Free Shipping on orders $49+ View Our Top 100 Gift Ideas!
TOP

Reviews for iFLY 720 Moving Map GPS for Pilots - Factory Refurbished

Sort By:
Filter By:

Best GPS I've ever owned.

  • By Mike from Arlington, TX on Friday, April 22, 2011
  • Pros: Great Price, 7" Screen is awesome, Easy to Use, Expandability - They add new features for free.
  • Cons: No XM weather yet. I was informed they are adding Weather via ADS/B soon.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  The iFly 700 is the best GPS and easily the best $549 I've ever bought. It's easy to use and very practical with features you will actually use. Many GPS companies have adopted computer tactics of bloating features that will never be used. Adventure Pilot pulls out the stops, they even add new features for existing owners. I've flown with mine for a few months now and just received nearly 20 new features, at no cost. Who does this, Adventure Pilot does. I researched the iFly a lot, just Google "iFly 700" or read the PIREPS on ifly.adventurepilot.com. Everyone love it and it's great to see a new player that listens to pilots on the market.

    The 7" touchscreen is awesome. I am spoiled to the touch interface now, I will never go back to clunky buttons. It even comes with a handy remote control for extra turbulent times. You get all the charts, airport information (even private) and unlimited updates of TFRs and Metars.

    Flight planning is very easy. You can even touch and drag your route to avoid an airspace or divert to another waypoint. The give you lots of customization like instruments, alerts and warnings, even text sizing. Night mode inverts colors so I no longer get those bright window reflections. They've thought of it all. Get one, you will be glad to did.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 28 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

As Good As it Says it is

  • By Keith from Tenaha TX USA on Tuesday, May 22, 2012
  • Pros: Very easy to learn to operate. Tap a button pick an option.
  • Cons: Some problems with updating. WARNING don't leave on hot glareshield while parked!
  • Review: I used this on my first 3 hour cross country very easy to operate. No live weather yet but touch an air port on the screen pick info and dial up the local AWOS. Great size for my 172. Best bang for the buck. Love the option to change the data size and location of flight information on the screen. Eliminates most of the reasons for having a G6B.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 21 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best purchase I've ever made for my plane!

  • By Mike the CH2000 Pilot from Hines OR USA on Saturday, December 01, 2012
  • Pros: Easy, intuitive, great display.
  • Cons: A little hard to see in direct sun, needs a sun shade around the display.
  • Review: Far exceeded my expectations. I wanted a moving map display, but got so much more. The terrain plot at the bottom of the screen is a great reassurance. The ability to connect to my WiFi make updating the data and maps a snap; what an elegant feature. Airport information is accessible by just touching the airport icon on the sectional. Flight planning and changing way points enroute is intuitive and fast; something that I consider essential when flying. The display is bright and crisp. The flight data is comprehensive; ground speed, bearing to way point, vertical speed, time to way point, time to final destination, etc.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 16 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I'm glad I bought this

  • By Jim from Severna Park MD USA on Tuesday, August 28, 2012
  • Pros: Easy to use, large screen,
  • Cons: Hard to see in daylight, Need an external battery pack if no cigarette lighter in the plane, Have to download updates onto thumb drive and then download into GPS. It would be easier if USB cable came with unit.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  This is my first GPS purchase. I always fly the old fashion way...by map and compass only. But I wanted to try out the new technology and I'm glad I did join the 21st century.
    It is easy to use and just big enough to be a help instead of a hindrance.

    It doesn't cost as much as other brands and does fine in the airplane.
    This GPS unit is a good buy over all.
    That being said, I was disappointed to find that I needed to buy an external battery pack cost, $100.00 because I don't have a cigarette light in my plane.

    And, that I have to use a thumb drive to download any chart updates and then download a second time into the GPS. It's not hard to do but it is redundant. It should come with a USB cable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Too Kewl!!!

  • By Robert from Ft Knox, KY USA on Monday, June 25, 2012
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  ALMOST done w/my Private Pilot. Bought a Cessna 172 and I purchased the iFly700. Coming from someone who is well versed in carbon paper n slide rules, this is excellent! It is dummy proof and that's coming from this dummy. Generating and saving flight plans, headings, elevation, on course, off course etc, VERY small learning curve. HIGHLY recommend it especially for those who aren't geek certified. Brought the plane from IA to KY with a fuel stop in between for training and all ploted in the iFly. You can be a total air head and this thing will make you look like a hero. Did me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Jim Mixon from Poteau OK USA on Friday, January 18, 2013
  • Pros: Easy to use, bright and ease to see in sunlight conditions.
  • Cons: When you fly 'course up', map stays North up. It needs to rotate like other GPS units I have owned. Need and 'of and off' switch.
  • Review: Like it very much. Easy to use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.

