TOP

Reviews for Van Heusen Aviator Shirt - Men's TALL SS

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Terry-Airbus A330 Captain from Las Vegas NV USA on Tuesday, June 27, 2017
  • Pros: Fit, comfort, durability
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I have worn these shirts for many years. They wear well, comfortable, clean up well, never lose there professional look. Packs well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

One word: quality

  • By Glenn from Lowell AR USA on Monday, May 04, 2015
  • Pros: Comfortable and professional appearing.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: The shirt is well made with clean lines and very comfortable. Will I purchase more from this supplier? Yes.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great shirt

  • By Virginia from Savannah GA USA on Tuesday, August 01, 2017
  • Pros: fit just right
  • Cons: wish these were less expensive or were on sale now and then
  • Review: I get these for my son who is a ship captain. They fit well and last a long time.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By A Customer from Seattle, WA on Friday, July 20, 2007
  • Review: Excellent Product. It would be nice if size 19 - 19.5 were available in the Tall
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Excellent quality and fit, just right for a long

  • By Karl Kuether from Neenah, WI on Friday, August 03, 2007
  • Pros: Fit and tail length
  • Cons: found none at this time
  • Review: I prefer a long tail and this provided the length I like to keep it tucked in. Will buy others soon.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

very good shirt

  • By john from north fairfield ohio USA on Wednesday, December 12, 2007
  • Pros: fits well, nice bright white, also good price
  • Cons: made in Viet Nam
  • Review: Shirt, good color, slight tint helps bring out the white. fits well. just do not like that it is made in Viet Nan, even though is is a very good shirt.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Van Heusen Aviator Shirt - SS Tall

  • By A Customer from Bonita Springs FL USA on Monday, January 28, 2008
  • Pros: It would be good public relations to not have shipping charges when items are requested to be sent regular mail especially at holiday time.
  • Cons: My Pilot Store gives fast and reliable service.
  • Review: The Van Heusen shirts have long been a favorite of mine. The material is easy to care for and ironing required is very little to none.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this again

  • By Dale from Eagle WI USA on Thursday, May 20, 2010
  • Pros: The shirts are easy to launder and to iron
  • Cons: Nothung bad to say
  • Review: The Shirt works out Great. We put American Legion Patches on them so they can used by our Honor Guard. The Shirts come in a varied of sizes for regular and tall.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Donald from Lebanon OH USA on Tuesday, June 29, 2010
  • Pros: fits well and stays tucked in
  • Cons: none so far
  • Review: This shirt is very easy to take care of. I wash it and never need to iron. The fit is great and it stays tucked in.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just as advertised

  • By Charles from Chesapeake VA USA on Monday, May 16, 2011
  • Pros: Finally fits
  • Cons: none yet
  • Review: I have bought previous shirts from a national distributor but was told they didn't carry long styles. That's when I found MyPilotStore. Not only is it the exact shirt I was looking for the texture of it seems to be of a higher quality than what I was getting. Thanks MyPilotStore.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Pilot tested

  • By Buggs from Liberty TN USA on Monday, September 15, 2008
  • Pros: Material
  • Cons:
  • Review: Exactly what I was looking for. Fits great, Little or no ironing. Thanks, Mason
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great shirt for the money

  • By Karl from Neenah WI USA on Friday, August 13, 2010
  • Review: Good fit with generous length that stays tucked in all day
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best pilot shirts

  • By abdul muti from Saudi on Monday, August 23, 2010
  • Pros: Fabric, quality of tailoring. Sizes are very accurate
  • Cons: If your body is not a V shape don't go got the tapered one.
  • Review: Quality is great, fabric is great. I am using them in an airline where uniforms are provided by the company. Every time I ware a shirt somebody will come and admire them. The bottom line is those shirts are great for pilots.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great shirt for tall drivers

  • By Geneva from Harlem GA USA on Thursday, January 14, 2016
  • Pros: Tall shirt is great for taller drivers
  • Cons:
  • Review: The driver I purchased this shirt for says I made this day, was delighted to have his shirt stay in his pant, he needed a tall and this fit the bill.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy again

  • By Permeslicos from Bend OR USA on Tuesday, April 23, 2013
  • Pros: Good fit
  • Cons:
  • Review: I had the Regular size Aviator shirt which pulled out all the time (I have a long torso). So I bought the Tall.
    Same quality, better fit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great fit!

