Yes, we are open and shipping orders! COVID-19 Update.
TOP

One Six Right DVD

  • 82 Customer Reviews

Reviews for One Six Right DVD

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

A REAL LOOK BACK IN TIME , OH WHAT A VIEW - LOVED IT!

  • By paul from northridge CA USA on Tuesday, October 09, 2012
  • Pros: DIDO'S TO THE ABOVE
  • Cons: N/A
  • Review: I HAVE LIVED IN THE SAN FERNADO VALLEY FOR ALMOST 65 YEARS AND LEARNED THINGS ABOUT THE VAN NUYS AIRPORT THAT NEVER KNEW . I CAN'T THINK OF ONE THING I WOULD CHANGE, EXCEPT GIVE US MORE IF CAN AND I WILL BE THE FIRST TO SIGN UP.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 40 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I Grew Up in the Flight Path

  • By Dave from San Luis Obispo CA USA on Wednesday, September 10, 2014
  • Pros: everything
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I've been looking for a DVD of this since I saw it on Discovery several years ago. I grew up watching (and hearing) the C-97s, C-130s, and U2s flying in and out of Van Nuys Airport, along with all the private planes and this film shows so much of that plus the history of the busiest private airport in there USA. The film his very well made and a must for anyone interested in smaller airports.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 36 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Crop Duster Husband Loves It!!!

  • By Vicky from Katy TX USA on Monday, January 30, 2012
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Insightful!
  • Review: Does an excellent portral of the love of flying!!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 36 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The perfect thing for those who have a love for flying

  • By David from Yorba Linda CA USA on Monday, February 14, 2011
  • Pros: Fantastic presentation, stories and history about flight
  • Cons: Not for everyone - Only for those with a passion for flight
  • Review: I once had purchased this movie via itunes, however I could only view it on my computer and wanted to share it with others. I have always had a passion for flight as did my older brother. As an avid private pilot and worked in the professional video industry, this movie had a special place in his heart. While cancer took him from us, this movie reminds me of his passion as this movie is about keeping the dream of flight alive.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 26 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Flying is My Passion, So I Loved One Six Right

  • By Dave-61 and still flying from Broomfield CO USA on Tuesday, June 09, 2015
  • Review: Fantastic, it clearly exceeded my expectations. I also have the companion DVD One Six Left which explains the filming and more details.

    The flight scenes in the air are unequaled in quality and beauty, composition! The musical score was superb!

    I think pilot stories are really important and perhaps to have some of those go into more detail or be re-enacted would be fun to see and hear.

    I like the way this DVD really presented the General Aviation story of how important GA is to the local economies and why airports are important.

    Of course I am a pilot, so I could watch airplanes all day long, but I would bet some of the viewers were bored by long flight scenes with music.

    The scenes with real actors that are also pilots were also very interesting and I bet they have some stories.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 26 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

An Excellent Video on General Aviation

  • By A Customer from Greeley CO USA on Tuesday, June 23, 2015
  • Pros: If you love General Aviation - this video is for you!
  • Cons: None
  • Review: As an Aerospace Education instructor, I use this video to instruct my students about General Aviation. I like the pilot interviews where they briefly describe how they got started in aviation. The film is professional-quality and very informative about the history of General Aviation and the challenges it faces today.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 25 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very good movie

  • By Susan from Katy TX USA on Friday, January 21, 2011
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 23 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Exceeded my expectations

  • By Mike from Brownsburg IN USA on Thursday, April 01, 2010
  • Pros: For once an airplane movie without the glitz of Hollywood. Just the truth
  • Cons: Too short
  • Review: A pilots story/film. With a mix of no name people to incredible people, the film had it all. Have viewed it 4 times since purchased and still loved watching it. Watched it with my 87 year old father who was a P-51 pilot in WWII. It brought tears to his eyes.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 21 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A Must See by All.

