TOP

Reviews for Deluxe CH Products Flight Simulator Bundle - MS Flight Sim X, Yoke, and Rudders

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Effectively a BATD for a fraction of the price

  • By Claudio from Honolulu HI USA on Friday, February 03, 2017
  • Pros: For home use, as good or better a trainer as a full-blown BATD
  • Cons: Clamps on yoke may be difficult on certain desks with decorative bevelled edges
  • Review: I recommend this for IFR currency home training over any certified BATD. You have to remember that without a CFI present, no simulator time can be counted for currency anyway. There is really no difference between this product and a product like a RedBird BATD costing thousands. Setup was trivial (once the long download of FS was finished). Both yoke and pedals had literally zero setup procedures. Recommend you go to http://www.aero.sors.fr/ after installation and get a free update to all your navaids though. The FS software incorporates navaids as they were in 2006, so if you fly using modern approach charts, some navaids will likely be off, if new navaids were added or some were changed in your area. This free update safely fixes this, so you can train using all your real charts. I can confidently say that my IFR skills are much better after only 2 weeks with this product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.

Almost like the real thing

  • By Ray from Banning, CA on Tuesday, December 06, 2016
  • Pros: Authentic
  • Cons: Nothing
  • Review: Who would have thought that an inexpensive simulator like this could be so helpful. I am an ATP rated pilot but I was rusty because I have been out of the air for several years. This simulator brought my right back into an airplane. For example one option in the program is to fly a 747. During the flight there are three engine failures, two on the right side. I had to use almost full left rudder and aileron to keep the airplane going straight. This is a great tool for IFR as well. My daughter loves the mountain flying and practicing approaches in various airports. This thing is not a toy!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works perfectly with FlightGear

  • By A Customer from Birmingham AL USA on Monday, October 25, 2010
  • Review: I bought this bundle specifically to use with flightgear on linux and was pleased to see it worked immediately out of the box with no configuration. The yoke and pedals are USB-connected devices that were recognized without any problem.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent IFR procedure trainer

  • By William from Denver NC USA on Wednesday, March 14, 2018
  • Pros: Pretty realistic
  • Cons:
  • Review: Excellent product - use it to regain IFR procedures after 15-year hiatus from flying. Really helped me get my head back into the IFR environment
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Definitely would purchase again!

  • By Tracy from Georgetown TX USA on Tuesday, January 16, 2018
  • Review: Love the graphics and realism
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent

  • By Robert from Oviedo FL USA on Tuesday, September 22, 2009
  • Pros: Realistic graphics
  • Cons: You have to do what ATC tells you, or cancel.
  • Review: An FAA report has long established that using a simulator, even a PC based simulator, for instrument recency is as good a tool as flying IFR. Though it still isn't legal to log PC time for recency, it is a perfect and cheap way to keep current and confident. The whole set is cheaper than renting a plane for 3 Hrs. and much cheaper that flying your own plane, making it a perfect companion for either.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

Son Loves it

  • By A Customer from Harrisburg PA USA on Monday, January 28, 2008
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Son won't give up the computer so that I can do taxes.
  • Review: My 14 year old son loves this product. The only thing different than actually flying, he cannot feel the actual movement of the plane. It will help him in his flying lessons.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

Next best thing to actually being in the air

  • By Dennis from Cleghorn IA USA on Friday, February 22, 2008
  • Pros: Graphics, realism, ease of customizing the controls, attention to detail
  • Cons: Trim wheel, I thought some of the instrument displays in Student Lessons weren't giving accurate readings
  • Review: I'm giving this a 5 star rating based on my approximate 15 hours usage. Overall I really like this product. The graphics are unreal. I'm doing most of my simulations flying out of my local rural airport in northwest Iowa. Out in the middle of nowhere. The accuracy of the locations of the roads is hard to believe. I've never actually flown the plane I'm simulating with so I don't know if the handling characteristics are exactly the same but everything I've heard says that they are. I like the fact that you can customize the controls. I had no trouble getting around in the program. Now for the things that I found frustrating. The throttle control on the Flight Sim Yoke would not give me full throttle in the Student Pilot lessons so the instructor was constantly telling me to give it more throttle. I had to use the mouse to run the throttle onscreen. I also couldn't get enough trim from the trimwheel on the Yoke. That was an easy workaround. I just assigned trim control to the rocker switch on the left handle of the yoke. I found it best to fly the student lesson once and then go to Fly Now, choose the same plane, and practice the lesson out of my home airport. I'm done with the student pilot lessons and am working on the private pilot level. I'm happy with the purchase and would recommend this combo to anyone interested in flying.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Irwin from Leawood KS USA on Thursday, March 18, 2010
  • Review: I am in the process of getting my private pilots license, and thought this would augment my experience and confidence level during actual flight. The package, although not exactly like flight, is much more than I expected. I believe this will help me to develop and maintain "muscle memory". I look forward to many hours of practice fun.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

My grandchildren and I are enjoying the experience

  • By Rufus from Cary NC USA on Monday, January 13, 2014
  • Pros: A very good product
  • Cons: Instructions to calibrate the Yoke could be clearer for us Windows 7 user. The instructions seem to appear that I have a joy stick when I do not. I have the official yoke and accessories. I must check the forum for more information.
  • Review: Very vivid...and appreciated experience that is close to reality than we thought.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By A Customer from Norridgewock ME USA on Tuesday, May 09, 2017
  • Pros: Easy to learn
  • Cons: None
  • Review: It met more expectations than I thought it would. I loved that it feels just like real life. I didn't lack anything. It excelled by being really easy to install.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Value

  • By The Hawk from Norwich CT USA on Wednesday, March 30, 2016
  • Pros: Value
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Digital download was easy to install. Great practice for student pilots!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Love it!

