TOP

ASA Flight Timer

  • 51 Customer Reviews

Reviews for ASA Flight Timer

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

The best times I have ever used. Well worth the investment.

  • By Phil Peters from Wickham, Fareham Hampshire UK. United Kingdom on Friday, December 07, 2012
  • Review: Easy to use.
    Clearly legible.
    One dissadvantage is that the batteries keep on falling out of their socket, given a gentle tap. A bit of duck tape did the trick!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very useful

  • By Jon from Phoenix AZ USA on Thursday, April 16, 2015
  • Pros: Easy to read, big buttons, and a useful clip
  • Cons: price is a bit steep.
  • Review: My instructor had one that he let me borrow for a few flights and I knew I needed on of my own. I used it though my instrument rating and will keep it on my knee board probably forever. The Numbers are easy to read. It not only has standard counting timers, but timers that count down, up, separate timers for approaches, local time in standard military, and UTC.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Glorified Kitchen Timer

  • By Conor from Albany NY USA on Thursday, February 11, 2010
  • Pros: strong backlight, loud chime, simple interface
  • Cons: extraneous note function
  • Review: I use it for timing commonly-made bake items -- up to twelve of them, but only one at a time. It's also excellent at keeping track of when the dryer will finish. There are two concurrent timers: your approach timer, and the fuel timer. There's also a chronograph that can run concurrently with the two timers. The clock will display local time in 12 or 24-hour format, and also displays Zulu (calculated as an offset from local time). There's a little "note" area where you can store something the length of a squawk code, but the interface for this timer doesn't lend itself to high-speed entry of anything but round numbers, so it's not particularly useful if you're trying to copy a clearance.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By wayne from glen carbon IL USA on Thursday, April 01, 2010
  • Review: Pilot friendly for IFR flight.  Does everything I need and more.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Totally happy that I purchased this

  • By Mark from Wausau, WI - USA on Tuesday, August 10, 2010
  • Pros: Easy to use, many functions, counts up and down, good alarm functions.
  • Cons: None that I have found
  • Review: There are some that will look at this and say that much $$$? If you want an excellent timer that is easy to use and performs many functions look past the couple of extra bucks you'll spend on this and know that if you use a timer often, this is the one to have. You will also find that with all of the functions packed into this device, you may use it more. It is easy to set up, the alarm(s) work well and the controls are user friendly.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Fits the bill

  • By A Customer on Friday, September 14, 2007
  • Pros: Easy one handed operation (for helos), large readable display, clip/velcro mounting options OK for small kneepad
  • Cons:
  • Review: Although I have not used this in anger yet, I think it will be a good addition to the flight gear.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Buy this timeer

  • By Patrick Ryan from Brentwood TN USA on Tuesday, October 23, 2007
  • Pros: Made for flying
  • Cons: Expensive
  • Review: Great timer. Look no further. Spend the extra few bucks and puchase a timer MADE for flying, not baking pies.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

My husband loved it!

  • By A Customer from Vero Beach FL USA on Monday, January 14, 2008
  • Review: My husband is in flight school and has been using a kitchen timer, while looking for a smaller one. I got him this for Christmas. He loves it. I did have him read the reviews so he'd be aware the pros and cons, but he's had no complaints.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

I Like this product and would highly recomend it for VFR and IFR

  • By Larry from Lindale TX USA on Wednesday, February 20, 2008
  • Pros: Easy to use , easy to read.
  • Cons:
  • Review: I like all the functions that run at the same time. Put the wind direction/speed in the note pad. Put 1 min. increments in the approach timer for holding patterns and timed approaches.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Pretty cool

  • By David from Sarver PA USA on Saturday, April 19, 2008
  • Pros: Size. Easy to use.
  • Cons: Rotating clip should lock in place 360 degrees
  • Review: I like it. Easy to use. Lights up and beeps. Rotating clip. I turn the clip 180 degrees and clip it onto my lap belt.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This flight timer rocks

  • By Bruce from Surprise AZ USA on Wednesday, March 09, 2016
  • Pros: Highly visible, not a distraction to use
  • Cons: Lower the height of the knob. It sticks out in the flight bag and prevents preset
  • Review: Met expectations, easy to use, highly visible, does what it says and more.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The Bee's Knee's!

  • By Nicholas from Sherwood AR USA on Wednesday, April 15, 2015
  • Review: Great add on to the cockpit! I use it most for fuel management and fuel transfer from aux tank. But also made instrument flying a lot easier to keep up with times on approaches and holding. love it
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Simple to use & effective

  • By Mike from El Dorado Hills CA USA on Tuesday, March 08, 2011
  • Pros: Simple, Easy to Use, Easy to read, Effective
  • Cons: Can be difficult to find an effective mount
  • Review: This product is very easy to use and has a lot of helpful features including UTC/Local Time, Fuel Timer, various approach timers and Count down/up. Very useful for timing holds and setting up approach times in advance. I use this with a yoke mount and everything stays right in my scan. I would recommend this to anyone flying in IMC or doing IFR training.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent tool

  • By Greg from Batesville AR USA on Monday, March 14, 2016
  • Pros: Easy to set up, easy to use, big display which makes it easy to read
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This is an excellent product. Easy to set up and use. An essential in every instrument rated pilot's plane.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

precise and accurate

  • By Vivian from Pflugerville texas USA on Monday, June 01, 2009
  • Pros: none
  • Cons: easy to use. user friendly
  • Review: You can make a on timed approaches with the help of ASA flight timer.  Timed approach with little work to do.   Not so complicated.  User friendly.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.