TOP

Reviews for iFLY 720 Moving Map GPS for Pilots - Factory Refurbished

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Jason from Maple Valley WA USA on Saturday, May 26, 2012
  • Pros: Price, capability, map
  • Cons: Reception can be spotty
  • Review: It certainly meets or exceeds expectations for the price. My unit sometimes takes a while to get satellite reception which can be annoying. That's the only complaint and it's not a big deal.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 15 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

several flights and it works well, happy pilot

  • By trumpet from San Antonio TX USA on Tuesday, February 04, 2014
  • Pros: screen, information available, wifi downloads, ease of use, customizing
  • Cons: no internal battery - - just a few minutes would help; re-boot time
  • Review: Very happy with my new iFly 720. The screen is plenty big, so I am glad I did not go with the larger Garmin.

    I have a low tech cell phone and no iPad (or whatever), so this was a good tool for me. Suction mount still holding well after several flights. I was careful to install it on a flat surface.

    Only drawback is no battery. Even a 5 minute source inside would help me switch from one source to another. As it works now, each time you move the power (or hit the master switch on the panel) it dies and has to re-boot. An annoyance.

    Too thrifty to buy the $100 battery. Made a $19 alternate using a 8-pack AA holder from Radio Shack, hard wire connector from iFly, and a 1A fuse holder. Will keep the unit on-line for about 50 minutes. Not bad.

    Overall - - a fantastic unit and highly recommended.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.

Best money spent

  • By Sky-hawk from Heritage Field on Sunday, July 07, 2013
  • Pros: horizontal or vertical, wireless updating, 7 inch size, fast screens
  • Cons: sometimes the screen does not seem sensitve enough
  • Review: The 720 exceeded my expectations. With so many GPS units to chose from. I wanted a moving map on sectionals as a VFR pilot. With the periodic upgrades it keeps on improving. After my last update, I was on the 720 flight plan nearing the destination, and it announced it was time for me to begin my descent and suggested a descent rate. It has screen clues to distance from start. Even though the airplane that I bought into has a Garmin 450 and 250, I preflight my trips at home on the ifly720, then bring it with me and set it up in the cockpit. It is an excellent buy that I recommend
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Daniel from Jackson MI USA on Friday, February 17, 2012
  • Pros: See the screen in bright sunlight
  • Cons:
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  I liked the 700 in all respects except for the sunlight visability.
    I traded it in for the iFLY 720. That is all that I wanted!
    You can see it in direct sunlight, along with all the other pluses the unit has.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

ifly 720 gps is a keeper!!!

  • By james from henryville IN USA on Tuesday, June 19, 2012
  • Pros: cost, ease of use,touch screen.
  • Cons: still not quite bright enough, sectional page is a little on the cluttered side.
  • Review: Very nice gps unit for the money.  My only issue would be to have a less cluttered moving map screen  ,instead of the sectional screen that is mainly used on this unit.  I'm sure the pilot adventure engineers will be coming out with some upgraded features soon that will "fit the bill" as they say for the mentioned option.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Easy to Use. Good presentation.

  • By George from Encinitas CA USA on Tuesday, February 14, 2012
  • Pros: Easy to use, intuitive.
  • Cons: Not viewable in bright lighting conditions. Have had the set "freeze" several times in just a few minutes which is cured only by cutting off the power.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  Not viewable in bright lighting conditions which is why I'm upgrading to a iFLY 720. Would like to be able to "lock on" to a location and have continuous distance and bearing vice having it disappear after a few seconds. Maybe have the first "tap" lock on and have a second "tap" to unlock. I'm still reasonably happy using the i700 even if the 720 were not available. Although the set would be larger, I think I'd prefer to have a battery backup even if it lasted only an hour or so.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.

Good Bang for the Buck

  • By A Customer from Tennessee on Wednesday, July 24, 2013
  • Pros: Great unit. Very easy to operate.
  • Cons: Suction mount..not so good
  • Review: I started with the IFLY-700 in my Cherokee. Sold that plane and left the 700 in it when I sold. I bought a Mooney and followed-up with the 720. The unit works as good or better than the previous 700. Only downside was in the Mooney space is tight. I needed a working suction mount. I got a defective one that had some kind of adhesive on the suction-cup. It would NOT release from the windshield properly unless I used extreme force to release one side, a residue was left on the windshield, a totally useless mount. I hope to see them at Oshkosh next week and get them to replace the defective one. The unit itself works great.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It is a delight to fly with & best value for the money.

  • By Phil...... flying an RV4. from Riverside CA USA on Tuesday, November 15, 2011
  • Pros: A LOT of information is at my fingertips and easily accessed. I love that I can turn the map to the direction I am flying. Every bush pilot uses that technique to keep track of exactly where he is.
  • Cons: The unit sometimes "freezes" or "locks up". There is no reset. It has to be unplugged to reboot it.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  It has a nice big screen compared to some other moving maps. Destination selection is quick and easy. The option to navigate to a location, ie vortac is a quick way to locate holding pattern locations and victor airways. My only frustration with it is the occasional loss of GPS signal. In flight it seems to take longer to regain a signal. I have not tried it with the external antenna yet. That may correct the issue. The other issue is that it can become overwhelmed when asked to function too quickly.It "freezes" and has to be rebooted to regain function. When all its functions are working it is a delight to fly with. I hope one of the updates is a USB link to my iPhone. I would love to be able to toggle to my iPhone on the bigger iFly screen.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

As good as products costing twice as much!