  • By A Customer from Savannah GA USA on Tuesday, April 23, 2013
  • Review: Our crew likes them because they stay in the pants when you bend over.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I will buy more

  • By Daniel from Atlanta GA USA on Friday, June 20, 2008
  • Pros: Good quality
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Great quality shirt. I am 6'4" and the tall size is plenty long for me. I have been puting the shirt in the dryer and is does not shrink.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I don't use anything else

  • By Bryon from Fernandina Beach FL USA on Wednesday, July 27, 2011
  • Pros: Price, quality, pocket style.
  • Cons:
  • Review: I have used van heiden aviator shorts for 10 of my 14 year career. The last long fit well and never disappoint.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

aviator shirt, TALL

  • By sean from WA USA on Tuesday, September 20, 2011
  • Pros: long enough for taller people
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I am 6'2 and shirts are usually to short, the Tall is the way to go.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Fits

  • By A Customer on Monday, August 06, 2012
  • Pros: Sturdy material
  • Cons:
  • Review: Needed tall.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By don from North Plains OR USA on Thursday, August 09, 2012
  • Review: Fits well ,nice shirts. I will purchase more of these as needed.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A high quality shirt with a great fit

  • By Mark from Columbia SC USA on Tuesday, May 28, 2013
  • Pros: Nice fit, super bright white, great styling, well made, 65% poly but looks like cotton, stain resistent, looks sharp.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I am 6'2" and weigh 210 LBS and athletic build. I have real trouble finding a shirt that fits properly and can be tucked in. This shirt fits perfectly. The white is so bright, that is is like looking at snow in the sun and can cause temporary blindness so don't look down at your shirt without sun glasses (kidding about blindness but the shirt is a brilliant white and stays white without bleaching).
    It is very wrinkle resistent and still looks good after a long day. Nice styling, very professional. So far it seems to be made very well. Two nice pockets on the front and Best of all the price is great.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent work shirt

  • By Paul from San Diego CA USA on Monday, July 08, 2013
  • Review: I am a professional boat Captain and need to dress up. I now have 3 of these shirts and love them. They are well made and washable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very good

  • By A Customer from Arlington VA USA on Monday, July 22, 2013
  • Pros: held it's "no -iron " quality.
  • Cons: could have been a bit bigger around waist.
  • Review: Love not ironing it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great shirt for boat captains too

  • By Paul from San Diego CA USA on Wednesday, March 05, 2014
  • Pros: Looks good; easy to care for
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This was my fourth purchase. If my diet keeps working, I hopefully will be buying a couple more smaller ones soon.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great shirt

  • By Steve from Port Orange FL USA on Tuesday, December 06, 2016
  • Pros: Great fit
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Great work shirt . Much better than the ones the company sells to its pilots
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good shirt

  • By Ronald from McMinnville OR USA on Monday, October 21, 2013
  • Review: Used it right out of the package. Good fit, good wrinkle resistance, comfortable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Jon from Moriches NY USA on Wednesday, December 02, 2015
  • Review: Exactly what i ordered. Nice pilot shirts for a great price and the were delivered on time as well. thanks
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Daryl from South Elgin IL USA on Wednesday, September 23, 2015
  • Pros: Good quality and price
  • Cons:
  • Review: Just what we wanted.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Tall is the way to go

  • By A Customer from Madison WI USA on Thursday, September 04, 2014
  • Pros: Excellent fit for tall guys.
  • Cons: Thin fabric.
  • Review: I', 6' 2" and weigh 183 pounds -- I basically have a runner/swimmer build. I saw comments suggesting that future buyers consider buying the tall version of this shirt and so I did. It was a great call. The shirts stayed tucked in all day and looked good. My only complaint is that the fabric does not have a thick/robust feel. I'm a quality conscious buyer and I would have gladly paid more for a thicker fabric. The service from mypilotstore was excellent: fast, easy, and accurate.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

pilot shirt review

  • By A Customer from Chandler AZ USA on Tuesday, May 10, 2011
  • Pros: keeps its press well with light starch
  • Cons: huge at the waist
  • Review: Shirt quality is good. If you are tall and 40 to 50 pounds overweight, this shirt is for you! If you are just tall, plan on a trip to the tailor to remove enough material to make a queensize pillow case. Handy if your company puts you up at the best 2 star hotel on an overnight. With light starch the shirt keeps its press for a solid 10hr day.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Well made and durable shirt

