TOP

Reviews for Max Trescott's Garmin G1000 Glass Cockpit Handbook

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Really good reference and review book

  • By Marshall from Johns Island SC USA on Tuesday, June 27, 2017
  • Pros: Index can give you quick reference in flight
  • Cons: None so far
  • Review: Met or exceeded expectations
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

An excellent reference

  • By Russell C. from El Paso TX USA on Tuesday, December 06, 2016
  • Pros: Very readable and detailed
  • Cons: Detailed--this is not a quick-reference book.
  • Review: This book is very readable and appears to be complete in its coverage. I am pleased that I bought it. It was recommended by a friend and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to learn more about the G1000.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best G1000 Review

  • By Brian from Hilton Head SC USA on Wednesday, October 21, 2015
  • Pros: Intuitive and logical
  • Cons: Not enough color pictures
  • Review: All of the aviation navigators come with a user manual. Those manuals are clearly not written by pilots. After reading the G 1000 manual twice, it was only after reading Max's book that I got a real feel as a pilot in how to use the G1000. Max breaks down the logic into pilot user ftiendly terms.
    It is like having an instructor sit next to you while learning.
    This is an excellent resource for a complicated avionics suite. Very well done!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great learning tool and reference source

  • By Tom from Lansing MI USA on Friday, February 19, 2016
  • Pros: Max's writing style, like he is talking to the reader, not a dry textbook of facts.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Well organized, easy to read without seeming like a textbook. I feel like Max is my personal teacher.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

G1000 Explained Superbly

  • By Larry from Florida on Wednesday, November 29, 2017
  • Pros: Complete and detailed
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This book of using the Garmin G1000 glass panel system was presented and explained in complete detail. This edition was very current and added all the latest features of the G1000 system.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Resource

  • By Peter Cohan from Belmont CA USA on Thursday, August 21, 2014
  • Review: Excellent both for learning and improving effectiveness. For those new to glass cockpits, the Chapter "Flying a Trip Behind the G1000" is particularly useful.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Francois from Nacogdoches TX USA on Tuesday, February 14, 2012
  • Review: This is a great book for the garmin 1000.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Roger from Chandler, AZ on Thursday, December 13, 2012
  • Review: This is one of the best and easiest ways to learn the G1000. It is organized and written in a real world approach that makes it very easy to comprehend. I use it as a reference guide to look up things that I may have not used for a while. It will turn you into a g1000 genius.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By JAMES from TAYLOR MI USA on Thursday, May 26, 2011
  • Review: For a non glass pilot, very informative. Good job Max.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Outstanding

  • By A Customer from Battle Ground WA USA on Friday, September 03, 2010
  • Pros: Easy to read and understand, and easy to use as a reference book to look up answers that arise concerning the G-1000 equipment.
  • Cons:
  • Review: This book has been more helpful to me than any of the other training materials I have used.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

very good book

  • By Michael J. from Oakland CA USA on Monday, October 11, 2010
  • Review: A very good book but what you really need to go with this book is the PC G1000 Trainer from Garmin then when you read the book many things become very obvious, they are less obvious just by reading about it. I don't think buying a CD course makes any sense - expensive and doesn't give you hands-on experience.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Reference Material

  • By Joe from Lee NH USA on Monday, January 24, 2011
  • Pros: Well organized and easy to read.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Exactly what I was looking for.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Most concise, throrough G1000 course yet

  • By A.B from Scottsdale AZ USA on Monday, June 01, 2009
  • Pros: Everything
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I first bought the manual on recommendation of a CFI. Although I already had a G1000 course by King Schools, the Max Trescott manual is outstanding, very detailed and well put together. The CD Rom is a work of art, very interactive and easy to learn. A fantastic product by a CFI who truly knows how to teach and put a lot of time into designing a reference product. Thank you Max!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By J. Michael from Sonoma CA USA on Wednesday, July 01, 2009
  • Review: Excellent!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very good book

  • By A Customer from Hockessin DE USA on Saturday, September 05, 2009
  • Pros: Very useful book, easy to read
  • Cons: Updates to the G1000 are covered in a later chapter
  • Review: This book was recommended reading for the transition class I was taking for the G1000. I was skeptical of it, but it proved to be most useful and easy to read. Made the transition go very smoothly
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Ben from La Mesa CA USA on Tuesday, September 22, 2009
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Scott from West Hollywood CA USA on Tuesday, April 20, 2010
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The Bestq

  • By Alan from Los Angeles CA USA on Wednesday, January 07, 2009
  • Review: Max's books on the operations of the G1000 is the best I have ever seen. Compared to the Garmin manual it is much easier to find what you are looking for thanks to a great and complete index.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect companion in and out of the glass cockpit

