TOP

ASA Pilot Bag

  • 47 Customer Reviews

Reviews for ASA Pilot Bag

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect size

  • By Joe from Cary NC USA on Monday, March 14, 2011
  • Pros: Perfect size for casual flyer
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Nice small solid bag. Holds my headset, logbook, sectionals. W/B sheets, GPS, pens... Perfect size for a casual flyer. Serious folks will want a bigger bag.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good things in small packages and all that

  • By Jeremy from Richmond VA USA on Wednesday, August 15, 2012
  • Pros: Good size, holds everything I need
  • Cons:
  • Review: As a student pilot, this has worked out perfectly for me. It fits my headset, kneeboard, sectional, square plotter, flight computer, couple of pens, flashlights.. but it's not so large that it's hard to carry.

    It's definitely a smaller bag and wont' suffice if you like to carry lots of books around, or multiple headsets or anything like that, but it's great for a student pilot, or likely a pilot flying solo. My CFI uses a bag roughly the same size (though I don't know the brand) and it works for him as well.

    A lot of the reviews I read mentioned poor zipper quality -- I haven't had any issues with the zippers, but haven't really loaded the bag out yet. I've been using it for a little over a month.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent product! Perfect size for headset, logbook and a few other things

  • By Christine from Prescott AZ USA on Tuesday, July 17, 2012
  • Pros: Looks great, sturdy construction, Helo headsets fit perfectly in front compartment
  • Cons: Smallish size if you need to carry a lot
  • Review: This is a great product. It looks great, is well constructed, and just the right size if you don't need to carry too much. It has two compartments, front is perfect for just your headset. I use a David Clark Model H10-13.4 headset and it fits nicely with some room to spare. The main compartment is taller and wider and easily fits my logbook, which is a slightly longer than normal one, a small survival kit, some paperwork, and could easily fit a bit more. If you need to carry quite a bit, this is probably not the bag for you, but perfect for headset, logbook, and a few other personal items.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great flight bag for students

  • By Gary from Reno NV USA on Wednesday, May 05, 2010
  • Pros: Compact and fits behind the seat
  • Cons: Would have liked a pocket for my transceiver
  • Review: This bag holds everything I need for flying and ground school. The front pocket holds my David-Clark headset. The main pocket holds my E6B, AFD, charts, log book, POH, and still has room for the Pilots handbook of Aeronautical knowledge. The last outside pocket holds my kneeboard. Finally there is space on the outside for pens and a flashlight, and it all fits behind the seat when I fly.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great bag

  • By Brian from Abilene TX USA on Wednesday, April 10, 2013
  • Pros: Large storage and sturdy construction
  • Cons: None.
  • Review: This meets or exceeds my expectations for a flight bag. Plenty of storage in a compact package.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product!

  • By Lisa from Palacios TX USA on Wednesday, November 09, 2016
  • Pros: Gift recipient loved it!
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Excellent quality all around. Stuffed a bunch of other thing I bought here into it and gifted my pilot son.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just what I Wanted

  • By Mike from Bolingbrook IL USA on Sunday, November 13, 2016
  • Pros: Small and well made
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I was looking for a small bag to take when I fly solo or with another pilot, when I don't need 2 head sets and other things I bring when I have passengers. This bag was perfect. Room for everything I need. The bag is well made with double stitching and smooth zippers.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great CFI flight bag!

  • By John from Stuart FL USA on Friday, February 27, 2015
  • Pros: Plenty of room for headsets. Pockets are large enough for checklists and charts. Really like the side pockets for pens and Leatherman tool. Inside space more than adequate for logbook, kneeboard, and more. .
  • Cons: Shoulder strap has a fixed cushion, so have to adjust the entire strap to keep it centered on my shoulder.
  • Review: As an instructor, I find this bag to be "not too big...and not too small". Perfect for climbing in and out of planes all day and for storing all the tools I need to transition from one training syllabus to another without repacking for each session. I had one of the old Cencal bags, and this is an improvement.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Leslie from Saratoga Springs NY USA on Wednesday, March 30, 2011
  • Review: It fits everything needed in a small space.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great

  • By A Customer from Rockaway NJ USA on Wednesday, June 10, 2015
  • Review: Gave this to my daughter for a gift, she is a pilot. She said it's great and fits all her needs!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

handy dandy

  • By rubypilot from Monroe CT USA on Monday, July 01, 2013
  • Review: Since I leave my headsets in the aircraft I needed a smaller bag than my original student bag. This is a good size for charts, logbook, glasses, and random stuff and doesn't flop over with the handheld radio clipped to the side. I would have liked a window for my license as I have seen elsewhere, but no other complaints.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect

  • By Dave from Stephens City VA USA on Tuesday, February 19, 2013
  • Review: As a new Pilot, I had already purchased a Bag that turned out to be too small, and another one that was really too big for practical use. This one is perfect for my needs as a recreational pilot. Sufficient room for everything I want to take with me on the aircraft, yet compact enough to be convenient.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect!

