TOP

David Clark Pro-X2 ANR Headset

  • 57 Customer Reviews

Reviews for David Clark Pro-X2 ANR Headset

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent

  • By A Customer from Dallas, Tx on Friday, December 11, 2015
  • Pros: Good quality Tx/Rx, good ANC, good bluetooth functionality and sound quality, decent battery life.
  • Cons: Bulky control module, lights too bright.
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Used in 737 cockpit. Great headset overall. ANC blocks out the cockpit noise well enough. Night and day difference for combating fatigue and saving my hearing. That being said this is not a Bose, so have your expectations in the right place, but its also not as big and bulky as a Bose and isn't nearly as expensive for the same comm features. I don't have a loud radio voice and the mic noise cancellation works great when transmitting.
    The blue tooth has great sound quality if you play music off your phone, auto cutout and gradual replay on music for radio and ICS comms is really smooth and a game changer for long hauls, on the jumpseat of course...
    Battery life is about 3-4 trips before needing to swap out.
    In the 73, you'll need a D-ring or something to hang the control/battery module out of the way. The lights on this control module are VERY bright and I ended up blacking them out with tape.
    I would absolutely buy again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 18 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very comfortable, quality built

  • By Craig from Johnston IA USA on Thursday, October 03, 2013
  • Pros: Excellent comfort, feels light, good not great ANR, quality construction
  • Cons: Not as good ANR as Bose
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Great comfort, good ANR, easy to fit, works well with sunglasses.
    Love the auto shut off feature, saves batteries.
    Minimum number of cords, easy to use controls
    Folds up into a very compact space.
    Flexible boom on mic holds position better than Bose.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 14 Other people found this review helpful.

David Clark breaks out

  • By Mark from Concord NH on Sunday, October 13, 2013
  • Pros: Price, construction, ANR, compact size, made in the USA
  • Cons:
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset]

    This is not your typical David Clark headset. They've always made durable, reasonably priced headsets, but not always the most comfortable. This headset is typical DC when it comes to durability and price, but way more comfortable than anything they've made in the past. The ANR works great, once you find the sweet spot. I fly a Hawker 700, which has lots of wind noise in the cockpit. I had a Sennheiser HMEC-46, and that didn't have enough noise reduction, but the Pro-X works perfectly. It should be perfect for such aircraft as the PC-12, King Air, Citation, etc. The bluetooth works well, and you're able to stream music. The only thing I don't like is that you can't turn off the automatic music mute function.

    The only gripe I have about this headset is that the head band needs one more "click" of extension. I have a giant head, and there is a bit of pressure from the head band when I'm wearing this. One more bit of extension would have been better.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Does the job

  • By A Customer from Plymouth IN USA on Friday, February 17, 2017
  • Pros: Compact size and comfort
  • Cons: None
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Although this is not a Bose A20, it definitely works well. It is a good trade off between the bulk of the Bose and the compact design of this headset. That being said, the Bose has superior noise cancellation over the David Clark but the smaller size and lower price of the David Clark makes the trade off worth it in my opinion.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great headset

  • By A Customer from Castle Rock CO USA on Thursday, March 03, 2016
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Headset works great in the MD-88/90. Noise reduction could be a little better. Sometimes at cruise the noise reduction ends up production more noise then without the headset on. Otherwise the voice and mic quality is awesome.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

nice performance

  • By Kang from Los Angeles CA USA on Sunday, July 10, 2016
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Noise canceling performance is very good!
    But some heat was acumulate at ear (if use more than 3 hours) so i have to take off headset every 3 hours (it very short term).
    Anyway I like it's use. If my headset were to break, I would purchase again!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.

Very Good Headset

  • By Scott from Fishers, IN on Thursday, August 21, 2014
  • Pros: Very good noise reduction, solid construction, comfortable
  • Cons: Noise reduction may be a little too good
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I have used the Sennheiser HMEC 45 for about 15 years and it was a very good headset. I tried the new Sennheiser HMEC 46 but it was inferior quality both in construction and function. In contrast, this headset is solidly built, very comfortable, and extremely quiet. The noise reduction is on the verge of being too good as it is sometimes difficult to hear the other pilot in the cockpit. For someone younger that still has all of their hearing, this is probably not an issue. The radio clarity is good and the bluetooth streaming function is a nice feature and works exactly as advertised. My only complaint is that the L/R volume controls become reversed if the headset is worn with the boom mic on the right ear (F/O). If you keep both sides at the same level this is not an issue but I keep the side facing the other pilot off to better hear him. (A-320)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Highly recommended and rightfully so

  • By Chris from West Monroe LA USA on Tuesday, July 14, 2015
  • Pros: Lots of options and features
  • Cons: Runs out of batteries too quickly
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] It had everything I was expecting and more
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent performer. great comfort.

