TOP

Reviews for CH Products Throttle Quadrant USB ( 300-133 )

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

A multi must

  • By A Customer from Colfax WA USA on Wednesday, November 02, 2011
  • Pros: great for multi work
  • Cons: set up is a must. This is not a plug and play
  • Review: I ordered this because I wanted to do some work with multi engine planes. They worked perfect.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I liked the CH Throttle Quadrant enough to buy another.

  • By Roger from Marion IA USA on Wednesday, March 30, 2016
  • Pros: Consistent digital values at each end of the range on the lever controls. This means you should not have to worry about inconsistent results when you use these in the flight simulators. The construction seems to have good quality. I don't expect I will have to worry about wearing the throttle quadrants out. Nice quantity of switches and of levers. The resolution of the lever controls is good. So, I don't have to worry about the minimum change that I can make in the settings being too high for good control of the aircraft.
  • Cons: Probably takes up more horizontal space than an aircraft-specific throttle because there is no vertical offset on the lever knobs (e.g. throttle lever knobs higher than pitch or mixture knobs which would allow the levers to be closer together). This is not a real issue for a quadrant meant to work for all sorts of different aircraft types. Only an issue if someone was building a cockpit for a specifc aircraft and wanted a high degree of visual realism..
  • Review: The worst thing about this product is the lack of information related to how it has been set up for the Microsoft Flight Simulator (i.e FSX for me) by other users. That information can be found with some effort to sort the available online information. The initial calibration and setup with the CH Control Manager is fine but does not give any ideas on how others are using the available buttons. Also, I found that I required the FSUIPC product by Peter Dowson to do a number of the things that I wanted to do (e.g. set up the throttles, mixtures, and prop pitches for appropriate engagement of feather, reverse thrust, low and high idle to name a few). That is not a fault of this product. Once I got to the right information and made the determination that I needed FSUIPC, I did not have much trouble setting up two of these quadrants to be used together with the CH Pro Pedals and the CH Eclipse Yoke. With this setup, I have the necessary control levers to cover the throttles, mixtures, and props for any aircraft having four or less engines with independent control levers for each function on each engine.

    I also use the latest version of X-plane and there are no problems using all these CH Products devices with it. I previously used a well-liked flight joystick with rudder controlled by twisting the joystick handle. This CH setup with FSUIPC for the Microsoft Flight Sim allows me to have much better control and put even the "Super Heavy" jumbo jets down with room to spare in conditions that I would have had trouble keeping the aircraft on the runway with my previous control setup. With X-plane, it is like the sim and these controls were designed for each other.

    I have my setup with FSX and FSUIPC on these controllers mirroring the same setup I have with them in X-plane. So, I can use the same levers or same buttons for the same thing in either X-plane or FSX. So, I have no problems switching between the simulators.

    These throttle quadrants are very consistent. That is, I always get the same reading (i.e. digital values) at each end of the travel of the throttle levers.

    The bottom line is that I am very happy with these throttle quadrants (and the other CH Products devices I have).
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

WORKS GREAT

  • By Thomas from Tallahassee FL USA on Monday, October 07, 2013
  • Pros: Works great
  • Cons: none
  • Review: First time I've bought a product that didn't need adjusting, works like a charm.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Knoxville TN USA on Tuesday, December 19, 2017
  • Review: Dependable, straight forward intuitive design, and not a piggy bank breaker.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great addition for sim

  • By Patrick from Pocono Lake PA USA on Tuesday, April 30, 2013
  • Pros: Everything programmed easily and works flawlessly
  • Cons: The clamps for holding this to the desk are useless.
  • Review: Exceeded my expectations.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I am very pleased with this item.

