TOP

Reviews for iFLY 720 Moving Map GPS for Pilots - Factory Refurbished

Sort By:
Filter By:

Best GPS I've ever owned.

  • By Mike from Arlington, TX on Friday, April 22, 2011
  • Pros: Great Price, 7" Screen is awesome, Easy to Use, Expandability - They add new features for free.
  • Cons: No XM weather yet. I was informed they are adding Weather via ADS/B soon.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  The iFly 700 is the best GPS and easily the best $549 I've ever bought. It's easy to use and very practical with features you will actually use. Many GPS companies have adopted computer tactics of bloating features that will never be used. Adventure Pilot pulls out the stops, they even add new features for existing owners. I've flown with mine for a few months now and just received nearly 20 new features, at no cost. Who does this, Adventure Pilot does. I researched the iFly a lot, just Google "iFly 700" or read the PIREPS on ifly.adventurepilot.com. Everyone love it and it's great to see a new player that listens to pilots on the market.

    The 7" touchscreen is awesome. I am spoiled to the touch interface now, I will never go back to clunky buttons. It even comes with a handy remote control for extra turbulent times. You get all the charts, airport information (even private) and unlimited updates of TFRs and Metars.

    Flight planning is very easy. You can even touch and drag your route to avoid an airspace or divert to another waypoint. The give you lots of customization like instruments, alerts and warnings, even text sizing. Night mode inverts colors so I no longer get those bright window reflections. They've thought of it all. Get one, you will be glad to did.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 28 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

As Good As it Says it is

  • By Keith from Tenaha TX USA on Tuesday, May 22, 2012
  • Pros: Very easy to learn to operate. Tap a button pick an option.
  • Cons: Some problems with updating. WARNING don't leave on hot glareshield while parked!
  • Review: I used this on my first 3 hour cross country very easy to operate. No live weather yet but touch an air port on the screen pick info and dial up the local AWOS. Great size for my 172. Best bang for the buck. Love the option to change the data size and location of flight information on the screen. Eliminates most of the reasons for having a G6B.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 21 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best purchase I've ever made for my plane!

  • By Mike the CH2000 Pilot from Hines OR USA on Saturday, December 01, 2012
  • Pros: Easy, intuitive, great display.
  • Cons: A little hard to see in direct sun, needs a sun shade around the display.
  • Review: Far exceeded my expectations. I wanted a moving map display, but got so much more. The terrain plot at the bottom of the screen is a great reassurance. The ability to connect to my WiFi make updating the data and maps a snap; what an elegant feature. Airport information is accessible by just touching the airport icon on the sectional. Flight planning and changing way points enroute is intuitive and fast; something that I consider essential when flying. The display is bright and crisp. The flight data is comprehensive; ground speed, bearing to way point, vertical speed, time to way point, time to final destination, etc.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 16 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I'm glad I bought this

  • By Jim from Severna Park MD USA on Tuesday, August 28, 2012
  • Pros: Easy to use, large screen,
  • Cons: Hard to see in daylight, Need an external battery pack if no cigarette lighter in the plane, Have to download updates onto thumb drive and then download into GPS. It would be easier if USB cable came with unit.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  This is my first GPS purchase. I always fly the old fashion way...by map and compass only. But I wanted to try out the new technology and I'm glad I did join the 21st century.
    It is easy to use and just big enough to be a help instead of a hindrance.

    It doesn't cost as much as other brands and does fine in the airplane.
    This GPS unit is a good buy over all.
    That being said, I was disappointed to find that I needed to buy an external battery pack cost, $100.00 because I don't have a cigarette light in my plane.

    And, that I have to use a thumb drive to download any chart updates and then download a second time into the GPS. It's not hard to do but it is redundant. It should come with a USB cable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Too Kewl!!!

  • By Robert from Ft Knox, KY USA on Monday, June 25, 2012
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  ALMOST done w/my Private Pilot. Bought a Cessna 172 and I purchased the iFly700. Coming from someone who is well versed in carbon paper n slide rules, this is excellent! It is dummy proof and that's coming from this dummy. Generating and saving flight plans, headings, elevation, on course, off course etc, VERY small learning curve. HIGHLY recommend it especially for those who aren't geek certified. Brought the plane from IA to KY with a fuel stop in between for training and all ploted in the iFly. You can be a total air head and this thing will make you look like a hero. Did me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.

