TOP

Reviews for Travel John Portable Toilet 18 Pack

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Great product. But, practice at home, first.

  • By A Customer from Vacaville CA USA on Wednesday, April 17, 2013
  • Pros: Portable, does not leak, easy to use while seated in car
  • Cons: May require "practice" before needed use,
  • Review: Purchased for partner who has frequency issues. Restrooms are not always available immediately on car trips. Made traveling on highways a little easier and worried a lot less about unanticipated traffic jams. It would have made the first use easier if she had at least "practiced" at home before going on the roadtrip! Multiple uses for one pack if urine volume isn't high. Pack a small lap blanket if user wants privacy on congested freeways during daylight. A gallon ziplock bag to secure used pack, wipes,etc. is helpful.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

What happened to the Green Ones???

  • By Tyler from Irvine CA USA on Friday, December 18, 2009
  • Pros: Absorbs fluids quickly and is fairly well contained.
  • Cons: No Ziplock Zipper and has Visible Label (Not very Discrete)
  • Review: The Travel John Portable Toilet is an awesome product. I use it frequently as I am a Field Service Technician in which a lot of times I find myself in a location where either I don't have a bathroom available, or the customer is a snob who thinks that their better than everyone else and my kind shouldn't have the courtesy to use their restroom. Anyways, The product is simple to use and easy to deploy. The only thing I HATE about this particular model (Being the white bags) is that there is no ziplock zipper on the top of the bag. Also, it's not very discrete with label on the package. The Travel John does come in a Green Bag model which has no label on the outside (to be discrete) and has a heavy duty ziplock type of fastener to keep it leak proof. This is especially handy for people like myself who have to store the used product in my service vehicle until later disposed of. Just my thoughts on the product. Thanks!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I use the product each time we go camping

  • By Robyne from Malvern East VIC Australia on Monday, April 25, 2011
  • Pros: very convenient when travelling outback Australia and needing to go to the toilet at night.
  • Cons: Could have an outer bag to seal it
  • Review: The product is good, there is no smell.  However, the cost of purchasing on-line is prohibitive when ordering from Australia.  The cost of the postage was the same or more than the cost of the product. I purchased 2 packs of 18.  Do you have any suggestions how the postage to Australia could be more cost effective? If so, please let me know because I do like using the product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Product

  • By Randy Brown from Cleveland GA USA on Wednesday, July 29, 2009
  • Pros: Better than water jugs or gatorade bottles
  • Cons: They need to make cap's for opening.
  • Review: The potty bags are great for both men and women. My wife & I are OTR truck drivers and we use them all the time. The only complaint we have is that they don't have cap's/lid's. This is the issue everyone seems to have from reading other reviews, because it does take a little time for the solidification. What we did to help with this, is we got a 1 qt, milk container and cut it down so the bag would fit in it. We also put velcro on the bottom so it won't move or tip over. This has solved are problems.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A REAL help for the disabled!

  • By A Customer from Ellis KS USA on Tuesday, August 02, 2011
  • Review: My husband is confined to a wheelchair due to severe arthritis. We rarely travel but when we do it is often impossible to find a restroom where I can go in to assist him. These are very small and easy take in a pocket or purse. We can use it in the back of our van without anyone being the wiser and then wait to dispose of it privately and discreetly. There is no concern about it spilling or smelling as a regular urinal might.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Handy item to have

  • By A Customer from GARDEN GROVE CA USA on Wednesday, October 30, 2013
  • Pros: Small and compact.
  • Cons: Opening may be a bit small for women
  • Review: This is a handy item to have for any emergency,road trips or camping. I keep a few in my truck so I am prepared at all times. It can be used for men, women and children.  They come in a compact wrap that make it very discrete.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It's doable

  • By Gails Pilot Car from Montrose MO USA on Friday, July 24, 2009
  • Pros: Each package is small and compact. Don't have to worry about spilling out.
  • Cons: It's hard to use when you are having to also drive while using it.
  • Review: I use this product all the time since I'm a pilot car driver and never want to have to stop a truck so I can use the bathroom. I'm a women and for a women, it can be done but it sure isn't easy, but worth the effort.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not enough gel for 3 uses

  • By A Customer from whete ever the ttruck stops, usa on Monday, October 28, 2013
  • Pros: easy, easy to store, and no accidental spray.
  • Cons: doesn't hold as much ad I says, spills
  • Review:

    I use it on the truck when I can't wait for the rest area or next truck stop.  I also use it at night for those times when the urge hits.