  • By Larry from Sharon Springs NY USA on Monday, March 06, 2017
  • Pros: Very Informative
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Awesome video. Brings to light some of the issues of General Aviation. Good and bad. Describes the LOVE of flying the best way possible. The footage of flying was astounding. The stories and history being told was fantastic.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 19 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Made me want to go flying

  • By debbie from danville VA USA on Monday, January 10, 2011
  • Pros: It was right on!! Beautiful film and music. Watched it 3 times first time.
  • Cons: It was over too soon-Could have watched for hours
  • Review: Wow - Gave this to my husband for Christmas. He so appreciated the story of the growth of Van Nuys and understood the demise of other small ports. We live on the east coast and have seen so many small ports go by the wayside. My husband flew with his dad back in the late 30s and 40s and began flying himself in the 50s. Became an IA and his business was almost all taildraggers. We love door-off flying, wind in your face and boy this really was a part of this film. The thrill of learning and the solo ride. I thought my husband was going to cry and maybe he did hide a tear or two from me. He is restricted to LSA now. But he is still flying. And yes, he always takes me too! Thanks for all of the beautiful film.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 18 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Jim from Onalaska WI USA on Tuesday, March 23, 2010
  • Pros: Quality of in flight video is exceptional. Sincerity of presenters. No hype, just the facts.
  • Cons:
  • Review: This is a nice upgrade of the previously issued DVD by the same title. One or more of the characters who made brief presentations were known to me, esp. John O'Crowley, now deceased. I have flown a Piper J-3 from 16 R and landed on 16 L, so it was nostalgic, to say the least. The message is clear-"SAVE OUR GENERAL AVIATION FACILITIES OR THEY'RE SOON GONE"
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 18 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for all airport bums.

  • By George from Overland Park KS USA on Monday, April 04, 2011
  • Pros: All good narrative and video.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Should be good for small airports threatened by surrounding development. Could be shown to municipal officials to help show their airport's place in the economic scheme of things. Too bad the AOPA didn't produce one like it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 17 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Wonderful Historical Analysis

  • By Christopher from Littleton CO USA on Friday, December 10, 2010
  • Pros: Great story - beautifully photographed
  • Cons: none
  • Review: As an aviation history buff, I was delighted to know the story of the Van Nuys airport. The HD photography of various in-flight scenes was fabulous, with the approach of Clay Lacy's DC-3 to touchdown being my favorite.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 17 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

An instirational experience

  • By John F. Comeau from Torrance CA USA on Monday, October 12, 2009
  • Pros: Music and cinematographry
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I saw this first on PBS coming to it with only minor interest because I'd lived near Van Nuys airport. I was blown awy by the beauty and romance of the cinematography and music. It transported me into all those cockpits but more over sparked deep emotions about the wonder of flight. It awoke the child within me. I bought it because I knew I had to watch it many times.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 17 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

More than just what it seems to be about!! :)

  • By A Customer from Clinton MD USA on Tuesday, March 23, 2010
  • Review: This was on of the best movies I have seen! There were a couple of part that I didn't like though (just the euphemisms and the jazz music) Other than those- it was great!! I watched it online and I cried when I watched it. We bought it for a friend who loves airplanes and he told us that he had been wanting that movie for about 2 years!! It is definitely a movie I would recommend to watch!!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 16 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The Best! Brings back memories.

  • By Patrick from Stevens Point WI USA on Tuesday, January 19, 2010
  • Pros:
  • Cons: No Part II
  • Review: This movie brought back memories as a child looking to the skies everytime a plane passed over. I just wish I had the chance to grow up near a place like that. Very interesting and sad airports are closing, they are the favorite places for me to hang out.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 14 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

BUY THIS!!!

