TOP

Reviews for Travelpro FlightCrew5 22" Expandable Pilot Rollaboard

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

GREAT BAG!

  • By Lindsey from Denver CO USA on Wednesday, June 08, 2016
  • Review: I've used the TravelPro for years. I was reluctant to replace my old one, but I am glad I did. This one is well made and lighter then my old one.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 14 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best bag period!

  • By A Customer from San Francisco CA USA on Monday, October 03, 2016
  • Pros: Solid, versatile, no nonsense
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I bought this to replace my 10+ year old Travel Pro. I find the nearly indestructible construction, coupled with the ample storage pockets to be a winning combination.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product

  • By Paul D from Houston TX USA on Tuesday, November 01, 2016
  • Pros: Well designed, accessible, durable
  • Cons: A bit heavy, but price for durability
  • Review: Second TP Carry on I have owned. First one lasted over 20 years and gave to nephew so it's still in use. Also have a Tumi, but I prefer TraveiPro.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best suitcase ever

  • By John from Boca Raton FL USA on Wednesday, May 29, 2019
  • Pros: Style, function and workmanship
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Last bag lasted me 10 years and I travel nonstop.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Bag - would buy again.

  • By Allen from West Jefferson NC USA on Friday, May 17, 2019
  • Pros: Smooth 2 wheel conveyance and durable construction
  • Cons: More "consumer" look than previous models and small side pockets
  • Review: This is my first Travelpro bag and I have to say, with my limited experience so far, it is the best bag I have owned. I have only traveled with it on one trip, but so far so good. I would agree with some other reviews that I read that Travelpro has changed the outward design of the bag to look more "consumer" and less "industrial" or "professional". And I would agree that the side pockets of the Pilot version are not very deep and are only good for small items (but don't put sunglasses in them if you do not want them to get broken -- personal experience), if those are the only two drawbacks, then I have no other complaints. The bag rolls smoothly and the extra space with the expansion is very useful (although when fully packed, I had to work slightly to get it to fit into smaller overhead bins). As I said, the bag rolls very smoothly and easily. I do not understand why carry-on bags are moving to the "four-wheeled spin in every direction out of control" type of bag. Two wheels are SO much easier to control, move over curbs, cracks, etc. Overall, I would say this bag is well worth the money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Monday, April 08, 2019
  • Review: Great product. I’m a airline pilot and it’s perfect for me. I recommend.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very well constructed. Plenty of external pockets. Would definitely recommend.

  • By Doug from Saint Louis MO USA on Thursday, March 14, 2019
  • Pros: Multiple exterior zippered pockets. Well made. Rolls easily.
  • Cons: Heavier than some bags which is to be expected due to its construction and intended heavy usage.
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I will buy this product again

  • By A Customer from Vancouver WA USA on Friday, July 06, 2018
  • Review: Great bag for traveling.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best roller board ever

  • By Dan from Spring Branch TX USA on Friday, June 14, 2019
  • Pros: Roller skate wheels are quiet and roll with ease. Handles are in the right spotsfor easy lifting into the overhead. Telescoping handle is sturdy. Un-obstuctive large main compartment.
  • Cons: The personal bag holder is nice but I have difficulty getting it off my personal bag. Could just be me and the type of personal bag I have.
  • Review: I have 1.7 million miles on Delta and Northwest and purchased several different roller board type bags over the years. None have had the feel of quality and sturdiness as this bag. There is a reason all the flight attendants use this bag! I have the expandable version just in case I need it, but I assume the regular version is the same quality
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great suitcase!!!

  • By Kyle from Greensboro NC USA on Tuesday, March 19, 2019
  • Pros: Great design with well thought out pocket placement. Durable and well built.
  • Cons: None.
  • Review: This bag is super durable and has great construction. The zippered pockets are well thought out. I travel a ton for work and my luggage typically only lasted a couple years at most. Finally, I found a bag designed how I wanted that looks robust enough to be thrown around by baggage handlers. It is still early but the bag is holding up very well. Seriously this isn't some department store junk. It is the real deal.

    Also, the service from mypilotstore was great. Customer service on the phone was great and friendly. Bag shipped and arrived quickly. No worries there.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great for me, glad I bought it.