The Owners of this Company are Awesome

  • By Orville & Mary Ann from Placentia, CA on Wednesday, April 03, 2013
  • Pros: Excellent product, fair minded, and stand by their product
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This is the most reputable company I have ever delt with. I had a problem with my unit. They worked to resolve it, and finally did at their own expense.

    Love This Company's policies!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Jim Mixon from Poteau OK USA on Friday, January 18, 2013
  • Pros: Easy to use, bright and ease to see in sunlight conditions.
  • Cons: When you fly 'course up', map stays North up. It needs to rotate like other GPS units I have owned. Need and 'of and off' switch.
  • Review: Like it very much. Easy to use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Larry from Waco TX USA on Thursday, October 02, 2014
  • Pros: Big screen, easy to learn and use, low price, excellant quality.
  • Cons: none
  • Review: This turned out to be one of my few very good decisions. The I-Fly 720 is easy and fun to learn. It worked flawlessly on our recent trip from Waco TX to Alamogordo NM and back. The terrain avoidance was a welcome feature over the mountains! Well worth the low price, I would buy again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again, and again, and again!

  • By Jimmy from Fortson GA USA on Tuesday, May 13, 2014
  • Pros: Beautiful, bold color for sectional.
  • Cons: 1) Screen must be vertical or pointed down somewhat. Otherwise sun glare diminishes its viewability. 2) charge a bit more and provide a RAM ball mount.
  • Review: I already have a Garmin 430W and it's a VERY powerful piece of equipment....BUT it's not so user friendly, doesn't have the moving sectional or most importantly the intuitive logic which the iFLY 720 has. A 3rd grader could master this thing in minutes, and it's a breeze for flight plans. Coupled with its rubber band line, you can change your plans in a matter of seconds. Phone numbers, runway layouts, frequencies, and AFD information and instrumentation are so easy to use that I find myself using it instead of the Garmin all too frequently. A bright, easy to discriminate screen doesn't hurt either. A fantastic deal at less than 1/10 the price of a Garmin.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect! It's great!

  • By Curtis from Cypress TX USA on Monday, June 24, 2013
  • Pros: Great service from the manufacturer. They were a great help with all my questions.
  • Cons: None.
  • Review: This GPS does what it's supposed to do with a minimum of distractions. It provides all the flight info you will need and displays it all on a large bright non glare screen. Simplicity is the mark of a well designed GPS and this one gets five stars from me. A great idea, and one that I especially appreciate is the one touch feature showing the actual aerial photo of your destination airport. There are lots of other features that make this unit a joy to use. I mounted mine on the control yoke of my Skyhawk. It fits just fine and is quickly and easily removed in seconds.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Dan from Pittsburg KS USA on Tuesday, July 17, 2012
  • Review: 100% satisfied!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.

Best Aviation GPS Value (IMHO)

  • By Bruce from Rosemount, MN on Tuesday, May 31, 2011
  • Pros: Relatively inexpensive; upgradable; intuitive operation
  • Cons: Wish the charts were connected - but some day....
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  This is the GPS I was looking for. Check the comments on the manufacturer's website. They're all true. This thing has all the elements combined that the others should have but don't: INEXPENSIVE, upgradable, touchscreen interface, accurate positioning, adjustable features, and soon to come, ADS-B (will need a receiver) and possibly terrain. 7 inch screen is the perfect size and with the RAM mount it fits just fine on my Archer's yoke. I highly recommend the iFLY 700 for the VFR pilot and for the IFR pilot who wants a backup.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

OUTSTANDING PRODUCT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • By martin from Sturgis MI USA on Wednesday, May 29, 2013
  • Pros: ALL OF ITS FUNCTIONS
  • Cons: NONE
  • Review: IT PREFORMED BETTER THAN EXPECTED. WAS VERY EASY TO USE AND SET UP. ON A SCALE OF 1-10 WITH TEN BEING THE BEST I WOULD GIVE IT A 10-PLUS
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just like new!

