TOP

Reviews for Max Trescott's Garmin G1000 Glass Cockpit Handbook

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Really good reference and review book

  • By Marshall from Johns Island SC USA on Tuesday, June 27, 2017
  • Pros: Index can give you quick reference in flight
  • Cons: None so far
  • Review: Met or exceeded expectations
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

An excellent reference

  • By Russell C. from El Paso TX USA on Tuesday, December 06, 2016
  • Pros: Very readable and detailed
  • Cons: Detailed--this is not a quick-reference book.
  • Review: This book is very readable and appears to be complete in its coverage. I am pleased that I bought it. It was recommended by a friend and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to learn more about the G1000.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best G1000 Review

  • By Brian from Hilton Head SC USA on Wednesday, October 21, 2015
  • Pros: Intuitive and logical
  • Cons: Not enough color pictures
  • Review: All of the aviation navigators come with a user manual. Those manuals are clearly not written by pilots. After reading the G 1000 manual twice, it was only after reading Max's book that I got a real feel as a pilot in how to use the G1000. Max breaks down the logic into pilot user ftiendly terms.
    It is like having an instructor sit next to you while learning.
    This is an excellent resource for a complicated avionics suite. Very well done!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great learning tool and reference source

  • By Tom from Lansing MI USA on Friday, February 19, 2016
  • Pros: Max's writing style, like he is talking to the reader, not a dry textbook of facts.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Well organized, easy to read without seeming like a textbook. I feel like Max is my personal teacher.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

G1000 Explained Superbly

  • By Larry from Florida on Wednesday, November 29, 2017
  • Pros: Complete and detailed
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This book of using the Garmin G1000 glass panel system was presented and explained in complete detail. This edition was very current and added all the latest features of the G1000 system.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Francois from Nacogdoches TX USA on Tuesday, February 14, 2012
  • Review: This is a great book for the garmin 1000.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Roger from Chandler, AZ on Thursday, December 13, 2012
  • Review: This is one of the best and easiest ways to learn the G1000. It is organized and written in a real world approach that makes it very easy to comprehend. I use it as a reference guide to look up things that I may have not used for a while. It will turn you into a g1000 genius.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Resource

  • By Peter Cohan from Belmont CA USA on Thursday, August 21, 2014
  • Review: Excellent both for learning and improving effectiveness. For those new to glass cockpits, the Chapter "Flying a Trip Behind the G1000" is particularly useful.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By JAMES from TAYLOR MI USA on Thursday, May 26, 2011
  • Review: For a non glass pilot, very informative. Good job Max.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Outstanding

  • By A Customer from Battle Ground WA USA on Friday, September 03, 2010
  • Pros: Easy to read and understand, and easy to use as a reference book to look up answers that arise concerning the G-1000 equipment.
  • Cons:
  • Review: This book has been more helpful to me than any of the other training materials I have used.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

very good book

  • By Michael J. from Oakland CA USA on Monday, October 11, 2010
  • Review: A very good book but what you really need to go with this book is the PC G1000 Trainer from Garmin then when you read the book many things become very obvious, they are less obvious just by reading about it. I don't think buying a CD course makes any sense - expensive and doesn't give you hands-on experience.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Reference Material

  • By Joe from Lee NH USA on Monday, January 24, 2011
  • Pros: Well organized and easy to read.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Exactly what I was looking for.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Most concise, throrough G1000 course yet

  • By A.B from Scottsdale AZ USA on Monday, June 01, 2009
  • Pros: Everything
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I first bought the manual on recommendation of a CFI. Although I already had a G1000 course by King Schools, the Max Trescott manual is outstanding, very detailed and well put together. The CD Rom is a work of art, very interactive and easy to learn. A fantastic product by a CFI who truly knows how to teach and put a lot of time into designing a reference product. Thank you Max!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By J. Michael from Sonoma CA USA on Wednesday, July 01, 2009
  • Review: Excellent!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very good book