  • By Capt. Kwame from Pembroke Pines FL USA on Tuesday, February 26, 2019
  • Pros: Right size, enough pockets to accommodate everything I need while I’m travelling.
  • Cons: Haven’t found one yet. Hope it stays that way.
  • Review: Meets all my needs, I can pack enough in it for long term travel.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Solid

  • By Larry from USA on Tuesday, November 08, 2016
  • Pros: Sturdy, good wheels, proper size for carry-on
  • Cons: Curved zipper pulls stick out from bag on some pockets, side and back pockets somewhat small.
  • Review: Up front, I'm a long-time Travelpro user. I have also used other brands like PNTCO's Stealth, some Tumi and Aandiamo. When I saw the FlightCrew5 'Pilot' bag it caught my interest. after watching the You Tube videos about it, I ordered one. It's a very solid bag with a strong frame and handle, good wheels and sized properly for carry on. I have an issue with the zipper pulls which I contacted Travelpro about and that is that they are sorta 'flashy' and curved on the end. They look like Travelpro's EXECUTIVE type pulls, not some that a pilot would choose. The curve is fine for gripping them but it makes them 'directional' - they lay flat on one side and stick up when lying flat on the back side. And some of the pockets zip shut with the pull curved TOWARD the bag while others zip shut and stick OUT from the bag. Don't expect to get too many items in the side and back pockets but they are good for smaller, ready at hand items. Haven't used it enough to say I would or wouldn't buy it again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Serves its purpose very well

  • By Floridajim from Tampa FL USA on Monday, April 02, 2018
  • Pros: Good size, easy to pack and stack. Wheels are great. Looks great too.
  • Cons: No suitor sleeve
  • Review: It did meet my expectations. I travel almost every week domestically and internationally. I was actually replacing an older model of the same bag. I like the upgrades from the version flight crew 4. This is commercial grade not retail stuff. The only thing I miss is the suitor sleeve but I can deal with that. No problem. Very happy with the purchase.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very nice, but a little heavy

  • By A Customer from Deland FL USA on Wednesday, May 29, 2019
  • Pros: Quality construction and features
  • Cons: Weight
  • Review: I only gave this carry-on 4 stars because of the weight. Otherwise, I’d have given it a 11. Very nice, well constructed and with enough zippered pockets to satisfy the organized pack rat in many of us.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

So far, So good!

  • By Dennis from Cranberry Township PA USA on Sunday, April 14, 2019
  • Pros: Rugged
  • Cons: Top heavy
  • Review: I am a Locomotive Engineer, and purchased this bag for my overnight travels as required for work. I needed a bag that is rugged, something that would withstand the difficult terrain traversing to and from my train (it's not all concrete, asphalt, and indoor walkways), fabric or outer shell capable of being brushed against steel without snagging or tearing, and some outer pockets for quick easy access for personal items.

    To date this bag has met or exceeded my expectations, now the only question is longentivity.

    The only issue or negative is, the bag seams top heavy. I have a sweatshirt in the top garment portion, and with the normal listing of the train, it has a tendency to tip over.

    Pending on its durability over the long haul. As of now, I would purchase this item again!

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A Smooth Rollerboard

  • By Skyflyin from Cypress TX USA on Tuesday, March 12, 2019
  • Pros: Smooth roller, quality materials and long handle
  • Cons: Overhead storage issues and side pockets snag sometimes
  • Review: I have been using Travelpro for years because of their quality and this one lives up to that. It's roomy with plenty of space for a four day trip. My favorite thing about this one is how smooth and quiet it rolls. The tall handle is nice as well. The material and zippers (although a bit big) seem to be of good quality. The only downsides are that it didn't fit in a B737 overhead wheels first, but did fit with handle in first. Also, the pockets on the side are not useful to me and hinder getting it out of the flight deck storage, but no real issue. Overall a great suitcase and I would recommend it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Now I’m Worried

  • By LouC547 from VIENNA, VA on Wednesday, April 03, 2019
  • Pros: Sturdy frame
  • Cons: Poor warranty and wheels
  • Review: I purchased this in Jan 2018. I’m an airline pilot so the bag does get a lot of use. I’m happy with the bag except one of the wheel bearings just failed. I brought it to a repair station where I found out the 3-yr warranty does not cover the wheels. Therefore I’m dubious that this bag will last and I’m upset that an obvious material failure isn’t covered by their warranty. Lesson learned...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Did NOT meet expectations

  • By on Monday, February 25, 2019
  • Pros: - Solidly built
  • Cons:
  • Review: The Traveler FlightCrew5 22" Expandable Pilot Rollaboard appears mostly durable. However, the first time I tried to get the bag into an MD-80 overhead the Travelpro logo popped off.
    The bag seems to be built solidly to a fault. The frame is so ruggedly designed that the bag loses available room internally. What I am able to fit into a Samsonite 22" bag, which I have used for the past 3 years, doesn't all fit into this bag. This bag has zero-sum space in that in order to use one of the front pockets it takes space away from a different front pocket. I saw an earlier design that didn't seem to have this issue. When using one pocket, it expanded away from the other pocket so both could be used independently. With that problem the bag still bulged after packing for only a 4-day trip in a way that made it extremely difficult to get into an overhead bin. Additionally, the side pockets are very limited and almost useless to hold any item that I normally carry.
    Based on all of these limitations this bag has become a $169 bag only large enough to carry enough for a 2-day trip, but durable enough to carry much more. I do not recommend this bag for normal use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.