  • By Robert from Saint Louis MO USA on Monday, May 14, 2018
  • Pros: Cuts the price in half with no lossin function.
  • Cons: Worry if it will be as good as a newly manufactured unit (Mine was)
  • Review: The refurbished IFLY 720 works just like a new one.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Amazingly easy to use

  • By Richard from Halifax MA USA on Thursday, May 08, 2014
  • Pros: Exceptional
  • Cons: None
  • Review: The ease of use and the amount of information available at the touch of a finger is extraordinary.
    I would recommend this unit to any pilot that inquired as to its purposefulness.
    I have not found anything that I would be dissatisfied with in regards to it's functionality.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.

Capable, Economical GPS

  • By Dan in NV from Carson City, NV on Monday, October 31, 2011
  • Pros: Rock solid satellite lock. Important basic flight info easy to get
  • Cons: Some sort of integrated battery would be helpful.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  iFly unit got a satellite lock in my home office 10 ft from an east window under a six foot overhang. I was amazed. I bought the battery unit until I can get it set up in my plane with a more permanent power supply. I took it for a test flight in an unfamiliar plane with a Garmin panel I had only read about, at an airport I hadn't flown out of for 5 years and was immediately able to get valuable approach information. It was a sunny day but I could have easily flown this approach in IMC just with the info on the iFly.
    Charts are not stitched but hopefully this will be an update soon.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By flyboy04 from enola PA USA on Thursday, July 28, 2011
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  I love it.  So simple to use.  Nice big screen.  I have it mounted on my quicksilver mx. We can get lost too you know! but not with the I FLY 700 and it didn't cost as much as my ultra light.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Jess from Eatonville WA USA on Monday, September 19, 2011
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  Ease to use right out of box. All of my friends like it. updates are at a nice coast, the lady i ordered it from said it did not come with a mount she needs to be up to what is in the box, jess logston.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from fort scott KS USA on Tuesday, October 09, 2012
  • Pros: Charts and ease of use
  • Cons: Had to buy an antenna and yoke mount.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  Its sharp and clear and very easy to use! I like it!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Beware Garmin, Ifly 700 GPS is to stay

  • By Luis from Raleigh NC USA on Thursday, March 01, 2012
  • Pros: everything you need by the touch of your fingers.
  • Cons: The need of a Panel Dock for better looks and removal from plane.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  Extremely impressed by the GPS, For the price, is no comparison.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

The greatest navigation tool I have ever seen

  • By Ron Brice from Branson Missouri on Thursday, June 30, 2011
  • Pros: Too much good to list here
  • Cons: See above for the only picky thing I could have said
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  I reluctantly bought an ifly700 after several of my friends raved about the product. Out of the box, this unit is the most user friendly GPS for aviation I have experienced in all my exposure to Gadgets. I have now used mine on many long flight legs, and must say....."What a pleasure to be able to track myself (I fly a Lancair Legacy which goes so fast it is hard to keep up with folding and unfolding Sectional Charts) over the ground and know exactly where I am as my auto pilot and Garmin gear does what it does best. My wife and I have had much fun visiting airports we would never have known were there without the zoom capability of the ifly700. Overall, this is a unit that is difficult to say "NO" to buying and using. The only negative in my bubble canopy is the lighting, but kept in the shade, it is more than visible at all times.

    Ron Brice
    www.incrediblesecret.com
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By willie jones from Ohio on Tuesday, April 03, 2018
  • Pros: Easy to use.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Wealth of information at your fingertips.Love it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

So far so good.

  • By A Customer from Marietta GA USA on Thursday, November 28, 2013
  • Review: Much better than the iFLY 520. Everything seems to work as advertised. Wish it had an on/off switch with power still applied. Slow to boot up, but once done, signal reception is good. Has a lot of bells and whistles for the money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Easy to use and comprehensive to

  • By A Customer from Cranberry Township PA USA on Thursday, January 30, 2014
  • Pros: Intuitive and easy to use
  • Cons:
  • Review: iFLY is great.  I purchased it for use in a helicopter. The touch screen is great because flying helicopters you do not have a lot of hands free time to play with a lot of buttons. Highly recommend this product
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works wonders for flying

  • By Patrick from Medford WI USA on Wednesday, July 27, 2011
  • Pros: airport info easy available during flight
  • Cons: NO XM weather Weather would make this product perfect
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  I wouldn't travel without...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very good.

