TOP

Jeppesen Private Pilot Manual

  • 48 Customer Reviews

Reviews for Jeppesen Private Pilot Manual

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Very good ground school reference text

  • By K. from Auburn WA USA on Thursday, February 21, 2013
  • Pros: Good visuals and text highlights. Good, straight-forward explanations
  • Cons: Some charts are a little small, making it challenging to get accurate calculations in exercises
  • Review: Currently using the Private Pilot Manual for my ground school curriculum. I find most of the visuals used in the explanations very helpful and like that they use a variety of photos and diagrams. I also appreciate the highlights used in the text where salient information is emphasized. Some of the graphs (especially multi-step, i.e., take-off and landing distances) are a little small in scale which make getting accurate results a little challenging. Overall, a very good text. I highly recommended it as a good basic reference for VFR flying fundamentals even if you're not planning on taking a formal private pilot ground school.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great book

  • By Nicole from NJ on Monday, September 29, 2014
  • Pros: Very informative, good pictures and understandable.
  • Cons:
  • Review: This book is great if you're learning about your private pilot license. The only thing I don't like is how it does not go with Gleim faa knowledge test that my professor uses to learn off of. However the Gleim book doesn't hibe pictures and gives vague information and this book clears it up so much. Great book, will definetly get the instrument book too
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I am using this along with 2 others, they ea. compliment very well 😃

  • By Kurt from Arcadia OH USA on Thursday, March 03, 2016
  • Review: I like the extra tidbits & stories, also the FAA statements as you go along.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Book

  • By Steven on Monday, January 12, 2009
  • Pros: Great definitions and diagrams
  • Cons:
  • Review: I bought the book because I'm working on becoming a commercial helicopter pilot. The book has good explanations of terms and often times it has a diagram that follows. The book is more geared toward fixed wing aircraft, but a lot of it applies to helicopters as well. So it was a good book, but there were some parts I didn't read, because they dealt more with fixed wing.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Great Manual - Needs More Detail

  • By Phil "RittSea" Ritts from Lehigh Valley, PA on Monday, June 25, 2007
  • Pros: Great illustrations. Organized very well.
  • Cons: Summarizes all required suject areas without covering any one in great detail.
  • Review: This is a fantastic manual. The illustrations really help teach complex concepts in an easy to understand format. It's essential reading for new pilots like me. However, don't expect to read this manual and walk away with all of the knowledge that you need for your private pilot's license. Flying requires an enormous amount of technical and regulatory learning. This manual sufficiently summarizes all of the subject areas you need to know for private pilot training. But it should be treated as just the first (perhaps the most important) of many manuals you should study for your private pilot license.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Top flite training material.

  • By Dean from Zion IL USA on Wednesday, March 02, 2011
  • Pros: Hardcover textbook, instant reference material.
  • Cons: No cd.
  • Review: When coupled with the syllabus and flight training, this will equip a person with all the necessary knowledge to pass the airmans written exam.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Too much unrelated examples with too many pictures.

  • By Anthony Garcia, Ph.D. from Hearst Museum of Anthropology, Berkeley, California 94720 on Thursday, August 02, 2007
  • Pros: organization
  • Cons: too many examples to make a point.
  • Review: Enjoyed the text book overall. However, the text could have accomplished each topics with much less over-use of diagrams. The books seems to target junior high school audience. I have the Jeppesen Private Pilot Manual from 1977 and although could have used more, its format was much more desirable for a more mature audience. Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed all the colors and photos you used. However, black and white descriptions of action gets the example across with more bang. The book was much too big to lug around. I might try your CD version and test drive it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Excellent resource

  • By Dave from Bel Air MD USA on Thursday, October 25, 2007
  • Pros: Great explainations of technical and practical points.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Provides a great reference for bringing together topics learned from my instructor and other materials.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Necessary Reading

  • By Benjamin from Salt Lake City UT USA on Monday, March 01, 2010
  • Pros: Well organised.
  • Cons: Not enough rotorcraft materiel
  • Review: The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars, is due to my training being specific to rotary wing. The format of this book is concise and informative.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very descriptive

  • By Laurie from Waukesha WI USA on Thursday, December 04, 2008
  • Pros: Easy format to follow
  • Cons:
  • Review: The Jeppesen texts always provide very detailed diagrams to help explain concepts.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great book

  • By A Customer on Thursday, August 06, 2009
  • Pros: Ease of reading
  • Cons:
  • Review: This book was actually used as the reference for learning the material prior to taking the FAA exam. Was concise and explained the material thoroughly.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good book

  • By Thomas (Kope) from Thief River Falls MN USA on Friday, August 28, 2009
  • Pros: concise
  • Cons:
  • Review: It appears informative and useful, I still haven't thoroughly reviewed it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.