  • By Michael from Riverside CA USA on Thursday, July 15, 2010
  • Pros: Best aerial photography i have seen in a very long time , no it is the best i have seen ...
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I loved every minute of this movie , having worked and grown up at VNY it was great to see the history of this wonderful airport ... The cinematography is top notch if not the best I have ever seen ... you wont be disappointed buying this movie and the companion DVD 16L.....
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 14 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent

  • By A Customer from Nashville TN USA on Saturday, October 17, 2009
  • Pros: Wonderful video footage
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Wonderful and novel entertainment for those with an interest in avation or those who enjoy history.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 13 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not a pilot, but still loved it

  • By Richard from Aurora OH USA on Monday, December 28, 2009
  • Pros: Aerial photography is spectacular and the soundtrack is quite enjoyable.
  • Cons: Wished it was longer
  • Review: I am not a pilot, and am quite surprised how much both my wife and I enjoyed this documentary. This documentary is really quite interesting. The video gives a glimpse into the history of possibly the most famous general aviation airport in the U.S., the Van Nuys Airport. Surprised how scarce they are becoming. Enjoyed hearing the pilots, retired from flying, telling their stories. Got a chuckle from the term "hangar pilots".
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 13 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Robert Patrick from Sunset Beach NC USA on Friday, November 07, 2008
  • Pros: Quality of story, photography and production...five stars!!!
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Worth viewing over and over again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Little Rock AR USA on Thursday, January 15, 2009
  • Review: Best historical account I've seen. It is full of wonderful scenes of long gone planes that pilots are still talking about. This movie was a gift for my son. His father was a single engine jet pilot in the second world war.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Jack from Sunnyvale CA USA on Monday, April 27, 2009
  • Review: This was ordered as a gift after seeing the film on LV PBS, which was not able to provide a copy. Recipient appreciated historical, nostalgic value. Sender appreciated very prompt and personal service.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Massimo from Cerveteri - SASSO Italy on Wednesday, October 07, 2009
  • Review: The BEST tribue about Flight and the Love for it I ever saw. A MUST HAVE!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Beautiful and educational

  • By Pegasus 1 from Eaton OH USA on Sunday, October 11, 2009
  • Pros: Excellent aerial shots. Beautiful music. Interesting story.
  • Cons: Even if twice as long, it still wouldn't be long enough.
  • Review: This video was surprisingly better than expected. The videography was outstanding. The music is original and really contributes to the video. Makes me want to run to the airfield and go flying! The only thing lacking is a sequel!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Marvelous DVD and highly recommend it

  • By Bart from Westlake Village CA USA on Monday, March 23, 2009
  • Pros: Excellent
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I first saw part of this story on PB. Later recommended by a pilot friend of mine. I am very glad I purchased the DVD. I have shown it to many of my friends that are not pilots and they thought it was great. It is a very important message why we can not allow the small airports to be closed down. People have to stop moving next to airports then start complaining about the noise.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

If you don't fly, this should make you want to learn!

  • By Phil Pool from West Burlington IA USA on Thursday, September 10, 2009
  • Pros: Very entertaining, with lots of info about VNY airport and many great tales of it's past pilots and their remembrances.
  • Cons: Wasn't long enough! I would have enjoyed at least another 30 minutes and would have tried to interview Harrison Ford, a HUGE flying advocate
  • Review: I started flying in 1976 and it was at VNY. I moved to Iowa 5 yrs. ago from S. CA. and never owning a plane, this movie got me pysched to want a plane. I've always rented, but hadn't flown in almost a dozen years. Watching this movie, the production value, the music and the professional 'look' was very inspiring. Knowing the many circuits I've taken there, touch and go's, flying in the busy S. CA. basin, it brought it all back! The history of VNY was something I didn't know, and it was very intriguing. I had a personal friend who flew a Lear for Clay Lacy and got to ride in one once from VNY to Fox Field in Lancaster, CA. What an aircraft! Hearing Clay's story was also quite interesting. In the 26 yrs. I lived in S. CA., VNY had a lot of changes. The biggest was when the Air National Guard moved their base of C-130's to Pt. Magu. I was sad, because it was always exciting to be sharing your approach with sometimes six C-130's coming back from a training mission. There was NEVER a 'dull' moment at VNY! One Six Right is inspirational and if anybody is thinking about learning to fly, this should push them over the edge. I highly recommend it for anyone.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

