Free Shipping on orders over $49! Our Holiday Schedule.
TOP

Reviews for Jeppesen Instrument/Commercial Manual

Sort By:
Filter By:

Great, but NOT HARDCOVER???

  • By Max from Chicago, IL on Saturday, June 08, 2013
  • Pros: Tons of useful up-to-date information
  • Cons: NO HARDCOVER! Ridiculous!
  • Review: A fantastic book, and now very up-to-date with the 2013 revision, but I was very upset to see that it was now no longer printed in hardcover. For a study textbook, it not being hardcover is a big hassle. I will have to likely break the binder just to get it to stay open, and that makes it look like crap in short order. So it will be a great book that looks like it's 10 years old by next month.

    Jeppesen, make it in hardcover!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This book needs to give a quiz in FAA format at the end of each section.

  • By Tom from Portland CT USA on Monday, August 08, 2011
  • Pros: Very thorough and comprehensive.
  • Cons: This book needs to give more examples and exercises that will allow the student pilot to develop the skills needed to pass the FAA written exam.
  • Review: Overall, an excellent text prepared by a very reputable industry leader in the field of pilot training. However, this book is expensive, but it provides the background knowledge necessary to be a safe and competent instrument pilot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Enough to build a foundation

  • By ChicCFII from New York, NY on Thursday, March 03, 2016
  • Pros: A great foundation of most basics in IFR flying, colorful pictures and FAA hot spot knowledge bubbles
  • Cons: Soft cover now, which is not as sturdy as the old hard cover, Jepp plates are still highlighted, bulky if student chooses not to go the CPL route
  • Review: As a CFII, I like students to always have a foundation to build upon as they progress deeper into aviation. Most GA pilots don't aspire to go the "airline" route and therefore a lot of the Jepp plates and more 121/141 geared parts are a bit overwhelming. That being said, I learned out of this book (the 2000 edition) and the 2015 edition is a very pleasant upgrade complete with transition, RNAV and glass teachings.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It's a good book

  • By Richard from Huntington Woods MI USA on Sunday, July 31, 2016
  • Review: It met my expectations. Although I needed other books to supplement the actual questions that would be on the FAA text.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It's a text book

  • By A Customer from Hidden Valley Lake Ca USA on Tuesday, November 02, 2010
  • Review: It's exactly what you would expect of a well written text book. All of the information is in there and easy to understand.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Peter from Wilmington DE USA on Wednesday, April 22, 2009
  • Review: Have not finished it yet but the pictures are great. It is easy to follow.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Sam from Hayward CA USA on Friday, September 18, 2009
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Killeen Texas on Tuesday, September 27, 2005
  • Review: pricey but good Jepp quality book
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By KPS from Long Island, NY on Wednesday, January 24, 2007
  • Pros: Must have
  • Cons: Must read
  • Review: It is just what it says it is. Nothing more nothin less. A must have with the DVD,CD course.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Andres from San Antonio TX on Friday, April 25, 2008
  • Review: Very good book overall, I just would like it to focus on some certain things, instead of writing just 1 paragraph for it. A copy of the Private Book of Jeppesen with instrument approaches, charts, etc.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Could be alot thinner

  • By kevin from dorr MI USA on Saturday, November 28, 2009
  • Pros:
  • Cons: repetetive
  • Review: This book is similar in quality to other Jeppesen books that I have read. Unfortunately it is very similar to the Jeppesen Private Pilot book. That makes it a very repetetive read if you have recently gone through the Private Pilot book.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.