  • By Sumner from Quincy MA USA on Monday, February 08, 2010
  • Review: All positives, no negatives, not even neutrals....
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I will buy again

  • By steve from aurora OH USA on Tuesday, February 09, 2010
  • Pros: pics and examples
  • Cons: more specific with aircraft such as the Mustang
  • Review:

    Very, very good.
    Steve Cirino
    Rocky Mountain Sport Jets/VLJ Providers

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Glad I bought this book

  • By Mason from Raleigh NC USA on Saturday, January 12, 2008
  • Pros: clear prose. Covers most real life uses for G1000
  • Cons: Not possible to have complete info on all updates of the system
  • Review: Very good plane language, logical, explanation of G1000 functions. Max does a good job of walking through how to access and the function of information available in the G1000
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

just what the Doctor prescribed to me

  • By robert from Coral Gables FL USA on Friday, November 02, 2007
  • Pros: takes you step by step thru the whole system.
  • Cons: lack of some sqiz to check your knowledge
  • Review: covered all what I felt I wanted to know. Very important the Autopilot operation (Altitude setting) which is confusing unless you learned how to do it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Barry from Anderson SC USA on Wednesday, December 03, 2008
  • Review: Excellent!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

An essential for the transition to glass.

  • By Jason from South Dakota on Saturday, January 20, 2007
  • Pros: Easy to understand and well laid out.
  • Cons: Refears to his simulator software often, which I do not have. Separate purchase required.
  • Review: I've been flying the local FBO's G1000 equipped 182 for about a month now. I bought Max's book before taking the airplane on a 16 hour cross country from South Dakota over the mountains to Phoenix and back. It was an invaluable resource and I'll never fly without it in my flight bag. So much easier and to the point than even the G1000 owner's manual.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

An excellent value!!

  • By Marc Doss from Olive Branch, MS (OLV) on Thursday, June 07, 2007
  • Pros: Informative. Graphic. Simple. Detailed.
  • Cons: Two topics were not covered in enough detail - accessing METARs and XM Satellite radio.
  • Review: This is an excellent product! Easy to read. Lots of illustrations. Lots of details. Presented in a easy-to-follow format.

    A must-have for anyone flying or thinking of flying a G-1000 airplane!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Tremendous teaching on G1000

  • By Martin Sacks from Baltimore, MD on Monday, July 02, 2007
  • Pros: real world examples, practical teaching, easy to read
  • Cons: book is somewhat generic since diff MFRs implement the G1000 differently
  • Review: Very impressed with this book. I had read hundreds of pages of the books that Garmin produced and, don't get me wrong, they're good.

    The difference is that Mr. Trescott's book gives real world scenarios of how the various functions are used so it is easier to apply and then retain the info.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

awesome program

  • By A Customer from texas on Friday, September 14, 2007
  • Review: This product met my every expectation.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Book - Well worth the $

  • By Sam from Schererville IN USA on Tuesday, December 30, 2008
  • Pros: Easy to understand, lots of great information!
  • Cons: NONE
  • Review: Excellent, concise book on the operation of a Garmin G1000 avionics suite. In my opinion, no one does a better job of explaining the basic and advanced operations along with the nuances of the G1000 than Max Trescott. In fact, on another point, I had a technical issue with a Max Trescott G1000 training CD and he personally responded via email within hours with a resolution. BUY THIS BOOK AND BUY THE MAX TRESCOTT G1000 VFR/IFR CDROM Course! You won't be sorry.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Right on the money

  • By Phil from Portland OR USA on Monday, March 10, 2014
  • Pros: Easy reading
  • Cons:
  • Review: I purchased Glass Cockpit BEFORE the Diamond DA42(NG) X-Plane simulator was available. Glass Cockpit makes mention of the DA42.

    The Glass Cockpit discussion of the PFD is really helpful. And the presentation of the MFD is way over my head but there when I want it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

G1000 training at its best

  • By John from Naperville IL USA on Tuesday, August 26, 2014
  • Pros: up-to-date
  • Cons:
  • Review: Max Trescott is a great author, and pilot.  This book goes beyond an introduction to the G1000.  Well worth a read.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Time For A Re-write

