TOP

Reviews for Jeppesen Aviation Weather Textbook 4th Edition

Sort By:
Filter By:

Best Aviation Weather Textbook out there!

  • By James H. Henderson from Kearney Missouri on Monday, June 11, 2007
  • Pros: Excellent discription of basic weather hazards that affect flight
  • Cons: some of the FAA and NWS material is dated due to organizational changes
  • Review: This book met and exceeded my expectations. It is concise and up to date and gives the basic information necessary for a pilot to understand how weather will impact his/her flight. Some of the NWS and FAA material was dated due to organizational changes but the basic weather information is right on!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Book!

  • By A Customer from Avon IN USA on Tuesday, September 29, 2009
  • Pros: Concise and well written
  • Cons:
  • Review: The textbook was very well thought out. It is challenging material to read, but does give great illustrations when needed. The book is in color and chapter sizes are not too big!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this book again

  • By Paul from Seymour IN USA on Saturday, October 15, 2016
  • Pros: Like the illustrations
  • Cons:
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Book very informative.

  • By Noel from Homestead FL USA on Friday, October 10, 2014
  • Pros: very detailed yet easy to understand.
  • Cons: none
  • Review: It totally met my expectations.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just what I was looking for!

  • By Ralph from Longmont CO USA on Wednesday, March 18, 2015
  • Review: Great
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Richard from Gilbert AZ USA on Tuesday, September 05, 2017
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Bradley from Lynn MA USA on Monday, July 13, 2015
  • Review: Got it for a class and love how it is organized. Great book.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By A Customer on Thursday, January 25, 2007
  • Review: Well worth the money. Clear, concise descriptions. Information presented in a logical and organized manner. High quality paper; typestyle and page layout easy on the eyes and conducive to study. Good quality binding. Well-written, not pedantic. Learn weather easily!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Continues to be the best textbook in it's niche

  • By James Henderson from Kearney MO USA on Thursday, April 02, 2009
  • Pros: Concise and up to date with current material
  • Cons: Basic understanding of meteorological principles required
  • Review: I continue to use this textbook as prepatory material for training foreign meteorologists coming into the U.S. for training. Very comprehensive and up to date and forms a great basis to build on. I recommend it for all meteorologists wanting to know specifically about aeronautical meteorology.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Thr most complete weather aviation book I've ever seen.

  • By Rodrigo from Rio de Janeiro/RJ, Brazil on Monday, June 23, 2014
  • Pros: Content
  • Cons: Paper quality
  • Review: Very clear and easy to understand. The only thing I think it could be improved is the quality of the paper. Looks like a regular printer paper.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Gerald from Salt Lake City UT USA on Monday, February 24, 2014
  • Review: Excellent  -- retired airline pilot
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect for my meterology class

  • By A Customer from Scottsdale AZ USA on Wednesday, October 15, 2014
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

the book continues to be the definitive book for aviation meteorology

  • By Jim Henderson from Kearney MO USA on Monday, September 24, 2007
  • Pros: A great stand alone guide to aviation meteorology forecasting
  • Cons: didn't find any
  • Review: I was certainly happy to see that Pete has updated his third addtion with the latest information from the FAA and NWS. I have used all three editions as training guides for foreign aviation meteorologists coming to the United States for addtional training. All of them have told me it was an excellent introduction to aviation forecasting in the United States and added solid information to help them in their training and their work at home.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

The best gets better!

  • By Terry Jr from Gales Ferry CT USA on Friday, April 25, 2008
  • Pros: Well illustrated; quality photos; numerous charts & graphs; very descriptive
  • Cons: Cost (but let's be realistic, text books are expensive); more high altitude meteorology for ATP would be nice
  • Review: I hope to be a life-long CFE, and I've owned a Peter Lester "Aviation Weather" text since before I was an instructor. I've now upgraded to the latest edition, and more than one of my students have purchased it having paged through my copy. This is an informative, well illustrated, easily read and understood introductory text to the complex topic of flying weather and weather services & products available to pilots. It is an essential supplement (and easily a replacement to) the FAA "Aviation Weather" advisory circular (AC-006). Make no mistake, this is a weather theory book, not a weather flying book. A must though for anyone pursuing an instrument rating or beyond!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

The leading textbook on Aviation Weather

  • By James from Kearney MO USA on Friday, February 29, 2008
  • Pros: Up to date and comprehensive
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I have used all of the editions in my training work and have had nothing but positive feedback from the students. Dr. Lester continues to update the material and one can find no better reference to the field of aviation weather hazards.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Continues to be the best in its' class

  • By James Henderson from Kearney MO USA on Saturday, April 03, 2010
  • Pros:
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I continue to use this book and the lab manual in my work in training foreign meteorological students. It helps them with their English speaking and brings us all to a common level. It is as modern as the day it was written.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great weather book

  • By Kathryn from Pylesville MD USA on Thursday, March 12, 2009
  • Review: It met my expectations. Great aviation weather text book. Haven't gone through the whole book yet so I don't have to much to say about it!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.