  • By Dan J. from Panaca NV USA on Sunday, February 10, 2013
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great affordable gps

  • By David from Shallotte NC USA on Thursday, June 28, 2012
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  Great my only problem I cant get the upgrade on my computer its to old I'm going to get a new one.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By george from Munster IN USA on Monday, February 18, 2019
  • Review: ONLY ONE THING  TOO BAD IT DOES NOT HAVE ON BOARD BATTERY
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I like the product used it once

  • By JAMES from GREELEY COLO on Wednesday, March 13, 2019
  • Review: Good for the type of flying I do.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Jason from Maple Valley WA USA on Saturday, May 26, 2012
  • Pros: Price, capability, map
  • Cons: Reception can be spotty
  • Review: It certainly meets or exceeds expectations for the price. My unit sometimes takes a while to get satellite reception which can be annoying. That's the only complaint and it's not a big deal.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 15 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

several flights and it works well, happy pilot

  • By trumpet from San Antonio TX USA on Tuesday, February 04, 2014
  • Pros: screen, information available, wifi downloads, ease of use, customizing
  • Cons: no internal battery - - just a few minutes would help; re-boot time
  • Review: Very happy with my new iFly 720. The screen is plenty big, so I am glad I did not go with the larger Garmin.

    I have a low tech cell phone and no iPad (or whatever), so this was a good tool for me. Suction mount still holding well after several flights. I was careful to install it on a flat surface.

    Only drawback is no battery. Even a 5 minute source inside would help me switch from one source to another. As it works now, each time you move the power (or hit the master switch on the panel) it dies and has to re-boot. An annoyance.

    Too thrifty to buy the $100 battery. Made a $19 alternate using a 8-pack AA holder from Radio Shack, hard wire connector from iFly, and a 1A fuse holder. Will keep the unit on-line for about 50 minutes. Not bad.

    Overall - - a fantastic unit and highly recommended.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.

Best money spent

  • By Sky-hawk from Heritage Field on Sunday, July 07, 2013
  • Pros: horizontal or vertical, wireless updating, 7 inch size, fast screens
  • Cons: sometimes the screen does not seem sensitve enough
  • Review: The 720 exceeded my expectations. With so many GPS units to chose from. I wanted a moving map on sectionals as a VFR pilot. With the periodic upgrades it keeps on improving. After my last update, I was on the 720 flight plan nearing the destination, and it announced it was time for me to begin my descent and suggested a descent rate. It has screen clues to distance from start. Even though the airplane that I bought into has a Garmin 450 and 250, I preflight my trips at home on the ifly720, then bring it with me and set it up in the cockpit. It is an excellent buy that I recommend
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Daniel from Jackson MI USA on Friday, February 17, 2012
  • Pros: See the screen in bright sunlight
  • Cons:
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  I liked the 700 in all respects except for the sunlight visability.
    I traded it in for the iFLY 720. That is all that I wanted!
    You can see it in direct sunlight, along with all the other pluses the unit has.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

ifly 720 gps is a keeper!!!

  • By james from henryville IN USA on Tuesday, June 19, 2012
  • Pros: cost, ease of use,touch screen.
  • Cons: still not quite bright enough, sectional page is a little on the cluttered side.
  • Review: Very nice gps unit for the money.  My only issue would be to have a less cluttered moving map screen  ,instead of the sectional screen that is mainly used on this unit.  I'm sure the pilot adventure engineers will be coming out with some upgraded features soon that will "fit the bill" as they say for the mentioned option.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Easy to Use. Good presentation.

  • By George from Encinitas CA USA on Tuesday, February 14, 2012
  • Pros: Easy to use, intuitive.
  • Cons: Not viewable in bright lighting conditions. Have had the set "freeze" several times in just a few minutes which is cured only by cutting off the power.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  Not viewable in bright lighting conditions which is why I'm upgrading to a iFLY 720. Would like to be able to "lock on" to a location and have continuous distance and bearing vice having it disappear after a few seconds. Maybe have the first "tap" lock on and have a second "tap" to unlock. I'm still reasonably happy using the i700 even if the 720 were not available. Although the set would be larger, I think I'd prefer to have a battery backup even if it lasted only an hour or so.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It is a delight to fly with & best value for the money.