watched 10 times, over

  • By A Customer from Santa Ana CA USA on Friday, October 24, 2008
  • Pros: Great
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I love it. I watch it almost every day.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

perfectt gift for area

  • By A Customer from Reseda CA USA on Monday, February 02, 2009
  • Review: This was the perfect gift. We'd seen this video on local TV and ordered it for a family member, we are located in the SFV, what wonderful history. Plus we know some of the people being interviewed. Clay Lacy etc. He was thrilled. And it was actually as good if not better than the local VNY airport put out.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

WOW! Experience this DVD! It will bring tears to your eyes!

  • By Lynn in Alaska from Eagle River AK USA on Saturday, August 16, 2008
  • Pros: It's a timeless experience
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This is an experience any plane lover will love. It will bring chills & tears to your eyes. Gather all your friends and have a great evening as you experience the love & laughter of many great aviators.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.

One Six Right

  • By Louise from League City TX USA on Monday, November 12, 2007
  • Pros: Will keep purchasing this DVD for pilots who haven't seen it yet.....It is great
  • Cons: Are you kidding??? Cons, there are no cons...unless it's about the airport that was ripped apart at night......
  • Review: I am not a pilot, although I have been around pilots most of my adult life.... This DVD is great!!! I gave it recently to a pilot who has been flying for over thirty years and needed something to get his mind off of his wife's serious illness... He called me the next day bragging on the professional way the CD was created for PILOTS....and enjoyment he had watching this DVD....I am giving this to friends for Christmas.... Thanks again for selling and having this DVD and CD available.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Neil from Westlake Village, CA on Saturday, October 07, 2006
  • Review: This is one HELL of a movie experience! Whether you are into flying or not, watching this is truly enjoyable. It still chokes me up, everytime! The visuals, the music, the total experience, worth every dollar spent and a whole lot more!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Christoph from South Africa on Wednesday, January 10, 2007
  • Review: Heart gripping stuff. Well made video touching all the right buttons
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very good job

  • By Charles from Arlington Heights IL USA on Tuesday, August 25, 2009
  • Review: This was professionally produced which accounts for the good job. Non pilots should see this.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Our son loved it!

  • By Elise G from Punta Gorda FL USA on Tuesday, January 06, 2009
  • Pros: Very well done!
  • Cons: Non
  • Review: We purchased this DVD for our son, who is an amateur pilot, for Christmas. He loved it and has asked for the sequel for his birthday.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.

Thank you so much for the quick and correct service

  • By Marilee from Las Vegas, NV on Monday, May 04, 2009
  • Review: I wanted to thank you so much for the quick and correct service on the onesixright and left dvds and music and the Hot Wings planes I ordered last week and just now received. I will be recommending your website to others. I only wish my Father (who passed away last year) could have seen this dvd and enjoyed these planes with my grandson. My dad served in the Air Force and the Navy, was an airframe and power plant mechanic, was the head mechanic for the world record (fueling from the ground to the plane) endurance flight here in Las Vegas (Hacienda plane is hanging in the Las Vegas terminal), built and flew model airplanes since he was young, kept his pilot's license his whole life, and truly loved planes and aviation. Thank you again. In memory of Irving C. Kuenzi....
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Awesome photography!!!!!

  • By Perry from North Hills CA USA on Wednesday, June 25, 2008
  • Pros: photography
  • Cons: only 73 minutes long.
  • Review: Since I live under the pattern of VNY, that made the movie very personal. Especially when I have seen the planes that were in the movie ie:P-51. The movie really brought out the love of flying through the great interviews as well as the great photography.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By andy from miami beach, fl on Wednesday, February 07, 2007
  • Pros: excellent videography
  • Cons: Didn't want it to end
  • Review: The film is really moving. Simply put... it explains why we all fly! Whether its a Piper Cub or a Cessna Citation X, we all started at the same place and throughout your piloting life, you will have the same emotion as is portrayed on this film. My non-pilot wife thought it was very well done and enjoyed the amazing detail. Support this young filmmaker and buy this movie..you won't be disappointed.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.