  • By Thomas from Glendale AZ USA on Tuesday, March 27, 2012
  • Review: Exactly the right size, well built! Excellent quality and good value.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By karla from phoenix AZ USA on Thursday, October 04, 2012
  • Review: Works great, lasts long time.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

exelent bag

  • By eaglefly from Hollywood FL USA on Tuesday, January 17, 2017
  • Pros: good size
  • Cons: no
  • Review: Very good size .excellent craftsmanship very good for me as a student pilot .
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

This is the best bag!

  • By Robert (private stew) from Tampa, Florida on Monday, April 27, 2015
  • Pros: awesome
  • Cons: none for me
  • Review: Plenty of room for extra shirt and socks. Especially like the front pocket for access of passport, wallet...etc. Highly recommend.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Wayne NJ USA on Friday, August 26, 2016
  • Review: Excellent purchase.Very roomy. Shoulder straplease really.pleased my grandson.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

simply perfect

  • By Jerry from Corsicana TX USA on Tuesday, October 13, 2015
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from HILLSBORO OR USA on Sunday, August 05, 2012
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great bag

  • By Chuck from TX USA on Friday, August 29, 2014
  • Pros: Storage capacity and design for it's size
  • Cons: Nothing bad to say so far about this bag
  • Review: As others have mentioned it holds all essentials and then some. Wish I had bought this when I first started taking flight lessons.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Tanner from Alpine, UT on Sunday, March 29, 2015
  • Review: Great, durable bag. Fits my headset, POH, kneeboard, A/FD, school policies book, goggles, transceiver, and VFR charts with more room. It's a great bag!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great small bag to keep up front

  • By JRB from Birmingham AL USA on Saturday, February 03, 2018
  • Pros: Well designed to aid in good cockpit management
  • Cons: Does not hold everything you might need for long trips.
  • Review: This is the perfect small bag to help organize your items and have readily available in the cockpit. It fits easily in floor space of my Aztec and holds a variety of all the common items in well placed pockets. The headset pocket on front will not accommodate a large headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Expectation met.

  • By Darryll from Fort Myers FL USA on Monday, July 24, 2017
  • Pros: Solid construction & materials.
  • Cons: none
  • Review: The size and material of the bag is great. I had it embroidered with my grandson's name on it and it worked out perfectly.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect Flight Bag

  • By A Customer from Athens GA USA on Wednesday, May 21, 2008
  • Review: This is the perfect flight bag! It fits all your essintial equipment ang you still have room. It holds headset, airport/facilities directory, chart wallet, plotter, pilots information handbook, kneeboard, E6B, bottle of water, and there is still room for other items. This bag was money well spent!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just what I needed

  • By Jim from Virginia Beach VA USA on Tuesday, February 07, 2017
  • Pros: Size
  • Cons:
  • Review: Works exactly as needed for my flying. Easy convenient and works perfectly in my plane
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Antoni from Wrightstown NJ USA on Wednesday, July 26, 2017
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Leury from Bronx NY USA on Monday, September 09, 2019
  • Pros: Great pilot bag.
  • Cons: N/A
  • Review: I recommend this bag. It’s great.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect Bag for a Headset and few things

  • By Joe from Greensboro NC USA on Tuesday, June 30, 2015
  • Pros: Nice fit
  • Cons: Short side pockets let items fall out.
  • Review: This product is great for your headset, log book and extras in the main bag. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars are some of the side pockets are too short and your pen can fall out.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good buy

  • By Mark from Fort Worth TX USA on Friday, May 31, 2013
  • Review: No issues..held iPad and 2 headsets good along with knee board logbook
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Glad I bought it

  • By Robert from Houston TX USA on Tuesday, October 30, 2012
  • Pros: Holds headsets, sectionals, etc
  • Cons:
  • Review: Exactly what I wanted
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By John from Sheffield Village OH USA on Tuesday, April 10, 2012
  • Pros:
  • Cons: perhap
  • Review: Good area for headphone, and enough space for your standard  equipment on short flights.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great 'small' bag

  • By Judy from mclean VA USA on Monday, June 04, 2012
  • Review: Bag is great for headphones, ipad and maps etc.  I would prefer a couple more pockets inside and out but it works well for day flights.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Catherine from The Woodlands TX on Saturday, June 27, 2015
  • Review: Bought this for my Daughter, she is a pilot. She loves it!, light and has lots of places for her "stuff"
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Roberta from Danville CA USA on Monday, January 18, 2010
  • Review: It's a nice bag. Just didn't realize my husband's flight computer wouldn't fit in it! Check what you want to put into it before you buy it. Great bag, otherwise. Just won't be able to use it as planned.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Difficult to put headset into the main compartment