  • By Cris from Aurora CO USA on Monday, February 05, 2018
  • Pros: Comfort, quiet and performance.
  • Cons: Heavy battery/control unit in line with cord.
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] The David Clark Pro-X ANR headset lives up to the standards that the DC name has come to represent. The sound quality is great in both directions, the comfort and fit couldn't be any better, and the noise reduction is outstanding. Bluetooth performance is great, and the pairing process is easy. The only negative is that there is a control/battery unit that is in line with the cord. It has the power switch, left and right level controls, and the Bluetooth control in it. The issue is that with batteries installed, it tends to be a little heavy, and in flight, it hangs from the mic and headphone jacks. It's likely that sooner or later, this strain on the connectors will require repair or replacement. The Pro-X came with a belt clip for this unit, but that doesn't help in flight. Another foot or two of cord between the plugs and battery unit would, in many cases, allow the unit to be clipped to a side pocket or elsewhere to eliminate the strain on the cord and plugs.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very good, not great

  • By A Customer from Dallas TX USA on Monday, June 18, 2018
  • Pros: Excellent comfort, sound quality, Bluetooth, and battery life
  • Cons: Wonky procedure to dim control module light, frequent ANR rumble
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] After many months of being told I ought to try a nicer ANR headset than my Telex Airman 850, I realized this was a nice way of saying, "You're missing too many calls, old man."

    After much research, and lot of questions asked, the winner was the Bose A20. Unfortunately I've hated over-ear headsets since, as a young CFI, I was forced to wear those old Dave Clark c-clamps for hundreds of painful hours back during the Reagan Administration. Happily, the new Dave Clark Pro-X headsets also came highly recommended by many fellow pilots, so I recently took the plunge.

    On the upside, these are ridiculously comfortable headsets, even after a five-hour leg. In fact, though slightly heavier than the Telex, at the end of a long day, the padded headband of the Pro-X it far more comfortable than other featherweight headsets. A lightly sprung hinge at the top of the headband also contributes greatly in eleminating the old c-clamp headache. Ergonomically, I doubt you can find anything more comfortable.

    Second, the noise reduction and sound quality is, as advertised, far superior to my old Telex ANR. I honestly casn't think of a radio call I've missed since purchasing these, and that, after all, is the reason I bought them. So in that sense, mission accomplished. The sound quality from the onboard microphone is also reported by others, both pilots and ATC, to be excelllent.

    Though I have yet to use it extensively, Bluetooth pairing has been a snap, and the sound again excellent. Battery life has also exceeeded my expectations, as I find myself feeding it a diet of just 2 AA batteries every two or three weeks.

    As for the downsides, the control module seems a bit heavy for the size of the cable supporting it. Time will tell if this leads to problems with breaks in its internal wiring. Second, the power On/Off LED switch blinks quite brightly in a darkened cockpit. I found the verbiage to put the LED into a"Dark Mode", a procedure described in DC's Quick Reference Guide (which I had to download, as one wasn't included in the box) to be a bit nebulous. It took me a frustrating 45 minutes to figure out a way to darken that light consistently.

    However, the biggest annoyance with these headsets stems from one of their finer points of engineering. Dave Clark advertises that unlike most ANR headsets, the Pro-X features ANR mics on both the outside *and* the inside of the earphone, thus contributing to higher levels of noise reduction and sound quality. However, I find that because of the less-than-full ear coverage, and very light clamping pressure, the external mic sometimes seems to pic up sounds from inside the earphone (or maybe vice-versa) leading to frequent "ANR rumble".

    Anyone who wore those early Bose ANR headsets will recall how, especially during noisy phases of flight, (think reverse thrust on landing) the external mic and noise ANR circuitry would combine in a feedback loop to create a nasty, if momentary rumble.

    I get the impression that with the Pro-X, the light seal on the ears and the internal mic contribute to the creation of feedback loops between the headset's speakers and microphones, causing frequent rumbling on the Dave Clark even with a fresh set of batteries. Happily, a quick adjustment of the earphones to more fully cover the ears, or just pressing them down lightly against the ear, will cause the rumbling to cease. At least until it starts again a short time later.

    It's not a deal-breaker, and I find myself simply making a quick adjustment to headset's fit when the rumble kicks in, but it does detract from the otherwise great performance of these headsets.