The Owners of this Company are Awesome

  • By Orville & Mary Ann from Placentia, CA on Wednesday, April 03, 2013
  • Pros: Excellent product, fair minded, and stand by their product
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This is the most reputable company I have ever delt with. I had a problem with my unit. They worked to resolve it, and finally did at their own expense.

    Love This Company's policies!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Larry from Waco TX USA on Thursday, October 02, 2014
  • Pros: Big screen, easy to learn and use, low price, excellant quality.
  • Cons: none
  • Review: This turned out to be one of my few very good decisions. The I-Fly 720 is easy and fun to learn. It worked flawlessly on our recent trip from Waco TX to Alamogordo NM and back. The terrain avoidance was a welcome feature over the mountains! Well worth the low price, I would buy again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again, and again, and again!

  • By Jimmy from Fortson GA USA on Tuesday, May 13, 2014
  • Pros: Beautiful, bold color for sectional.
  • Cons: 1) Screen must be vertical or pointed down somewhat. Otherwise sun glare diminishes its viewability. 2) charge a bit more and provide a RAM ball mount.
  • Review: I already have a Garmin 430W and it's a VERY powerful piece of equipment....BUT it's not so user friendly, doesn't have the moving sectional or most importantly the intuitive logic which the iFLY 720 has. A 3rd grader could master this thing in minutes, and it's a breeze for flight plans. Coupled with its rubber band line, you can change your plans in a matter of seconds. Phone numbers, runway layouts, frequencies, and AFD information and instrumentation are so easy to use that I find myself using it instead of the Garmin all too frequently. A bright, easy to discriminate screen doesn't hurt either. A fantastic deal at less than 1/10 the price of a Garmin.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect! It's great!

  • By Curtis from Cypress TX USA on Monday, June 24, 2013
  • Pros: Great service from the manufacturer. They were a great help with all my questions.
  • Cons: None.
  • Review: This GPS does what it's supposed to do with a minimum of distractions. It provides all the flight info you will need and displays it all on a large bright non glare screen. Simplicity is the mark of a well designed GPS and this one gets five stars from me. A great idea, and one that I especially appreciate is the one touch feature showing the actual aerial photo of your destination airport. There are lots of other features that make this unit a joy to use. I mounted mine on the control yoke of my Skyhawk. It fits just fine and is quickly and easily removed in seconds.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Dan from Pittsburg KS USA on Tuesday, July 17, 2012
  • Review: 100% satisfied!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.

Best Aviation GPS Value (IMHO)

  • By Bruce from Rosemount, MN on Tuesday, May 31, 2011
  • Pros: Relatively inexpensive; upgradable; intuitive operation
  • Cons: Wish the charts were connected - but some day....
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  This is the GPS I was looking for. Check the comments on the manufacturer's website. They're all true. This thing has all the elements combined that the others should have but don't: INEXPENSIVE, upgradable, touchscreen interface, accurate positioning, adjustable features, and soon to come, ADS-B (will need a receiver) and possibly terrain. 7 inch screen is the perfect size and with the RAM mount it fits just fine on my Archer's yoke. I highly recommend the iFLY 700 for the VFR pilot and for the IFR pilot who wants a backup.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

OUTSTANDING PRODUCT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • By martin from Sturgis MI USA on Wednesday, May 29, 2013
  • Pros: ALL OF ITS FUNCTIONS
  • Cons: NONE
  • Review: IT PREFORMED BETTER THAN EXPECTED. WAS VERY EASY TO USE AND SET UP. ON A SCALE OF 1-10 WITH TEN BEING THE BEST I WOULD GIVE IT A 10-PLUS
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just like new!

  • By Robert from Saint Louis MO USA on Monday, May 14, 2018
  • Pros: Cuts the price in half with no lossin function.
  • Cons: Worry if it will be as good as a newly manufactured unit (Mine was)
  • Review: The refurbished IFLY 720 works just like a new one.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Amazingly easy to use

  • By Richard from Halifax MA USA on Thursday, May 08, 2014
  • Pros: Exceptional
  • Cons: None
  • Review: The ease of use and the amount of information available at the touch of a finger is extraordinary.
    I would recommend this unit to any pilot that inquired as to its purposefulness.
    I have not found anything that I would be dissatisfied with in regards to it's functionality.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.