A Dignified Celebration of Aviation

  • By Robert Dyess from Denver, CO on Thursday, August 02, 2007
  • Pros: A quality movie that can be enjoyed by all ages. Beautiful airplane images.
  • Cons: None.
  • Review: This is a well thought out work that traces the history of the Van Nuys Airport beginning with its first days. The General Aviation industry is also explored in an easy to understand presentation that will be enjoyed by aviation enthusiasts and non enthusiasts alike. And if you have a friend or loved one who is fascinated by flying this is a DVD that they must have.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By A Customer from panama city fl on Tuesday, April 10, 2007
  • Pros:
  • Cons: not long enough
  • Review: excellent. highly recommend
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Phil Corman from Paso Robles on Friday, February 23, 2007
  • Pros: Great flying videos
  • Cons: A little ominous about the future of aviation at times
  • Review: A must for every pilot's video collection. Stunning photography, outstanding music.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By brwells from Haverhill, MA on Monday, March 05, 2007
  • Review: Absolutely, stunningly, beautiful DVD. Everytime I watch it it chokes me up. Any one who enjoys GA would (should) gratly enjoy this DVD.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.

I love it!!!

  • By A Customer from Austin TX USA on Monday, October 08, 2007
  • Review: Highly recommended to all those who love flying... It is an ultimate experience.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.

I watched it several times

  • By Richard from Pine Bush NY USA on Thursday, January 24, 2008
  • Review: Professionally made video. Lot of interesting people sharing their stories. Great aviation shots. Very interesting history.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.

Not your average documentary

  • By Sally Crossfield Farley from Louisville, Ky on Wednesday, August 01, 2007
  • Pros: It's almost like listening to Dad talk. Fabulous.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I originally purchased this to become familiar with Brian Terwilliger because he was at an event I was attending this July. I am not a pilot myself but a daugther of a pilot. I have been surrounded by planes and pilots all my life and I know that certain "something" you see in a pilots eyes when they talk about all things aviation. This documentary does that to even us non pilots. I've watched it several times now.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By A Customer from Honolulu, HI on Tuesday, February 06, 2007
  • Review: I learned to fly both fixed-wing and rotor-wing aircraft at Van Nuys Airport. I also worked at Lockheed Missile and Space Division during the flight test for the Pregnant Guppy. This movie was very special to me, but may not be to others who didn't have my personal history with 16R.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Warren McIlvoy from Phoenix, AZ on Monday, February 12, 2007
  • Pros: Good enough to watch it over and over again.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: The documentary of the Van Nuys airport was everything that I had expected. It has a great musical score and outstanding aerial footage. I especially loved the interviews of the folks who new the airport in its infancy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By stephen from canonsburg PA USA on Thursday, January 24, 2008
  • Pros: Beautiful photography and extremely interesting!!!
  • Cons: None that I could see.
  • Review: This is a tremendous dvd which belongs in everyone's collection whether they are an active pilot or not. The quality of the production is stunning and the result is well worth the purchase.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.

Amazing

  • By bobbym1966 from forest hill MD USA on Friday, February 15, 2008
  • Pros: Phenomenal photography, music was a perfect fit.
  • Cons: Could not get enough of it, waiting for sequel.
  • Review: Had a feeling this would be quite a production.It greatly surpassed my expectations.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Flint MI USA on Friday, May 23, 2008
  • Review: 16 Right is very informative. It'll be a documentary I'll watch over and over again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Fantastic Documentary!!!