  • By Robert from North Canton OH USA on Thursday, November 17, 2011
  • Pros: Great price, screen size, resolution, and update price.
  • Cons: Does not work well with all jump drives.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  Does everything expected of a moving map GPS and at a great price. Now with the ADS-B software, it's even better. Only problem I have found after a month or so of use is that the USB drives I have tried do not always work without some playing around or reinstalling. Updates off the computer load great, but the USB connection on the IFLY seem to have a problem being seen and connecting to the unit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A great product for the money

  • By Robert from Ocala FL USA on Saturday, October 01, 2011
  • Pros: I now am flying with 3 GPS's with the ifly 700 being better than the 2 Garmins
  • Cons: screen is hard to see in it's stock form. Mount modifications helped a lot
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  A great product with the version 5.15. When the version 6 is available, it will be the best on the market. I do not know if STARS & DP's can be geo- referenced but if so and Adventure adds this to the ifly 700 it will be better than the best, if that is even possible. I own a Bonanza and reflections and sunlight is a bit of a problem with the screen. I fabricated a mount from aluminum which sets in the middle of the control wheel. The angle of the mount is such that reflections from a light colored shirt does not show up in the screen. I also made a sun shield that just about takes care of sun reflections.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very useful

  • By A Customer from Manassas VA USA on Monday, July 01, 2013
  • Pros: Layout, maps, instruments.
  • Cons: Difficulty learning the various menus.
  • Review: Overall, this map is very good and useful --- good graphics, easy and intuitive. The good items by far outweigh the few minor issues, which is why I give it a 4. Minor problems can become slightly frustrating --- such as having to locate the same airport in the guide. There is a history section, but when you're flying you don't want to spend much time trying to locate the right directly among four or five. I suspect I will become more adept as I use it more, but initially it takes a while to locate the right button to find the right information. It's all there --- somewhere. Sometimes determining a bearing can take a few tries, and setting a new course isn't necessarily one step. However, once the course is set, I really like the tracking and the information, and the instruments. I would definitely recommend this moving map.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice for the price

  • By Paul from Belle Vernon PA USA on Tuesday, June 26, 2012
  • Pros: easy to use easy to update low cost
  • Cons: No batt back up or a on off switch
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  I have used this 700 on many Xcountrys and it worked great. The geo ref on the approach plates comes in really handy.I am still trying to find out how to get the weather on it. Its a very helpful tool to have for know where u are
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Moscow ID USA on Saturday, November 19, 2011
  • Pros: Intuitive, many features, economical
  • Cons: difficult to view screen in sunlight, suction mount disengages after an hour or so.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  I bought this GPS for basic VFR cross country flying. It was well priced with an impressive array of features.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Alton from Tahlequah OK USA on Monday, June 20, 2011
  • Pros: easy to program
  • Cons: hard to see on a bright day
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  To much glare for use in a Bonanza, even with the hood.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good product for the money

  • By Randy from Amarillo TX USA on Thursday, November 01, 2018
  • Pros: easy to see
  • Cons: No battery
  • Review: I like using it ,it lets me know if I have towers around me,MOAs etc. I do wish it had a built in battery pack tho.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good GPS for the money, good overall period. So far.

  • By Troy from Oshkosh WI USA on Monday, February 19, 2018
  • Pros: Works well, does everything much higher priced units do.
  • Cons: Slow to start up. Touch screen takes a firm slow touch to react.
  • Review: Easy to figure out, learn how to do the updates, come up with a plan to mount it. At first sight I was not sure the suction cup mount would hold the GPS but it does. I don't have much space for it on my Piper PA 12 Cub Super Cruiser but used the suction cup to mount it to the side of the windshield right over the throttle it works GREAT there. Takes a long time to boot up and get to the GPS screen. Takes a long deliberate touch to get the device to react also but once you get used to it there is no problem. But over all very good. Told a couple guys how much it cost and they pretty much ran out and bought one right away.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Looking forward to using this on cross country flights.

  • By Steve Craigle from Arlington WA USA on Monday, November 14, 2011
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  Works great and the updates are affordable. Easy to create flight plans and store them for future use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Awesome...............

  • By serge from Tomball TX USA on Tuesday, May 28, 2013
  • Pros: everything that you need in such a great pakage
  • Cons: wish it could be interfaced with my Zaon XRX
  • Review: Loved everything about it, may be a little weak on the brightness on a bright sunny day.
    Sure wish it could be interfaced with my Zaon XRX
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

nice

  • By george from Munster IN USA on Saturday, February 23, 2019
  • Pros: right price
  • Cons: as i said i have other gps but they carry on board battery
  • Review: The unit is great for the price. I wish it had an inside battery.  If you have an electric failure no GPS.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.