Capable, Economical GPS

  • By Dan in NV from Carson City, NV on Monday, October 31, 2011
  • Pros: Rock solid satellite lock. Important basic flight info easy to get
  • Cons: Some sort of integrated battery would be helpful.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  iFly unit got a satellite lock in my home office 10 ft from an east window under a six foot overhang. I was amazed. I bought the battery unit until I can get it set up in my plane with a more permanent power supply. I took it for a test flight in an unfamiliar plane with a Garmin panel I had only read about, at an airport I hadn't flown out of for 5 years and was immediately able to get valuable approach information. It was a sunny day but I could have easily flown this approach in IMC just with the info on the iFly.
    Charts are not stitched but hopefully this will be an update soon.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Beware Garmin, Ifly 700 GPS is to stay

  • By Luis from Raleigh NC USA on Thursday, March 01, 2012
  • Pros: everything you need by the touch of your fingers.
  • Cons: The need of a Panel Dock for better looks and removal from plane.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  Extremely impressed by the GPS, For the price, is no comparison.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By flyboy04 from enola PA USA on Thursday, July 28, 2011
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  I love it.  So simple to use.  Nice big screen.  I have it mounted on my quicksilver mx. We can get lost too you know! but not with the I FLY 700 and it didn't cost as much as my ultra light.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Jess from Eatonville WA USA on Monday, September 19, 2011
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  Ease to use right out of box. All of my friends like it. updates are at a nice coast, the lady i ordered it from said it did not come with a mount she needs to be up to what is in the box, jess logston.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

The greatest navigation tool I have ever seen

  • By Ron Brice from Branson Missouri on Thursday, June 30, 2011
  • Pros: Too much good to list here
  • Cons: See above for the only picky thing I could have said
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  I reluctantly bought an ifly700 after several of my friends raved about the product. Out of the box, this unit is the most user friendly GPS for aviation I have experienced in all my exposure to Gadgets. I have now used mine on many long flight legs, and must say....."What a pleasure to be able to track myself (I fly a Lancair Legacy which goes so fast it is hard to keep up with folding and unfolding Sectional Charts) over the ground and know exactly where I am as my auto pilot and Garmin gear does what it does best. My wife and I have had much fun visiting airports we would never have known were there without the zoom capability of the ifly700. Overall, this is a unit that is difficult to say "NO" to buying and using. The only negative in my bubble canopy is the lighting, but kept in the shade, it is more than visible at all times.

    Ron Brice
    www.incrediblesecret.com
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By willie jones from Ohio on Tuesday, April 03, 2018
  • Pros: Easy to use.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Wealth of information at your fingertips.Love it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

So far so good.

  • By A Customer from Marietta GA USA on Thursday, November 28, 2013
  • Review: Much better than the iFLY 520. Everything seems to work as advertised. Wish it had an on/off switch with power still applied. Slow to boot up, but once done, signal reception is good. Has a lot of bells and whistles for the money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Easy to use and comprehensive to

  • By A Customer from Cranberry Township PA USA on Thursday, January 30, 2014
  • Pros: Intuitive and easy to use
  • Cons:
  • Review: iFLY is great.  I purchased it for use in a helicopter. The touch screen is great because flying helicopters you do not have a lot of hands free time to play with a lot of buttons. Highly recommend this product
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from fort scott KS USA on Tuesday, October 09, 2012
  • Pros: Charts and ease of use
  • Cons: Had to buy an antenna and yoke mount.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  Its sharp and clear and very easy to use! I like it!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works wonders for flying

  • By Patrick from Medford WI USA on Wednesday, July 27, 2011
  • Pros: airport info easy available during flight
  • Cons: NO XM weather Weather would make this product perfect
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  I wouldn't travel without...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very good.

  • By Dan J. from Panaca NV USA on Sunday, February 10, 2013
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great affordable gps

  • By David from Shallotte NC USA on Thursday, June 28, 2012
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  Great my only problem I cant get the upgrade on my computer its to old I'm going to get a new one.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By george from Munster IN USA on Monday, February 18, 2019
  • Review: ONLY ONE THING  TOO BAD IT DOES NOT HAVE ON BOARD BATTERY
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I like the product used it once

  • By JAMES from GREELEY COLO on Wednesday, March 13, 2019
  • Review: Good for the type of flying I do.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.