  • By Hugh from Salina KS USA on Monday, January 09, 2017
  • Pros: Seems to be well-made.
  • Cons: Top opening of main compartment constricted on one end.
  • Review: It's a tight fit for my Lightspeed Zulu.2 headset at the top opening of the main compartment. The top opening is constricted by about 1.5 inches on one end by part of bag folded over and stitched into place to provide velcro for the top flap to hook on to. A better design would have the velcro on the end of the bag and make the top flap longer to reach the then of the bag.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Perfect size

  • By Tricia from Seattle on Friday, May 04, 2007
  • Pros: Size if great. Everything fits in it nicely for VFR or IFR
  • Cons: Needs a spot for certificate
  • Review: Love this. It is the perfect portable size. Holds everything neatly and compactly. It will even fit a bi-fold aluminum clipboard. The only improvement I would make would be to have a slot to put you pilot and medical certificate.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Great Bag for the CFI

  • By A Customer from Mesa, AZ on Saturday, May 12, 2007
  • Pros: Compact, fits almost anywhere.
  • Cons: Zippers stick occasionally
  • Review: Carries everything I need as a busy Flight Instructor!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice bag for the money

  • By Mark from Jacksonville FL USA on Thursday, July 20, 2017
  • Pros: Compartments
  • Cons: Na
  • Review: All good for my use
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

well built, right amount of compartments and size, grade A

  • By Paul Kitching from Texas on Tuesday, July 16, 2019
  • Pros: right amount of compartments and internal dimensions
  • Cons:
  • Review: I don't give five stars unless it comes with a busty blond !...LOL
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Good Basic Design - Questionable Construction

  • By Northwest Coffee Snob from Redding, CA on Tuesday, December 28, 2010
  • Pros: Roomy, enough pockets, but not too many, attached headset area that's not too small
  • Cons: Lame stitching
  • Review: I'm a CFI and I love the simple basic design of this bag. It holds all the essentials for my VFR or IFR training flights including cross country flights. Side pockets hold spare pen/pencils, fuel stick, small flashlight, etc. The other nice thing is that I can carry my headset in a roomy headset compartment. Sometimes the ones that are attached are too small to cram the headset in there or if they do fit the headset its in a separate bag. Comfortable shoulder strap that is big and wide. Couple problems: tacky stuff on the underside of the shoulder strap wears off with daily use - for CFI's who fly everyday this can be annoying to have little black stuff on your white shirt. The other thing is big for me -- the stupid stitching began to fall apart on the top compartment. The zippers were perfect as far as I'm concerned. Like I said, I use mine everyday and love it with this last big exception.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.

Great bag, poor zippers

  • By Steve from Bloomsburg, PA on Saturday, October 10, 2009
  • Pros: Great size, great function
  • Cons: Poor quality zippers
  • Review: I've been using this bag for just over a year now. The bag is great for size. Hold my ANR headset easily. Lots of room inside for kneeboard, charts etc. The only gripe I have of this bag is the poor quality zippers. After about a month the zippers began to separate. This has been a ongoing problem with this bag. Would easily be rated 5 stars if not for the zippers.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.

The zippers are terrible

  • By The Juice from Billings, MT on Monday, February 01, 2010
  • Pros: Lots of compartments, easy to use in the cockpit
  • Cons: Horrible zippers!!!
  • Review: I love the bag itself. It has great functionality and holds a lot of stuff but the zippers are terrible. They started separating almost immediately and now they are broken.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

kind of flimzy

  • By Dave from Rockland MA USA on Wednesday, August 10, 2011
  • Review: Just got this recently and it is already falling apart.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

Functional but Poor Zipper Quality

  • By Airbus 320 Pilot from New York on Wednesday, January 09, 2013
  • Pros: Size.
  • Cons: Zippers.
  • Review: I've had this for a number of years, and it's a handy bag to store additional stuff if your primary flight bag is already packed to bursting. However, one of the top two zippers failed early on, so I can no longer seal the bag properly. Zipper quality is the biggest reason for the 2-star rating, otherwise a good bag.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Rather flimsy and the double zipper is hard to open and close.

  • By Charles from Acton MA USA on Monday, November 14, 2011
  • Review: But it's cheap so you get what you pay for.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

Good Design, POOR Quality

  • By Robin from Rapid City SD USA on Friday, February 29, 2008
  • Pros: Good design
  • Cons: Poor Construction
  • Review: In terms of size and convenience, this bag is perfect. My only qualm is the quality of construction. For a flight bag (which regularly undergoes all kinds of abuse), I expected it to be a bit more durable. Within the first use, the zippers separated. I was able to "re-match" the zippers, but this is a consistent problem...I don't even have the bag full, and the zippers continuously split. Good concept; disappointing execution.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Poor Construction

  • By A Customer from Pope AFB, NC on Saturday, December 06, 2008
  • Review: This bag did not hold up for even a few months. All of the seams fell apart while I was deployed in Iraq and I was forced to use safety pins to keep it together. Do not buy this bag.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.