  • By HightowerChains from Grand Haven MI USA on Thursday, June 02, 2016
  • Pros: Easy setup, customizable buttons
  • Cons: none
  • Review: The yoke and pedals are excellent! The perfect add-on to my FSX setup.

    Also, surprisingly, the FSX Steam Edition was an awesome upgrade to my system.

    Definitely recommended!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

My kid really likes this

  • By A Customer from Northville MI USA on Thursday, January 28, 2016
  • Review: This was accurately described and easy to install. The controls seem accurate. Pleased with this purchase
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

AWESOME!!!!!

  • By A Customer from Salisbury MD USA on Thursday, February 25, 2016
  • Pros: realistic and cheap
  • Cons: none
  • Review: More than met expectations-- I finally learned how to land a Cessna properly using nothing but this product. The lessons are awesome and it helped me improve my flying and fly more confidently
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Products

  • By Tom from Philmont NY USA on Sunday, October 18, 2015
  • Pros: quality materials, both units work well
  • Cons: yoke maybe a bit sluggish, not bad
  • Review: I haven't flown a real airplane in 20 years and am getting back into it via FSX, which didn't exist when I was learning. What a great thing! Now I wonder how we ever got a license without it. You just can't make enough landings in the real thing to really get good.

    As for the CH yoke and pedals: good products. The yoke isn't quite as responsive as a real one as I recall, but not bad. I have the one with throttle and mixture controls and these are amazingly realistic and responsive. I was used to pedals you control with your instep and I only had a handbrake. These pedals are dual purpose: pressure on the heel controls the rudder and pressure on the toe controls the brakes. Something to get used to. But very responsive. Pretty good quality plastic. I'm happy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Fantastic, realistic, great buy...

  • By A Customer from Mechanicsville VA USA on Wednesday, October 29, 2008
  • Review: I bought this to use in conjunction with getting my PPL. I have completed my first solo, and I have to give credit to MS Flight for helping me achieve this. Will use until new version comes out and then buy that one.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I like the product.

  • By Thomas (Kope) from Thief River Falls MN USA on Friday, August 28, 2009
  • Pros: Great detail and effective controls
  • Cons: The rudder pedals can be touchy with the differential braking
  • Review: Flight Simulator gold edition is great, and the yoke and rudders work fine.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Looks Great!

  • By Sandy from Riverdale, NY USA on Tuesday, January 26, 2016
  • Pros: Days and weeks anticipating much excitment.
  • Cons: Software download so far impossible. Still trying.
  • Review: Should be great for kids and parents -- dad is experienced pilot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

What Flight Sim Is All About

  • By Norton from St. James, BARBADOS, West Indies on Friday, July 18, 2008
  • Pros: The graphics are exceptional, eg. trees and landscape...great!
  • Cons: None so far
  • Review: I'm totally impressed with my Deluxe Flight Simulator Bundle, so much so that I have given a copy of the MS Flight Sim X to a friend of mine, as a surprise gift. She is a former Air Traffic Control Officer and she simply adores it. This Product is great to give as gifts...long lasting!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product at a great price!!

  • By Rick from Yulee FL USA on Thursday, October 04, 2018
  • Pros: Very realistic training and controls are very responsive
  • Cons: Takes a long time to load scenarios
  • Review: Very realistic simulator at a very low cost compared to other sims out there. Great training tool that will cut down on my air time in pilot school thus saving me lots of cash!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Solid package for young aviators

  • By A Customer from Huntington Park CA USA on Wednesday, January 30, 2008
  • Pros: Very Coooool!
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I purchased this for my son who is 13 and has begun his flying lessons in pursuit of an aviation career. Except that I need to upgrade the video card to accomodate the graphics, this package is a stunning simulation of the real thing. In fact he is flying a new Cessna 172 G1000 and the simulator has the EXACT cockpit he is flying for real.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By ronald from Valrico FL USA on Tuesday, September 05, 2017
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

What I was Looking For

  • By Homer from Orlando FL USA on Monday, November 23, 2015
  • Pros: Easy Set up
  • Cons:
  • Review: Product fixed my problem; therefore it is great. My software program. I now have a software problem or a computer problem. I made the change to Window's 10 and now all the functions for Flight Simulator X do not work.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Rudders not necessary

  • By A Customer from Carmel IN USA on Tuesday, January 17, 2017
  • Pros:
  • Cons: do not buy the rudders. Be prepared to spen a long time adjusting the sensitivities of the yoke
  • Review: The rudders are unnecessary if you only want this for IFR practice. It is too sensitive and anytime I step on it, the plane leaves the runway! I am still struggling to set up the proper sensitivity for the yoke trim tabs. Overall a OK buy
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good product for the price

  • By A Customer from not listed on Monday, October 03, 2011
  • Pros: Good value for the price paid
  • Cons: A printed set-up manual to properly configure yoke and pedals with Flt Sim-Xwould have been a big time saver.
  • Review: This product fully met my expectations. Keep in mind, it is NOT AN AIRPLANE. Set up with Flt Sim-X is complicated....not exactly plug and play. I needed help from my flight instructor to properly configure all the "buttons and switches" to properly work the yoke and pedals. Once up and running all works fine...Free Flying is a really good way to practice a flying lesson before you burn the gas.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Dont know yet

  • By Robert from Horseshoe Bay TX USA on Monday, February 24, 2014
  • Pros: Was told it works on Window7
  • Cons: Can't get it setup correctly
  • Review: Having trouble setting up.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.