    What the don't like is that it doesn't hold as much as it states. Threr uses and that's kind of pishing it. It leaks, or spills after the second use so I have to store it in s zip lock bag.

    If there is a way that a "trap flap" could be added that would be great.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great

  • By Joe from San Francisco CA USA on Monday, July 18, 2011
  • Pros: Great
  • Cons:
  • Review: Great
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Product

  • By A Customer from Cleveland TN USA on Thursday, June 05, 2008
  • Pros: Shape of funnel is perfect.
  • Cons: Can only use if female is standing.
  • Review: It works very well and is good for travel.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Must-Have Item for Burning Man

  • By Al from Portland, OR on Thursday, September 13, 2007
  • Pros: Neat, relatively odorless, compact, super-convenient.
  • Cons: They tend to leak when filled too full or near capacity. Seal them in Ziplocs to prevent funkiness.
  • Review: For nights when you simply don't want to leave your tent to go to the porta-potty, and you have some serious peeing to do, the Travel John is a must-have. I never burn without it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

These things work!

  • By Al from Portland OR USA on Thursday, October 02, 2008
  • Pros: They are really convenient, easy to store, and hold a lot of pee without getting stinky (at first)
  • Cons: 1. If you have a lot of pee in you, you may need two 2. They're biodegradable apparently, but is the plastic rim? 3. Don't fill them too full or they won't absorb anymore... best kept at say, 3/4 to 7/8 volume before discarding 4. Leave them around long enough and they'll smell really bad. If you are camping and unable to dispose of them easily, bring some big Zip-lock bags or trash bags to seal them in into.
  • Review: They really do what they say they'll do -- make your pee into a gelatinous substance...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works as advertised!

  • By A Customer from Bedford MA USA on Wednesday, October 20, 2010
  • Pros: Works as advertised, very clean
  • Cons: A little difficult to operate in flight, need a non busy time.
  • Review: Perfect for inflight use or around the hangar with no other alternative. No drips, runs or errors. Slightly cumbersome inflight, but as long as you have an auto pilot, not a problem.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not female friendly

  • By A Customer from Elmont NY USA on Sunday, October 18, 2015
  • Pros: Male friendly
  • Cons: Not female friendly
  • Review: Met my expectations for my husband but, not me. The female adapter doesn't work for me. There is always urine going outside the adapter. To undress in the car is tortuous. I now have a bed pan which is more comfortable for me. I empty the bedpan in the pilot John. That works for me. I always travel with water to rinse out the bed pan.Love it for my husband
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy again, definitely.

  • By from Baton Rouge LA USA on Monday, April 11, 2011
  • Pros: small and handy to carry. Doesn't leak.
  • Cons: too small
  • Review: Is a very handy item, especially in a nasty porta potty. Would be nice if it held more urine.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Miller from Wallingford PA USA on Wednesday, May 29, 2013
  • Review: It is a good emergency "kit" to keep when traveling.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just what I wanted/needed

  • By Chris a retired fighter pilot from Seattle WA USA on Thursday, March 27, 2014
  • Pros: Couldn't be better (for me).
  • Cons: Not quite "unisex" says my wife...
  • Review: OK, I'm a pilot and know about these things but now I am a retired old fart who likes to go camping, but hates getting out of that nice warm (relatively speaking) tent to have my usual 0200 pee. Travel john to the rescue!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good product, clean and easy to use