  • By napleskid from Louisville KY USA on Monday, July 21, 2014
  • Pros: Comprehensive information for the G1000 panel
  • Cons: New books need to written to accommodate the growing differences in the various G1000 platforms.
  • Review: A ton of great information in this book. Just not that easy to find it. I purchased especially for the Cirrus Perspective platform. While reading a chapter, your mind is filled with specific information only to be told at the end of the chapter to disregard most everything you just read and refer to another chapter for the Perspective panel. I really believe that separate publications should now be devoted to the specific G1000 platforms. I really learned a lot from this book, so it still earns 4 stars. However during the evolution of the G1000 platforms, this book has not evolved to support them. As new software is developed, you shouldn't simply throw it in as an appendix at the end of the book.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very Good Intro to Glass Cockpit

  • By Mark from New York NY USA on Wednesday, January 08, 2014
  • Pros: Very readable.
  • Cons:
  • Review: After 30 years, I am considering a return to flying. I knew a lot had changed including GPS navigation and the digitalization of the cockpit. I found this book to be an excellent presentation of the glass cockpit. I did not read it cover to cover as I only wanted to learn the general idea of what was out there. Additionally, I did not feel that "learning" this book was necessary unless I was actively using glass cockpit instrumentation.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very thorough

  • By William from Key Largo FL USA on Monday, April 02, 2012
  • Pros: Detailed
  • Cons: Detailed
  • Review: Almost too detailed. Deals thoroughly and is good for reference.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

a good reference text

  • By A Customer from Santa Fe NM USA on Monday, March 25, 2013
  • Review: A good study and reference text and works nicely with the CD course if you want to look something up quickly. Quite comprehensive
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By William from Nashville TN USA on Tuesday, May 17, 2016
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great instructional book

  • By Randel from Grants Pass OR USA on Thursday, April 26, 2012
  • Pros: Detailed
  • Cons: Difficult at times to find specific information
  • Review: Book was thorough and gave good step by step help
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A good place to start

  • By thomas from asheville NC USA on Tuesday, August 03, 2010
  • Pros: comprehensive; reasonable price;
  • Cons: looking for Beech specific application; probably not available except with pilot handbook
  • Review: A very comprehensive book that can be used for initial training and for later review. The simulated flight puts much of the book learning to a practical application. More of that would be welcome. Would like to see more examples of mistakes pilots make with the G1000. Perhaps a chapter or essentials or core knowledge if that is possible.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By JERRY from Dallas TX USA on Tuesday, November 10, 2009
  • Pros: Basic
  • Cons: Was very basic. Had limited advanced info.
  • Review: It is a good basic book. I was looking for an advanced step by step flying guide with explanations.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Larose from Saint-Marc de Figuery QC Canada on Friday, February 02, 2018
  • Review: I would buy this product again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

More then I had hope for

  • By Ray from Raleih, NC on Monday, September 17, 2007
  • Pros: Simple, easy reading, Gets you the basics quickly.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I mainly purchased this product to help me understand Microsoft’s Flight Simulation FSX Deluxe edition. I am not a real pilot YET, soon I will be. I have over 500 hours on MS FSX, so I wanted to take it to the next level and try to be as realistic as possible. So I was very happy and very surprised that reading this book (for real pilots) that I actually knew most of the things he was talking about. If you have done any time using MS FSX and have flown with the Garmin 500, the first several chapters are redundant, so I skipped to the last couple of chapters and that's where I spent all my time. Learning the IFR approaches and understanding the go round procedures. Word of caution for us simmers, if you plan on doing some serious flying using the G1000 and this book or for that matter the Garmin 500, you will need to have the approach plates, it really makes a difference. Also, MS FSX doesn't reproduce the G1000 exactly, so some information he talks about you will not be able to do...bummer. I would suggest that for real world pilots that they purchase MS FSX deluxe or any other software for the G1000 and learn it before they take to the sky...i think it would make a world of difference.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Reads more like a textbook, not a quick reference handbook

  • By Mike from New York NY USA on Monday, October 19, 2009
  • Pros: Lot of information
  • Cons: Not laid out for quick reference
  • Review: This book is meant to be read start to finish, and is not laid out for glancing at information quickly. It contains a lot of information on the system, however many sections had footnotes advising to check the appendix for updates, rather than updating the original text.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

a good G1000 general reference

  • By barry from Normal IL USA on Saturday, December 12, 2009
  • Pros: good walk-through of G1000 operation
  • Cons: see above
  • Review: I had read and enjoyed the previous edition and purchased this one to better understand the newer Garmin features like WAAS. The book does a good job with them while mostly retaining the style of the earlier edition. It seemed, though, that Trescott was stumbling in trying to cover all the differences with all the different G1000 installations, giving this edition a more broken-up feel when reading it. The "newer features" chapter towards the end of the book left me wishing it had been incorporated into the earlier chapters.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good book overall