  • By Phil...... flying an RV4. from Riverside CA USA on Tuesday, November 15, 2011
  • Pros: A LOT of information is at my fingertips and easily accessed. I love that I can turn the map to the direction I am flying. Every bush pilot uses that technique to keep track of exactly where he is.
  • Cons: The unit sometimes "freezes" or "locks up". There is no reset. It has to be unplugged to reboot it.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  It has a nice big screen compared to some other moving maps. Destination selection is quick and easy. The option to navigate to a location, ie vortac is a quick way to locate holding pattern locations and victor airways. My only frustration with it is the occasional loss of GPS signal. In flight it seems to take longer to regain a signal. I have not tried it with the external antenna yet. That may correct the issue. The other issue is that it can become overwhelmed when asked to function too quickly.It "freezes" and has to be rebooted to regain function. When all its functions are working it is a delight to fly with. I hope one of the updates is a USB link to my iPhone. I would love to be able to toggle to my iPhone on the bigger iFly screen.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.

Good Bang for the Buck

  • By A Customer from Tennessee on Wednesday, July 24, 2013
  • Pros: Great unit. Very easy to operate.
  • Cons: Suction mount..not so good
  • Review: I started with the IFLY-700 in my Cherokee. Sold that plane and left the 700 in it when I sold. I bought a Mooney and followed-up with the 720. The unit works as good or better than the previous 700. Only downside was in the Mooney space is tight. I needed a working suction mount. I got a defective one that had some kind of adhesive on the suction-cup. It would NOT release from the windshield properly unless I used extreme force to release one side, a residue was left on the windshield, a totally useless mount. I hope to see them at Oshkosh next week and get them to replace the defective one. The unit itself works great.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very useful

  • By A Customer from Manassas VA USA on Monday, July 01, 2013
  • Pros: Layout, maps, instruments.
  • Cons: Difficulty learning the various menus.
  • Review: Overall, this map is very good and useful --- good graphics, easy and intuitive. The good items by far outweigh the few minor issues, which is why I give it a 4. Minor problems can become slightly frustrating --- such as having to locate the same airport in the guide. There is a history section, but when you're flying you don't want to spend much time trying to locate the right directly among four or five. I suspect I will become more adept as I use it more, but initially it takes a while to locate the right button to find the right information. It's all there --- somewhere. Sometimes determining a bearing can take a few tries, and setting a new course isn't necessarily one step. However, once the course is set, I really like the tracking and the information, and the instruments. I would definitely recommend this moving map.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

As good as products costing twice as much!

  • By Robert from North Canton OH USA on Thursday, November 17, 2011
  • Pros: Great price, screen size, resolution, and update price.
  • Cons: Does not work well with all jump drives.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  Does everything expected of a moving map GPS and at a great price. Now with the ADS-B software, it's even better. Only problem I have found after a month or so of use is that the USB drives I have tried do not always work without some playing around or reinstalling. Updates off the computer load great, but the USB connection on the IFLY seem to have a problem being seen and connecting to the unit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A great product for the money

  • By Robert from Ocala FL USA on Saturday, October 01, 2011
  • Pros: I now am flying with 3 GPS's with the ifly 700 being better than the 2 Garmins
  • Cons: screen is hard to see in it's stock form. Mount modifications helped a lot
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  A great product with the version 5.15. When the version 6 is available, it will be the best on the market. I do not know if STARS & DP's can be geo- referenced but if so and Adventure adds this to the ifly 700 it will be better than the best, if that is even possible. I own a Bonanza and reflections and sunlight is a bit of a problem with the screen. I fabricated a mount from aluminum which sets in the middle of the control wheel. The angle of the mount is such that reflections from a light colored shirt does not show up in the screen. I also made a sun shield that just about takes care of sun reflections.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice for the price

  • By Paul from Belle Vernon PA USA on Tuesday, June 26, 2012
  • Pros: easy to use easy to update low cost
  • Cons: No batt back up or a on off switch
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  I have used this 700 on many Xcountrys and it worked great. The geo ref on the approach plates comes in really handy.I am still trying to find out how to get the weather on it. Its a very helpful tool to have for know where u are
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Moscow ID USA on Saturday, November 19, 2011
  • Pros: Intuitive, many features, economical
  • Cons: difficult to view screen in sunlight, suction mount disengages after an hour or so.
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  I bought this GPS for basic VFR cross country flying. It was well priced with an impressive array of features.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Alton from Tahlequah OK USA on Monday, June 20, 2011
  • Pros: easy to program
  • Cons: hard to see on a bright day
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  To much glare for use in a Bonanza, even with the hood.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good product for the money