  • By A Customer from Hockessin DE USA on Saturday, September 05, 2009
  • Pros: Very useful book, easy to read
  • Cons: Updates to the G1000 are covered in a later chapter
  • Review: This book was recommended reading for the transition class I was taking for the G1000. I was skeptical of it, but it proved to be most useful and easy to read. Made the transition go very smoothly
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Ben from La Mesa CA USA on Tuesday, September 22, 2009
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Scott from West Hollywood CA USA on Tuesday, April 20, 2010
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The Bestq

  • By Alan from Los Angeles CA USA on Wednesday, January 07, 2009
  • Review: Max's books on the operations of the G1000 is the best I have ever seen. Compared to the Garmin manual it is much easier to find what you are looking for thanks to a great and complete index.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I will buy again

  • By steve from aurora OH USA on Tuesday, February 09, 2010
  • Pros: pics and examples
  • Cons: more specific with aircraft such as the Mustang
  • Review:

    Very, very good.
    Steve Cirino
    Rocky Mountain Sport Jets/VLJ Providers

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect companion in and out of the glass cockpit

  • By Sumner from Quincy MA USA on Monday, February 08, 2010
  • Review: All positives, no negatives, not even neutrals....
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Book - Well worth the $

  • By Sam from Schererville IN USA on Tuesday, December 30, 2008
  • Pros: Easy to understand, lots of great information!
  • Cons: NONE
  • Review: Excellent, concise book on the operation of a Garmin G1000 avionics suite. In my opinion, no one does a better job of explaining the basic and advanced operations along with the nuances of the G1000 than Max Trescott. In fact, on another point, I had a technical issue with a Max Trescott G1000 training CD and he personally responded via email within hours with a resolution. BUY THIS BOOK AND BUY THE MAX TRESCOTT G1000 VFR/IFR CDROM Course! You won't be sorry.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Barry from Anderson SC USA on Wednesday, December 03, 2008
  • Review: Excellent!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

An essential for the transition to glass.

  • By Jason from South Dakota on Saturday, January 20, 2007
  • Pros: Easy to understand and well laid out.
  • Cons: Refears to his simulator software often, which I do not have. Separate purchase required.
  • Review: I've been flying the local FBO's G1000 equipped 182 for about a month now. I bought Max's book before taking the airplane on a 16 hour cross country from South Dakota over the mountains to Phoenix and back. It was an invaluable resource and I'll never fly without it in my flight bag. So much easier and to the point than even the G1000 owner's manual.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

An excellent value!!

  • By Marc Doss from Olive Branch, MS (OLV) on Thursday, June 07, 2007
  • Pros: Informative. Graphic. Simple. Detailed.
  • Cons: Two topics were not covered in enough detail - accessing METARs and XM Satellite radio.
  • Review: This is an excellent product! Easy to read. Lots of illustrations. Lots of details. Presented in a easy-to-follow format.

    A must-have for anyone flying or thinking of flying a G-1000 airplane!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Tremendous teaching on G1000

  • By Martin Sacks from Baltimore, MD on Monday, July 02, 2007
  • Pros: real world examples, practical teaching, easy to read
  • Cons: book is somewhat generic since diff MFRs implement the G1000 differently
  • Review: Very impressed with this book. I had read hundreds of pages of the books that Garmin produced and, don't get me wrong, they're good.

    The difference is that Mr. Trescott's book gives real world scenarios of how the various functions are used so it is easier to apply and then retain the info.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

awesome program

  • By A Customer from texas on Friday, September 14, 2007
  • Review: This product met my every expectation.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

just what the Doctor prescribed to me

  • By robert from Coral Gables FL USA on Friday, November 02, 2007
  • Pros: takes you step by step thru the whole system.
  • Cons: lack of some sqiz to check your knowledge
  • Review: covered all what I felt I wanted to know. Very important the Autopilot operation (Altitude setting) which is confusing unless you learned how to do it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Glad I bought this book

  • By Mason from Raleigh NC USA on Saturday, January 12, 2008
  • Pros: clear prose. Covers most real life uses for G1000
  • Cons: Not possible to have complete info on all updates of the system
  • Review: Very good plane language, logical, explanation of G1000 functions. Max does a good job of walking through how to access and the function of information available in the G1000
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.