  • By vic from NV USA on Thursday, January 07, 2010
  • Review: A very good overall book. I think chapters were wasted on specific aircraft, of which the one I FLY was not mentioned :( kind of difficult to navigate around to find what you want to do, but that may be the operator...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good read, very informative

  • By Dana from Kingston NH USA on Monday, February 15, 2010
  • Review: Pilots are visual kind of people, thought the mix of figures and charts, photos of the actual screen shots and buttons needing to be pushed made it a good learning tool. I am transitioning between KAP140 to the integrated Auto Pilot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Recommend for instrument student pilots

  • By Bart from Federal Way WA USA on Friday, December 28, 2007
  • Review: You will benefit greatly if you are currently pursuing a FAA instrument rating or an older GA instrument pilot wanting to learn more about the Garmin G1000.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Book on G-100-book is everything I thought It would be! With next day air it meets my expectations! Thank you Mr.Ronald Trumble

  • By Ronald W Trumble from Hilo HI USA on Thursday, December 27, 2007
  • Pros: Easy to read and understand
  • Cons: I really do not have any.
  • Review: The new Garmin Glass Cockpit Handbook is well writen easy to read and understand. Very good manual to own.Thank you "MyPilotStore". Mr Ronald W Trumble in Hawaii
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good content, layout is ok

  • By David from TX USA on Monday, July 14, 2008
  • Pros: Content is very good
  • Cons: Updates have been added to an appendix rather than in-line text
  • Review: I have found this book to be informative on how to use the G1000. However, you really need to use this book in conjunction with a hands-on tool, like a G1000 simulator, to make the best use of it. The thing I dislike the most about this book is that the updates are in the back of the book in an appendix and some of the updates referenced are a little difficult to find.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Excellent Reference!

  • By Arsenio Delgado Sr. from Tucson, AZ on Monday, October 13, 2008
  • Pros: Easy to follow; excellent technical material.
  • Cons: B&W photos..
  • Review: Good content; Excellent as a study guide before an intro flight in a G1000-equipped a/c. Easy reading, real-life scenarios...I will highly recommend this book to any pilot flying a G1000.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Easy read for G1000 intro

  • By A Customer from Texas on Friday, September 12, 2008
  • Pros: Easy read
  • Cons: Nothing more than overview
  • Review: Good book to walk you through the G1000 overview. Certainly not a replacement for more detailed training, but good to give you a flavor of the system. Worth the buy for sure.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A Great Introduction to the G1000

  • By Larry from Tempe AZ USA on Monday, April 20, 2009
  • Pros: The screen shots describing the steps inthe process are very helpful.
  • Cons: Could use additional graphic examples.
  • Review: I am very experienced at operating FMS equipped, transport category aircraft. Those being B737, 757, and the Airbus A319/320/ and 321. I approached this manual as Differences Training and it served me well. Of note, I am stunned that I can now have greater capabilities in a C-172 than that of my current A320. I am now considering attending a factory certified training program. This book is great for preparing for school. You will be more than "One up" on your classmates.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not step by step instruction

  • By Joseph from West Islip NY USA on Thursday, October 16, 2014
  • Review: He tells you about it...not how to do it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good but a lot to absorb

  • By A Customer from Waxhaw NC USA on Tuesday, October 02, 2012
  • Pros: A lot of great information if you have time to sort it out
  • Cons: Information overload at times
  • Review: I liked the manual however I wanted a very simplified guide to just get started. Everything that I tried with the G1000 was not approached from an instructional standpoint, e.g. Simple, intermediate, complex. My instructor was unable to break it down either. This book helps but could have been organized better.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Necessarily Dry & Repetitive

  • By NORMAN from New York NY USA on Sunday, May 18, 2014
  • Pros: Repetitive, Clear & Concise
  • Cons: Non-interactive; Poor retention of material
  • Review: Too dry & boring to be a stand-alone product. It must be used together with an interactive program.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

It's o.k.

  • By A Customer from USA on Friday, June 01, 2007
  • Review: Really good reference. It would be "great" if it had more pictures of softkeys, and where, as well as a photo of which one to push for whatever information you need. The CD is probably better but relatively expensive. When you actually fly the G-1000 you will probably be overwhelmed at first...but like anything else....practice practice practice.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Didnt really add much to what I got from the Garmin manual

  • By Gerald from Minnetrista MN USA on Tuesday, December 01, 2009
  • Review: Besides a couple of shortcuts, I didn't get much added expertise from the book. Reading the G1000 manual is more effective in my opinion. I thought a prose, first person discussion would shorten the learning curve a bit...it didnt.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.