  • By David Garrish from New Bern NC USA on Wednesday, May 19, 2010
  • Pros: works very well on my computer
  • Cons: none as yet
  • Review: It has met my expectations. I have not had the time to use it enough to get well aquainted with it as yet. It is is just what I had hoped for and am well pleased.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By george from kaufman TX USA on Monday, February 14, 2011
  • Pros: easy to set up
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Makes flying a lot more fun
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Roger from Marion IA USA on Monday, March 14, 2016
  • Pros: See above, easy setup, good feel. It would hard to figure out how these could be much better for a general use in flight simming.
  • Cons: Could be a little more setup information for the obvious uses.
  • Review: I actually bought two of these to get all the axes that would be needed for a 4-engine prop aircraft. The only real negative is the lack of instructions for setup of the most likely uses of these throttle quadrants (i.e. MS flight simulator and X-plane). Those were found without any major difficulty by searching online. With MS Flight Simulator, make sure you get FSUIPC to enjoy the full capabilities with the most realism. I have had these for a few weeks now and once I got them set up appropriately I found it hard to leave the flight simulators alone. I will probably build a portable mounting platform for these and the CH Eclipse and CH Pro Pedals that I have. That would allow me to move them out of the way when I want to use the computer for other things. Getting back to the review, these have a good feel with respect to the real aircraft levers that they emulate. I like the CH Control Manager, which makes the initial setup pretty easy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent product

  • By Mike from Centennial CO USA on Tuesday, January 05, 2010
  • Pros: Well built, offers many options for sims
  • Cons: Looks cheap
  • Review: Well built and reliable. No problems setting up, works great on a Mac.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Realistic operation.

  • By Garry from Port Clinton OH USA on Saturday, September 29, 2012
  • Pros: Smooth operation.
  • Cons: Detents add nothing to the experience.
  • Review: I use it on twin engine aircraft. The axis funtions work well for throttle, propeller, and mixture. I havent gotten much use out of the switches yet. I have not installed the configuration programming software as yet. The operation of the levers are smooth and responsive. I haven yet tried it for four engine aircraft. The throttles work nicely to control glidepath during landings. The detents seem to be useless in MS Flight Simulator X
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Another touch of realism.

  • By Herb, Cessna Conquest pilot from Fairbanks AK USA on Monday, November 10, 2008
  • Pros: The lever movement is linear and accurate. Throttle setting is easy.
  • Cons: The minstop is unneccessary. There is no way to calibrate the minstop as zero position.
  • Review: Easy to caibrate and setup within MSFSX. I fly twin engine aircraft both recip and turbo-prop. This quadrant is very realistic.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Throttle Quadrant

  • By Charles from Timberlake NC USA on Tuesday, July 05, 2011
  • Pros: Completely functional
  • Cons: They could have angled the throttle and mixture handles out from center to more accurately mimic actual controls.
  • Review: Exactly as shown and described. Pluged it in, it was recognized by the PC. No install, everything worked first time. Program buttons right on the flight sim assignment screen.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A very good solid product, well done

  • By Alvin from Mason WI USA on Monday, April 02, 2012
  • Pros: beings able to re-assign the levers is a plus , easy to confiquer
  • Cons: would be nice to be able to label the switches, regular labels don't stick
  • Review: Very good percise feel of the controls, needs some way to label the switches tho.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works well - once you get it configured

  • By John from Draper UT USA on Monday, March 21, 2011
  • Pros: Lots of functionality with lots of switches
  • Cons: Initial setup can be combersome
  • Review: This product works well. However, be aware most of the flight simulators will need some level of custom setup to ensure it works as expected. OnTop required a new "plugins" file that took a while to figure out and MS Flight Sim required about 30 mins of custom setup. Otherwise, great product and I use it with the CH Yoke and pedals.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

CH throttle unit

  • By Vincent on Tuesday, April 12, 2011
  • Pros: All Axis very close to perfect sync. Pretty good range of movement and like the detent which is present in the lowere range.
  • Cons: Would like to see the levers a little further apart.
  • Review: Although small in some respects, it is a very capable product and having several CH products, I can highly recommend this unit. In fact knowing what I know now, I wish I had bought this product originally instead of the other. Unless you plan to spend hundreds, this is the best low priced unit on the market.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

CH QUADRANT

  • By LLOYD from Andover MN USA on Friday, November 20, 2015
  • Pros: BUILT STURDY
  • Cons: DOES NOT HOLD CALIBRATION
  • Review: I BOUGHT IT TO GO WITH MY ECLIPSE YOKE
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

CH Throttle quadrant

  • By Barry from Werribee VIC Australia on Tuesday, March 08, 2011
  • Review: Looks great but cannot get it to work with Flight Sim Pro
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Don't try this at home

  • By james from pegram TN USA on Thursday, January 14, 2010
  • Review: I haven't been able to use it at all with the saitek yoke and rudder pedals that I bought with it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.