  • By Randy from Amarillo TX USA on Thursday, November 01, 2018
  • Pros: easy to see
  • Cons: No battery
  • Review: I like using it ,it lets me know if I have towers around me,MOAs etc. I do wish it had a built in battery pack tho.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good GPS for the money, good overall period. So far.

  • By Troy from Oshkosh WI USA on Monday, February 19, 2018
  • Pros: Works well, does everything much higher priced units do.
  • Cons: Slow to start up. Touch screen takes a firm slow touch to react.
  • Review: Easy to figure out, learn how to do the updates, come up with a plan to mount it. At first sight I was not sure the suction cup mount would hold the GPS but it does. I don't have much space for it on my Piper PA 12 Cub Super Cruiser but used the suction cup to mount it to the side of the windshield right over the throttle it works GREAT there. Takes a long time to boot up and get to the GPS screen. Takes a long deliberate touch to get the device to react also but once you get used to it there is no problem. But over all very good. Told a couple guys how much it cost and they pretty much ran out and bought one right away.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Looking forward to using this on cross country flights.

  • By Steve Craigle from Arlington WA USA on Monday, November 14, 2011
  • Review: [This review was originally written for the iFLY 700]  Works great and the updates are affordable. Easy to create flight plans and store them for future use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Awesome...............

  • By serge from Tomball TX USA on Tuesday, May 28, 2013
  • Pros: everything that you need in such a great pakage
  • Cons: wish it could be interfaced with my Zaon XRX
  • Review: Loved everything about it, may be a little weak on the brightness on a bright sunny day.
    Sure wish it could be interfaced with my Zaon XRX
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

nice

  • By george from Munster IN USA on Saturday, February 23, 2019
  • Pros: right price
  • Cons: as i said i have other gps but they carry on board battery
  • Review: The unit is great for the price. I wish it had an inside battery.  If you have an electric failure no GPS.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I like it, just trouble seeing in the sun.

  • By A Customer from Walnut Creek CA USA on Tuesday, August 07, 2012
  • Pros: display size, price, options, taxiway plane tracking,
  • Cons: glare, too big for car use.
  • Review: Bought the 720 instead of the ifly 700 based on previous reviews about being able to see in sunlight. I basically moved it all over the cockpit recently to try and get a better view due to glare. Just bought a yoke mount and will see if this different location will eliminate the glare....the $200 dollar upgrade is over rated.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 24 Other people found this review helpful.

I would buy this product again

  • By Timothy R Binder from Burlington, IA on Monday, January 14, 2013
  • Pros: Flying part is GREAT.
  • Cons: Driving part is the worst I have seen.
  • Review: The flying part of the GPS for the money is Great. But the road part of the GPS is the worst I have ever seen. Don't take my word for it. Try it yourself but you had better take a road atlas with you.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 13 Other people found this review helpful.

Buggy

  • By A Customer from Southeast USA on Saturday, September 14, 2013
  • Pros: Feature Set
  • Cons: Reliability. My unit has suffered from repeated lock-ups and GPS signal loss
  • Review: When the unit works, it is a good data source in the cockpit. Some obvious issues are that most functions take one or two more screen touches than I'd like, the menus are not always intuitive, and the screen is only marginally sunlight readable, IMO.

    That said, mine has not been reliable. I've seen lock-ups, failures to acquire GPS lock, and a host of other weird problems. Customer support from Adventure Pilot has been very friendly and accomodating, but ultimately, this is not a product I can depend on.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 19 Other people found this review helpful.

great software - hardware not so much

  • By John L from Kingwood TX on Wednesday, October 22, 2014
  • Pros: software is great
  • Cons: hardware not especially for the price
  • Review: When it works they are great - I'm on my second unit -replaced under warranty-
    and now it locks up -won't come out of flight planning mode - and all kinds of other problems. I've given up and gone to Foreflight.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 17 Other people found this review helpful.