TOP

FuelHawk Universal Fuel Gauge

  • 28 Customer Reviews

Reviews for FuelHawk Universal Fuel Gauge

Sort By:
Filter By:

Limited life

  • By James L. Freeman from Anderson, SC on Thursday, September 13, 2007
  • Pros: Accuracy, ease of use
  • Cons: Durability
  • Review: For doing the job it was designed to do, it is great--easy to use and accurate. The downside is that I go through a lot of them because, apparently, the auto fuel I use reacts with the plastic and causes it to crack. There is a potential for it to break and drop a piece into the fuel tank. It hasen't happened yet because I replace it as soon as a crack appears bad enough. One Fuelhawk lasts me 6-9 months.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Lazy approach

  • By Christopher Stamp from Rock Stream NY USA on Thursday, May 08, 2014
  • Pros: Simple to use
  • Cons: Calibration is rather tedious. Also, my previous one crazed so badly it partially drained when I withdrew it from the tank.
  • Review: Simple useful item but why the heck doesn't the manufacturer calibrate it for various commonly found tanks tanks rather than giving tedious directions for self calibrating?
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Some Guidance on methods to calibrate would help!

  • By Scott from Montpelier VT USA on Thursday, August 21, 2014
  • Review: It is fairly easy to read--the hard part is calibrating. I have tried some differnt methods and currently I move the fuel selector valve to off, then read the line, then record the number of gallons added to fill the tank. Then I deduct that number from the usable fuel so I have gallons remaining in the tank. Bladder tanks are not uniform so it isn't like an increment of one equals X number of gallons. I am still building my "data".

    The full tank level reads the number 12 on the stick, (30 gallons) but 6 is not half (15 gallons) a tank. It is about 22 gallons. This gives you better cushion in terms of fuel exhaustion, but can put you over max TOW.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I am quite satisfied with this product.

  • By Kenneth from Sauble Beach, Ontario, Canada on Monday, July 14, 2008
  • Review: It fulfills the purpose of its intended use quite well. The only way it could be improved is if it were calibrated for the specific tank size that I have rather than having to interpolate from the calibrations used. This of course would change it from being a universal gauge and thus I suspect increasing the cost.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Kayak Jack from East Lansing MI USA on Monday, March 08, 2010
  • Pros: High quality materials and simple design.
  • Cons: Sample problem sucks. Reconstruct it and FINISH it. A half of a solution leaues users high and dry.
  • Review: Actually, I had to refigure the graph several times. The sample problem assumes that a new user knows things that, in fact, only the desigher knows. Reconstruct the sample problem so an 8th grader can do it the first time; then your work will be done.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It works, if you trust it

  • By Harold from San Jose CA USA on Monday, October 24, 2011
  • Review: It's just a basic piece of tube with some markings. However, when will the average pilot really use it? First, you have to calibrate it. To be concise, that would require a level surface and the wing level would have to be the same level too when you use it to make the calibration valid. Since this is not likely, I tend not to rely on it 100%. I still fill the tank up before each flight and top it off at my destination if my burn rate deems it. I won't solely go off this gadget. After calibrating it, I haven't used it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It works

  • By Brad from Oklahoma on Saturday, February 28, 2009
  • Review: It works well, I still think it is crazy that they can't print these for several different models like my Cherokee 140 instead of having to create your own chart.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Helps as a double check on fuel levels.

  • By Jason from Memphis, TN on Tuesday, March 27, 2012
  • Pros: Gives you a good enough gas on fuel levels.
  • Cons: Be careful not to drop it in the fuel tank. Needs something to prevent it from falling in.
  • Review: The product is as advertised. I ran the calibration process a couple of times, but I wouldn't rely on my it to be 100% accurate. I would rather have a good guess than no clue. This product gives you that good guess.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.