  • By Bill from Boise ID USA on Monday, June 09, 2014
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Could be improved with way to fold top over and clasp after use.
  • Review: Works as described. Good value for price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Michael from Brooklyn NY USA on Tuesday, March 18, 2014
  • Pros: Compact and easy to use.
  • Cons: The receptacle plastic could amd should be softer.
  • Review: I've used this product before and am a satisfied customer.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I wanted the one that are double bagged

  • By Mahoganyoe from Lynwood CA USA on Friday, October 31, 2008
  • Pros: Does what it does
  • Cons: Doesn't stand erect
  • Review: Good product but I would have preferred those that are double bagged which stands up.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

I will buy this product again and again

  • By The Jaywalker from Denver, CO on Sunday, September 16, 2007
  • Pros: Aways there when I got to go.
  • Cons: sometimes I got too much to hold
  • Review: I am a Truck Driver who uses this product alot. I uses it in areas that have no place to go and lots of security cameras all over. Sometimes you have to wait 3 to 5 hours to be unloaded. It's now no problem. Theb only problem that I do have is, sometimes I wait too long and I go over the limit. (My problem, not there.)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By sharon from hampton township NJ USA on Monday, October 19, 2009
  • Pros: didn't have to go to the first road stop - could pass one or two before i thought i should stop - traveling was fun for a change
  • Cons: the top part was a little to small and if it was a little bit wider i would fall in love with it
  • Review: It was great - it worked for just what I wanted it for. I would like a change in the top part - make it a little bit wider - but other than that it was still the best item for what I wanted it for. Thanks.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By A Customer from Milton, Fl. on Thursday, January 18, 2007
  • Pros: powdered gel was impressive.
  • Cons: Wish could slip inside slacks better.
  • Review: I am a female and use the urinal while on our boat.I found it to be very efficient.I was impresed with the gel and how quickly it formed to prevent a spill. I do wish I did not have to remove most of my pants to efficiently use your product. The fit was good. I would use this product again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

This allows us to sleep through the night !

  • By Dave from Simi Valley, Ca on Friday, March 16, 2007
  • Pros: Works great
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Our thirty-one year old son is confined to a wheel chair and lives at home with us. In the evening when we are asleep we can't help him walk to the bathroom. He uses your Travel John in in the trash can they go until the morning. It lets us , his parents, get the sleep we need. The price is a little steep, but how much are you willing to pay for sleep?
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

(Nearly) Perfect for the Man Who Refuses to Stop...

  • By Jon from Philadelphia, PA on Thursday, January 24, 2008
  • Pros: Small, easy to use.
  • Cons: Maybe not always useful for grown women.
  • Review: No, I don't mean I use these myself. That's what empty Snapple bottles are for, right? These are for my seven year old daughter, so I'm not stopping to land a half hour after we depart on a three hour trip. My wife tried a couple times to use this product, but found it rather difficult to relax enough, given the circumstances. Get a few and leave them in the plane -- I joke, but there are times the WX en route does not lend towards safely making a comfort stop.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

travel john

  • By Gloria J. from Ashland City TN USA on Tuesday, July 08, 2008
  • Pros: It felt secure to know you had a place to go when in dior need. For instance, if stuck on the highway because of an accident, delays, etc.
  • Cons: Need bigger bags to hold more, and another bag to put it into to be more discreet.
  • Review: As a traveling truck driver for women, you can't use it while the other driver is in motion. He hits the brakes, and you're spilled, so-to-speak. The bag should be bigger for larger amounts. As a truck driver, you could fill a bedpan fast. Most of the time, there's not enough rest areas within distance. It came in real handy when unloading the truck. You have to be stopped to make it work. However, I rolled with the punches while winding down the hills. When you gotta go, you gotta go!!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

when needed - very helpful

  • By A Customer from Capon Bridge WV USA on Wednesday, June 25, 2008
  • Pros: doesn't spill
  • Cons:
  • Review: It's not exactly easy to use for a single pilot, whjile trying to fly a plane, but better than anything else I have ever tried
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.