  • By Morgan from Dayton TX USA on Monday, June 01, 2009
  • Review: This movie is great!!! Lots of wonderful history and the camera work is second to none!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By George from Riverside, California on Sunday, February 18, 2007
  • Pros: Everything
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Beautiful videos, excellent music (buy the CD), breathtaking views, wonderful history, just an amazing story!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Ed Brown from Bakersfield, CA on Thursday, February 08, 2007
  • Pros: Wonderfully informative and emotionally uplifting.
  • Cons: Producer should do a series of Airport around the country.
  • Review: I loved this video. My reasons for being a pilot are all summed up in the stories on "One Six Right". My Father meant the world to me but I didn't realize it until he was gone. He never got to complete his pilot training back in the 1953. I can only hope to honor his memory in some small way by becoming a pilot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By A Customer from California on Sunday, January 14, 2007
  • Pros: good photography
  • Cons:
  • Review: I bought it for my husband for Christmas and he loved it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

Product was what I expected

  • By Michael from virginia beach VA USA on Wednesday, January 09, 2008
  • Review: Very happy to give as a gift. The service and speed of received product reflects my 5 star rating
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By A Customer from SoCal on Tuesday, March 13, 2007
  • Review: Growing up in the San Fernando Valley, and flying out of VNY many times as a kid with my dad, this brought back great memories, and was an excellent historical account of this great airport. So good, that once I watched it on Discovery channel, I bought two copies. One for me, and one for Dad.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Arnold S. Vasquez from Rancho Cucamonga, CA. on Tuesday, July 24, 2007
  • Pros: everytning, scenery, flight, airplanes and air strip, more that I expected.
  • Cons: More planes, old wwII
  • Review: Vary informative, it went beyond my expectations. I loved it, it was a history lesson of its own a lot of information that I was not aware of it gave me the feeling of being there when I saw the the planes in flight. The scenery was great, every thing fit great within the history of the airport and the planning that went into it. It was really a dream come true.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

One Six Right Is Right On

  • By Bert Taylor - T207 Pilot from Eagle Mountain, Utah on Monday, July 30, 2007
  • Pros: You'll want to watch it again and again!
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Depiction of Van Nuys Airport is a DVD to savor. It is the kind of airport everyone would like to fly out of. And if you're over-the-hill like I am, it is an old pilots dream just to go and watch. It is a dying breed. If scheduled carriers were flying into Van Nuys, the little guys would be shooed away. Movie producers have captured the spirit and aura of Van Nuys. Thank you producers for giving an old pilot immortal words, "Runway 16 Right, Cleared to land."
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By A340 Captain from Blaine, WA on Tuesday, May 01, 2007
  • Review: Great
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

One of the Finest Aviation DVD's ever

  • By A Customer from Blaine WA on Saturday, May 05, 2007
  • Pros: Excellent documentary, professional in every way and beautifully filmed.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Excellent documentary, professional in every way and beautifully filmed.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

Fantastic photography of aircraft in flight. Interesting history and human interest of pilots.

  • By A Customer on Monday, May 21, 2007
  • Pros: Great photography
  • Cons: Interviews were a little chopped up!
  • Review: Have watched it at least 5 times!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

A "must have" for aviation enthusiasts.

  • By robtor1 from Roanoke, VA on Sunday, July 08, 2007
  • Pros: Storytelling and cinematography.
  • Cons: The music tends to become repetitive.
  • Review: I love this DVD! The stories and background that you get about Van Nuys, and aviation in general, is fascinating. The icing on the cake are the visuals. The flying sequences are breathtaking. I will watch it over and over again with butterflies in my stomach and tears in my eyes every time. Beautiful film about "The Romance of Flying"!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By KT from Lincoln, NE on Wednesday, February 14, 2007
  • Pros: Great products and fast shipping
  • Cons: NONE
  • Review: Because my brother-in-law is an aviation enthusiast, this was the perfect gift for him. His wife told us that the first time he watched the DVD, he cried. And the calendar has a place of prominence in their home. The shipping was FAST and exactly accurate! Thanks for a great website and customer service!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A Wonderful Bit of Mine and the Valley's History

