jacket to compare). Overall I like it very much.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Large is LARGE

  • By David from Columbus OH USA on Sunday, October 30, 2011
  • Pros: Nice look and very historic. Probably very nice at 20,000 feet in an open airplane.
  • Cons: A bit large and very warm. Doesn't wear well in a car. Take it off before getting in.
  • Review: The quality of the jacket is nice. I bought a Large (normally I wear a 42L). This jacket has a ton of room and is not tight at all. The shoulders hang over but that makes the sleeves long enough. It is well insulated and is not a cool day jacket. It is a cold day jacket. I find it is bulky and hard to wear in my car. I wear it outside when I know it is going to be cold. I think a medium might have been a better fit. Since the jacket is so warm, I didn't wear it to really get a feel for the fit until the weather turned cold and past the date I could exchange it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Looks great and feels great

  • By Arnold from Peachtree City GA USA on Tuesday, February 07, 2012
  • Pros: Fits well, keeps me warm in the wind & cold
  • Cons: Heavy, but it is a cold weather jacket
  • Review: This jacket was a Christmas gift from my girlfriend. The jacket is stiff out of the box and takes time to break-in, including the brass zipper. The leather is still a little stiff a month & half later but feeling softer each time I wear it. The zipper works well with bee's wax lubrication. Sizing is about where it should be. The extra large is a little large across the shoulders but the length and chest fit is correct. I am a little concerned about the cuffs & waist band. I hope they will hold their fit & not stretch out. Time will tell.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just what my husband wanted

  • By JoDee from Anchor Point AK USA on Tuesday, September 13, 2016
  • Pros: length
  • Cons: knit cuffs
  • Review: Loved that there is a jacket that actually fits the long arms my husband has.
    Wish the cuffs weren't knit but other than that an amazing fit.
    My husband can't wait until it's cold enough to wear :)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Jacket except for a couple of issues

  • By Edwin from San Francisco CA USA on Saturday, December 17, 2016
  • Review: I love the jacket but both hand pockets still needed the liner sown in....big holes in both....other than than real good
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Paul from Perth WA Australia on Monday, June 05, 2017
  • Pros:
  • Cons: No map on inside of mine
  • Review: Great fit for buying online great looks quality material
    Fast delivery no complaints about the jacket.
    Thank you
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very pleased!

  • By Ronnie from Beaumont TX USA on Wednesday, January 07, 2015
  • Pros: Handles the Texas cold and is stylish
  • Cons: Leather stiffness until break in
  • Review: Prompt delivery, and fit is true to size
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again.

  • By A Customer from Kennesaw GA USA on Tuesday, April 08, 2014
  • Review: I really like everything about the Cockpit Leather Jacket, except that the jacket came very stiff.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Linda from Shallowater TX USA on Friday, January 06, 2017
  • Review: Great jacket but a bit heavy, would rather have a jacket that is a lighter weight.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

My favorite leather jacket!

  • By Thomas from Kirklin IN USA on Thursday, March 03, 2016
  • Review: Very nice jacket. Well made in the US. The jacket arrived quickly, within 3 days of ordering it was here. It's very warm. I can find no fault at all with it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Value for the Money

  • By Gary from St. Catharines ON Canada on Friday, January 18, 2013
  • Pros: Fit, style, construction
  • Cons: Stiff leather
  • Review: Solid construction, and attractive looking. It's a warm jacket and fits well. Gosh, darn, it takes a long time to break in the leather, though. I would recommend it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice Jacket

  • By Diane from Rochester NY USA on Monday, January 16, 2012
  • Pros: no snap at bottom of zipper and wimpy cuffs and waistband
  • Cons: Nice leather and great lining...good construction also made in the USA
  • Review: This is a very well made leather jacket. The lining is fun and my husband says it is very warm. I think the knit cuffs and waistband could be a little more substantial and the zipper is nice but a little difficult to zip. Also would have liked a little snap at the bottom of the zipper flap. Also want to mention that when my package arrived I pulled up to the house and saw it sitting on my doorstep and this box was out in the rain and was taped with one little piece of tape and the box was open so not a good packaging guys for a jacket of this price thank goodness you also thought to put it in a plastic bag.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

ok but very heavy

  • By Vivianne from Marly Fribourg Switzerland on Tuesday, September 16, 2014
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not going to last forever