    All in all, the Dave Clark Pro-X is a fine ANR headset with a few quirks that might benefit from a future tweak of its ANR software, or even just slightly larger earpieces.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

works well in piston aircraft

  • By jg from Santa Fe NM USA on Friday, July 04, 2014
  • Pros: small, lightweight, doesn't interfere with sunglasses
  • Cons: ANR "on" light difficult to see in bright light.
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I tried this headset because my old over-the-ear H10 13.4 was very uncomfortable after a couple of hours because it pressed on my sunglass temple pieces. So far I've used the new headset in a 172, a 182, and a Remos. In all cases the performance with noise cancellation on was comparable to my old headset. Comm is very understandable even with noise cancellation off. ANR battery pack is a bit klunky, but I guess that just goes with having ANR. In bright light it's difficult to see if the ANR is on or off, and it would be good if the ANR turned off when the headset was unplugged.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

Very good with few downfalls

  • By AJL from Pittsburgh PA on Tuesday, November 20, 2018
  • Pros: Lightweight, excellent ANR, well-constructed, don't interfere with sunglasses or glasses.
  • Cons: On ear pressure, battery box has no hanging strap
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I sent my Lightspeed Zulu 2's in for repair and upgrade, so I used the opportunity to try something different. My only other experience with on-ear headsets is a pair of Telex 850's that worked well in the Citation 550/560. But they were not adequate in the EMB-145 at all, so I kept using my Lightspeeds. I've been loyal to Lightspeed through many headsets. first passive (QFR) and then ANR's. I've never had David Clarks, so I decided to see what the fuss is about.

    I'll start with the only true con I found in using them for 35 hours in two weeks in an E-145 and that's physical pressure on the ear. I've used over ear for most of my time flying, so I am not used to pressure on my ear. These Pro-X weren't terrible, but I definitely had sore ears after long periods of wearing them. I could be over-sensitive to that pressure, but its enough to make me consider not buying them.

    Other than that they were:
    -Lightweight: No over ear could be as light ever.
    - Well-made: I can see why the "green cans" have a following. These were very well made (and Made in the USA if that matters to you). The ear seals and headpad on these and all headsets are "Wear items" and they are the only parts that might not be very durable. But besides my ear pressure issue, everything else was comfortable. They also don't interfere with wire rim sunglasses at all, so if you wear those (or eyeglasses) it's a plus.
    -Good audio quality, even for music. Don't expect to be blown away, but they had much better music fidelity than I expected.
    -Bluetooth paired effortlessly and quickly, much better than my Lightspeeds.
    - And of course, great ANR. I was concerned that they wouldn't have enough noise reduction to drown out the notoriously loud Embraer 145 cockpit, but they did.

    The only other downside is that the cord is a bit short and the provided "belt clip" is a joke as far as finding a place to hang the battery box in the cockpit.

    These are a solid product, they might not be for me, but they are well-done. Way better at ANR than the Telex 850. Not as pricey but much better made than the new Bose Profllight and ANR that is probably as good ( on-ear v in ear, not a direct comparison) as the Bose.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By craig from surrey BC Canada on Friday, April 04, 2014
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Clips to hang battery pack should be included. Power light very noticeable during night time.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again.

  • By Brian from Irvine CA USA on Wednesday, July 19, 2017
  • Pros: comfort; light weight
  • Cons: passive noise reduction is not as good as over-ear but still adequate
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I am happy with this headset. It is very comfortable. The active noise reduction is good in my Piper Archer. Audio is very good.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By William from Groton MA USA on Saturday, February 24, 2018
  • Pros: Very comfortable, good sound
  • Cons: It could hold position on your head better at times but like it alot
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset]
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Slip and slide headset

  • By Steve K from Stratford CT USA on Thursday, December 05, 2019
  • Pros: Quiet, clear, light and comfortable for hours.
  • Cons: As stated above, it falls off your head with normal movements. Maybe a different pad can help the sliding but I haven’t seen any available. This problem is the same with the other pilots too,
  • Review: The headset slips and slides every time you tilt your head like when checking overhead or pedestal switches and CB’s. Many times it falls off your head with normal movements in our G4. Sarcastically, a chin strap is needed. Otherwise, the headset is fantastic!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

They are pretty good. They get the job done.

  • By Terry from Edinburg TX USA on Wednesday, February 27, 2019
  • Pros: They work
  • Cons: It doesn't take much to get them off center ear. But they hold good.
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset]
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Monday, August 19, 2019
  • Review: I'm an A320 pilot and have been using this for about a month now. I like the form factor, it folds up small and the soft carry case is nice for packing up small.

    The ANR works very well in flight and blocks out all the wind noise the bus usually has in climbs and descents. You will not be able to hear the other pilot very well with both ears on though (off hot mic), It blocks out the sound very well.

    Bluetooth works well, however I wish you had the ability to adjust the sound down in more increments, because even at the lowest volume setting, it's just a little loud in my opinion. However, it has the ability to mute the music when a transmission comes through (by default) so that's an okay fix.

    These are very comfortable, even when wearing glasses. Like others have said it does take some playing around to find the position on your head and ears to get the sound and ANR perfect, but once you find your position it's easy to get it every time. I have not tried wearing them for more than 2 hours, so I can't comment on very long flights.

    Overall, 4/5. Very good, not perfect, but I do prefer it to a complete over the ear setup. I came off a bose qc35 with mic setup, and that was far too quiet (the ANR was too good) for the air bus. I could barely hear any of the cockpit chimes and sounds with it on.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.