  • By Roger Sander from Staten Island, NY on Wednesday, May 09, 2007
  • Pros: Strong construction. Can put pins on and off without damaging the material.
  • Cons: No taper at the waist.
  • Review: I work on the Staten Island Ferry. I need a white shirt with epelets. I've tried many brands, and like your aviator shirt the best so far. The only problem is the aviator shirt does not taper. When I buy the shirt with my neck and sleeve size, it is too wide at my waist were it bunches up.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It fits nicely.

  • By GEORGES from Waterford MI USA on Monday, July 08, 2013
  • Pros: Nice size pockets.
  • Cons: Lapels and pen slot unrestricted
  • Review: Nice overall shirt, a few things might make it more attractive: lapels too long, left pocket should have a stitch down the pen slot to hold it in place.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good shirt - collars not impressive.

  • By Mark from Venetia PA USA on Wednesday, January 04, 2012
  • Pros: Priced right, fit well.
  • Cons: Collars could be more durable.
  • Review: Have been buying/wearing these shirts for many years - since I gave-up on the Arrow shirt. Shirt overall wears very well, fits well, collars are the weak link as usual. Collar material becomes discolored near tie area and next to neck line, and won't clean-up well after about a year or so of wear. Rest of shirt is fine but need to be replaced because collars look shabby. Arrow shirts are worse...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I will purchase this again.

  • By Nick from Naples FL USA on Monday, November 12, 2012
  • Pros: The brand name itself denotes a quality shirt, and over all it is.
  • Cons: Just refer to the one issue above in the review.
  • Review: I like the fact that it stayed tucked in. Many shirts are cut short even for the tall size. The collar stayed crisp even after several washings.

    What I don't like are the button down straps for the shoulder insignias. They are too long and should fit closer to the body of the shirt for a neater more compact look. You look a little sloppy when the jacket is off.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Meredith from Panama City Beach FL USA on Friday, January 18, 2013
  • Review: Needs a pen slit in left breast pocket.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Patrick - Chaplain & Commandant Marine Corps League from Kerrville TX USA on Tuesday, May 07, 2013
  • Pros: Good fit & price
  • Cons: Material too thin
  • Review: Good value and fit for the money, but the material is a bit too thin. I would prefer a heavier cloth when I make my next purchase.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Scott from Colbert WA USA on Monday, June 03, 2013
  • Pros: Fabric
  • Cons: No pleated pocket
  • Review: Nice fabric . I wish this shirt came with the pleated pocket and wing holes.
    [MyPilotStore Reply:  See our Pilot Shirt Comparison page to find the right shirt for your needs.  It sounds like you want the Pilot instead of the Aviator.]
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Shirt!

  • By Karl E. from Hillsboro OR USA on Monday, June 25, 2012
  • Pros: good value!
  • Cons: Material not as thick as the Commander.
  • Review: It did meet my expectations! It is a good value for the price. But, I do like the Commander by Van Heusen better. But, You pay a little more.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

JUST WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR

  • By ROBERT from Marshall TX USA on Wednesday, April 23, 2014
  • Review: JUST RIGHT ,VERY GOOD QUALITY
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good shirt but could be two inches longer

  • By Richard from Gig Harbor WA USA on Monday, September 11, 2017
  • Pros: Good material. Button sewed on well.
  • Cons: Tall size not long enough
  • Review: After washing and drying the shirt while on the road it shrinks just enough to be too short, even in the 'Tall' size.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Does the job, but could be better