  • By Michael from Las Vegas NV USA on Saturday, May 31, 2008
  • Pros: Great History, Great flying scenes. Wonderful interviews.
  • Cons: Not long enough! Should be offered in Blu-Ray
  • Review: I moved to the San Fernando Valley in 1961 at the ripe old age of 12. Soon I was riding my bicycle to Van Nuys airport as often as possible to watch the planes take off, taxi and land. I would also sneak into a FBO on the east side of the airport that had an old decomposing P-63. I would sit in it all day long and work the controls (the canopy, instruments and control surfaces were long gone). Van Nuys was much less formal then and I could watch the C-97's take off and land to my heart's content. In 1963, my brother got his private pilot license from Skyways (at the northwest corner)and my very first flight in an airplane was off of 16R with him to Catalina. Even though I learned to fly at Santa Monica 10 years later and I now live in Las Vegas, Van Nuys is still my home field and "16R" captures all of my early aviation memories. I loved the history and the interviews with all the people who felt the same way I do about Van Nuys. I just wish the video was longer.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By A Customer from Boise, Idaho on Wednesday, January 31, 2007
  • Review: I purchased One Six Right for my husband for Christmas (he's a private / recreational pilot) and he absolutely loved it. He said he would recommend it to any one interested in flying.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Sam from Cleveland, MS on Thursday, February 22, 2007
  • Pros: Spectacular shots, great musical score, heartfelt commentary
  • Cons: Wish it were longer
  • Review: This product is everything it was billed to be by the aviation alphabet groups.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By wknick from Rosamond, California on Tuesday, February 13, 2007
  • Pros: Promotes the importance of general aviation by sheer entertainment for everyone
  • Cons: NONE
  • Review: Great movie with marvelous aerial photography. Entertaining and enjoyable movie that shows the joys of flying and also that the local airport is more than just a place for pilots and airplanes but also a place for fledgling students too! (I'm a flight instructor)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Wingman-Hang Glider Pilot-1000 hours in GA from Kansas City (Roeland Park) on Thursday, February 08, 2007
  • Pros: The dynamic footage with CA and the mountains as the backdrop. The diversity of the airplanes. The stories from the pilots themselves, well except for Lorenzo Lamas!
  • Cons: Needed more natural sound. Many pilots will recognise a plane by the sound of it's engine!
  • Review: The visuals are just what you would expect, breathtaking, clear, colorful and exciting. There were shots that were from angles only another pilot would get flying in and around the other aircraft. I would like to make Van Nuys Airport a destination now in future travels just to hang out and see what happens, who lands and what they fly. The historical perspective for me, parallels my own journey into the past and the introduction that I was given as a child to the world of aviation.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Knocks Top Gun out of the top spot.

  • By WingSmoker from KPMP on Saturday, January 27, 2007
  • Pros: Music, videography and interviews are superb.
  • Cons: Can't think of any.
  • Review: Top gun used to be my favorite aviation diversion. Now 16 Right not only provides great flying sequences the message is important for every pilot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Great Aviation History

  • By Fred from San Diego on Tuesday, June 03, 2008
  • Pros: Well worth the money.
  • Cons: Gentleman wearing the USAF Colonel's uniform has his eagles on backwards. The eagles must always point forward..not backwards.
  • Review: I really enjoyed this film...I've watched it several times. The photography and music are well done.I was especially impressed with the paint jobs on all the aircraft in the film. I would like to see this film on the "Blue Ray" format.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Emotional and Educational

  • By Noel Robbins from Austin TX USA on Monday, May 19, 2008
  • Pros: Everyting about it.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Fantastic music and photography! I had tears in my eyes before the opening credits ended. Beautiful in every way. What an inspiring film. I watch it when I need a lift (no pun intended).
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.