TOP

Reviews for Van Heusen Aviator Shirt - Men's TALL SS

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

pilot shirt review

  • By A Customer from Chandler AZ USA on Tuesday, May 10, 2011
  • Pros: keeps its press well with light starch
  • Cons: huge at the waist
  • Review: Shirt quality is good. If you are tall and 40 to 50 pounds overweight, this shirt is for you! If you are just tall, plan on a trip to the tailor to remove enough material to make a queensize pillow case. Handy if your company puts you up at the best 2 star hotel on an overnight. With light starch the shirt keeps its press for a solid 10hr day.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Tall is the way to go

  • By A Customer from Madison WI USA on Thursday, September 04, 2014
  • Pros: Excellent fit for tall guys.
  • Cons: Thin fabric.
  • Review: I', 6' 2" and weigh 183 pounds -- I basically have a runner/swimmer build. I saw comments suggesting that future buyers consider buying the tall version of this shirt and so I did. It was a great call. The shirts stayed tucked in all day and looked good. My only complaint is that the fabric does not have a thick/robust feel. I'm a quality conscious buyer and I would have gladly paid more for a thicker fabric. The service from mypilotstore was excellent: fast, easy, and accurate.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Well made and durable shirt

  • By Roger Sander from Staten Island, NY on Wednesday, May 09, 2007
  • Pros: Strong construction. Can put pins on and off without damaging the material.
  • Cons: No taper at the waist.
  • Review: I work on the Staten Island Ferry. I need a white shirt with epelets. I've tried many brands, and like your aviator shirt the best so far. The only problem is the aviator shirt does not taper. When I buy the shirt with my neck and sleeve size, it is too wide at my waist were it bunches up.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good shirt - collars not impressive.

  • By Mark from Venetia PA USA on Wednesday, January 04, 2012
  • Pros: Priced right, fit well.
  • Cons: Collars could be more durable.
  • Review: Have been buying/wearing these shirts for many years - since I gave-up on the Arrow shirt. Shirt overall wears very well, fits well, collars are the weak link as usual. Collar material becomes discolored near tie area and next to neck line, and won't clean-up well after about a year or so of wear. Rest of shirt is fine but need to be replaced because collars look shabby. Arrow shirts are worse...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Shirt!

  • By Karl E. from Hillsboro OR USA on Monday, June 25, 2012
  • Pros: good value!
  • Cons: Material not as thick as the Commander.
  • Review: It did meet my expectations! It is a good value for the price. But, I do like the Commander by Van Heusen better. But, You pay a little more.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I will purchase this again.

  • By Nick from Naples FL USA on Monday, November 12, 2012
  • Pros: The brand name itself denotes a quality shirt, and over all it is.
  • Cons: Just refer to the one issue above in the review.
  • Review: I like the fact that it stayed tucked in. Many shirts are cut short even for the tall size. The collar stayed crisp even after several washings.

    What I don't like are the button down straps for the shoulder insignias. They are too long and should fit closer to the body of the shirt for a neater more compact look. You look a little sloppy when the jacket is off.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Meredith from Panama City Beach FL USA on Friday, January 18, 2013
  • Review: Needs a pen slit in left breast pocket.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Patrick - Chaplain & Commandant Marine Corps League from Kerrville TX USA on Tuesday, May 07, 2013
  • Pros: Good fit & price
  • Cons: Material too thin
  • Review: Good value and fit for the money, but the material is a bit too thin. I would prefer a heavier cloth when I make my next purchase.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Scott from Colbert WA USA on Monday, June 03, 2013
  • Pros: Fabric
  • Cons: No pleated pocket
  • Review: Nice fabric . I wish this shirt came with the pleated pocket and wing holes.
    [MyPilotStore Reply:  See our Pilot Shirt Comparison page to find the right shirt for your needs.  It sounds like you want the Pilot instead of the Aviator.]
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It fits nicely.

  • By GEORGES from Waterford MI USA on Monday, July 08, 2013
  • Pros: Nice size pockets.
  • Cons: Lapels and pen slot unrestricted
  • Review: Nice overall shirt, a few things might make it more attractive: lapels too long, left pocket should have a stitch down the pen slot to hold it in place.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

JUST WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR

  • By ROBERT from Marshall TX USA on Wednesday, April 23, 2014
  • Review: JUST RIGHT ,VERY GOOD QUALITY
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.