  • By Frank from Rockford IL USA on Monday, October 13, 2014
  • Pros: Fits as expected, holds a press
  • Cons: Too much synthetic in the fabric blend
  • Review: The shirt fits as expected, as a tall it is long enough in the torso so that it doesn't come untucked. I wish the materials blend had more cotton in it. It's 65% polyester/35% cotton. A 60/40 blend would be more comfortable and breathe better. The shirt holds a press just fine.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Neck could be bigger and shirtail 1-2" longer

  • By Richard from Gig Harbor WA USA on Tuesday, September 13, 2016
  • Pros: Stain resistant
  • Cons: See review
  • Review: Shirt is well made but could be a few inches taller...a neck size of 19" would be nice because shirt shrinks like all cotton material after a few washes.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

3 out of 4 were good!

  • By Benjamin from Thousand Oaks CA USA on Wednesday, September 07, 2011
  • Pros: 3 out of 4 shirts were fine.
  • Cons: N/A
  • Review: One of the pockets of one of the shirts was literally hanging on by a thread.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Looks to girlie with the sleeve cuff

  • By John from Warrenton MO USA on Tuesday, June 25, 2013
  • Review:
    I like the shirts as far as the fit, but, I don't like the cuff as it looks to girlie.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Meh

  • By A Customer from Rockwall TX USA on Thursday, March 27, 2014
  • Pros: Wrinkle free
  • Cons: Needs longer shirt tail. If you're over 6'3", I'd go with another shirt.
  • Review: Average
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Poor quality

  • By A Customer from Boulder City NV USA on Monday, October 05, 2009
  • Review: I had two shirts come apart at the seems, after 1st wash. Otherwise good shirt I guess holds a pressed line well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Quality has slipped

  • By A Customer from Mokena IL USA on Sunday, November 20, 2011
  • Pros: Fit well
  • Cons: Quality of construction is not what used to be.
  • Review: I always believed in Van Heusen pilot shirts as among the best, however a problem I have noticed lately is that the buttons do not seem to be secured very well. It seems a button will frequently pop off, especially the epaulet buttons, sometimes after the first or second washing. The workmanship seems to be a little more chincy than in the past.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Fabric too thin

  • By Christian from Gig Harbor WA USA on Tuesday, November 29, 2011
  • Pros: look, fit
  • Cons: thin fabric
  • Review: Fits fine, looks good, fabric is too thin. They don't seem as bulletproof as they used to be.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not Consistent

  • By Randall from Simpsonville SC USA on Wednesday, August 19, 2015
  • Review: I bought ten shirts and have worn 4 of them. The last one I wore didn't have a hole in the pocket flap for my pen and glasses. I haven't checked the rest of them, but if they don't have the hole, I will be returning the incorrect ones.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

VanHeusen's gone cheap

  • By A Customer from PA USA on Tuesday, September 07, 2010
  • Pros: Hey, at least you can still put a jacket over it.
  • Cons: Thin fabric (even thinner than tropical-weight), poor sewing.
  • Review: I expected VanHeusen to be much better based on past experiences with their products. The fabric's definitely thinner -- much thinner! Looks like it's seen a decade of being run through a washing machine. The epaulet loops are also just a hair longer than they need to be, so your shoulder boards float a little. If you enjoy looking like a slacker, this is the shirt for you. If you'd rather be respectable, look elsewhere.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Also too short and too narrow at the shoulders

  • By Ron from Fort Lauderdale FL USA on Saturday, February 05, 2011
  • Pros: fair quality, especially when considering the price
  • Cons: Too short if you're 6'8", too narrow at the shoulders
  • Review: From a manufacturing standpoint there's little to complain about, but from a size point of view they're awful. I'm 6'8", these shirts are far too short and too narrow at the shoulders.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

would not buy again

  • By darryl from mesa AZ USA on Friday, April 13, 2012
  • Pros: none
  • Cons: thin material, needs ironing twice after carried in suitcase
  • Review: much thinner material than in past years.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This shirt would have been right at home at a Dollar General Store

  • By Captain Era Helicopters from Port Fourchon, LA on Monday, October 10, 2011
  • Review: The quality was poor. The top edge of the cuffs on the sleeves are badly sewn and even after pressing they flip down when they should be up. There are little threads hanging all over it each time it's washed.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.