  • By David from Manhattan Beach CA USA on Thursday, March 27, 2014
  • Pros: Beautiful, classy, comfortable, warm, very soft, just fantastic
  • Cons: Expensive, not very durable.
  • Review: It's a really nice jacket, the nicest I have ever owned. Also the most expensive. It is fantastic really. My only complaint is that it isn't very tough. The leather is so soft that when you bump against things it is easy to scratch and also easy to tear. i've had it two months and already I have a tear just behind the webing at the wrist. Also, the wind flap over the zipper has a tendency to stick up a little more than the rest of the jacket so there is a light brown line all along it where it has rubbed enough to wear off the tanned leather and show the lighter color underneath. I love the "Top Gun" feel of wearing it while riding my antique BMW motorcycle (very retro) but it isn't handling it as well as I wished. I'm thinking of retiring it from active duty to more dressy occasions (while it still looks and feels fantastic) and getting something more durable for the motorcycle and semi-everyday wear. I'm 6 feet tall and 220 lbs and I really like the 2x size, slightly big on me which I like and so I can wear a thin sweater underneath on really cold days on the motorcycle. I probably wouldn't buy this jacket again because it is very expensive without being very durable. I'd love to find the same jacket in cow leather. It is definitely 5 stars except for the price and durability. I love everything else about it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great gift!

  • By Michael from Northfield NJ USA on Wednesday, January 04, 2012
  • Pros: Leather and style are lovely
  • Cons: Runs really small
  • Review: Love the jacket! It's a lovely reminder to my husband of the jacket his grandfather gave him as a boy. My only complaint was that a 3x is not true to size. Was told it ran small but the 3x just fit not too much breathing room.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Wonderful Jacket with only small changes suggested.

  • By David A from Sunland CA USA on Monday, January 16, 2012
  • Pros: Great heavy duty jacket.
  • Cons: needs snaps on the flap over the zipper to help keep in closed in the wind.
  • Review: The jacket is first rate and I'm very pleased. I had another A-2 about 20 years ago that went to an old girl friend and I believe it had some snaps on the front as well as the zipper. As I like to wear the jacket while I ride my motorcycle, the snaps would be a welcomed addition to this classic article and would help keep the flap (which could be just a bit wider as well) closed against the wind. Besides that, I'm getting complements all the time.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It's what they say it is

  • By Thomas from Nevada City CA USA on Tuesday, May 31, 2011
  • Pros: Priced right , made right and fits right
  • Cons: I wish it had that worn look
  • Review: I'm not a pilot but as an old Air Force brat I always wanted a bomber jacket and have purchased a few through the years.This one is the real deal, it's heavy like it is suppose to be,most of the leather bomber jackets that I tried or looked at were very nice looking but were made of a very thin light leather. One I had tore when holing a glass door open with the forearm of my jacket. I was glad that my wife was there to see it happen, as she had paid 500 bucks for it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Jos Navarro. from Cartagena Murcia Spain on Wednesday, December 29, 2010
  • Review: Only one word: Wonderful.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Milt from Astoria OR USA on Wednesday, February 16, 2011
  • Review: Love it. Just what I was looking for.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Almost Perfect

  • By Ken from Wilsonville OR USA on Monday, October 05, 2009
  • Pros: Fit, Style, Construction
  • Cons: A Bit Heavy
  • Review: A great jacket, a bit heavier than I expected but beautifully made. I would buy it again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By LG from Aiken SC USA on Friday, February 12, 2010
  • Review: I bought one about exactly like this one, same inside embroidery stitching, same inside front panels, etc. about 15 years ago from Ham.-Schm. in Chicago. This one is about the same but I think the leather seems thinner. It is definitely not the same weight overall but my husband still likes it. I bought this new one so that I can take the other one in to get some repair work done on the lining.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I will recommend this product to others

  • By Richard from Cherry Hill NJ USA on Thursday, January 19, 2012
  • Pros: High quality leather
  • Cons: The thickness of the leather is not even especially at the cuff.
  • Review: This is a High quality product and looks good.   The only thing that I am not happy is that the leather at the cuff is thin and wrinkle.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.